Page 1 of 1

RiscPC/Archimedes Monitor recommendations?

Posted: Sun May 24, 2020 9:55 am
by mark71
Hi All

A quick question but most likely a complex answer, what are your recommendations for sourcing a LCD replacement montiors that will work with RiscPC's?, having a AFK18 monitor that still works but am looking for something a bit more modern and not so bulky to use on my venerable 32bit Acorn kit.

MArk

Re: RiscPC/Archimedes Monitor recommendations?

Posted: Sun May 24, 2020 10:22 am
by danielj
BenQ BL912 or BL702 both have VGA connectors and also can display the 15kHz modes without needing an adaptor.

d.

Re: RiscPC/Archimedes Monitor recommendations?

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2020 5:47 am
by mark71
danielj wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 10:22 am
BenQ BL912 or BL702 both have VGA connectors and also can display the 15kHz modes without needing an adaptor.

d.

Thanks for the tip, bought a BL702A from Amazon for 94.99, works a treat on the A420/1 and the RiscPC, 1280x1024 for the the latter really nice picture too.

Mark

Re: RiscPC/Archimedes Monitor recommendations?

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:12 am
by danielj
mark71 wrote:
Tue Jun 02, 2020 5:47 am
Thanks for the tip, bought a BL702A from Amazon for 94.99, works a treat on the A420/1 and the RiscPC, 1280x1024 for the the latter really nice picture too.

Mark
Brilliant - thanks for reporting back! Great little monitors those.

Re: RiscPC/Archimedes Monitor recommendations?

Posted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 6:59 am
by mark71
danielj wrote:
Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:12 am
mark71 wrote:
Tue Jun 02, 2020 5:47 am
Thanks for the tip, bought a BL702A from Amazon for 94.99, works a treat on the A420/1 and the RiscPC, 1280x1024 for the the latter really nice picture too.

Mark
Brilliant - thanks for reporting back! Great little monitors those.
Hi Daniel

A quick question about this monitor, a good monitor, works a treat on my RiscPC and through an adapter on the A420/1 but when connecting to the A5000 or A3010 it doesn't detect an output from these machines, both running 3.1 and monitor set to Auto i have a feeling may need some changes to monitor type for it to work?.

Mark

Re: RiscPC/Archimedes Monitor recommendations?

Posted: Mon Sep 07, 2020 10:29 am
by IanJeffray
Holding a numeric keypad key during power-up changes the monitor type to that value - a quick and easy way to get an Arc to deal with a monitor when you can't see what's going on. I expect you'll want monitor type 0, 3 or 4.

https://www.riscosopen.org/wiki/documen ... or%20Types

Re: RiscPC/Archimedes Monitor recommendations?

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:47 pm
by mark71
IanJeffray wrote:
Mon Sep 07, 2020 10:29 am
Holding a numeric keypad key during power-up changes the monitor type to that value - a quick and easy way to get an Arc to deal with a monitor when you can't see what's going on. I expect you'll want monitor type 0, 3 or 4.

https://www.riscosopen.org/wiki/documen ... or%20Types
Hi Ian

The secret source seems to be Sync, if on Auto for the A3010 and A5000 changing Monitor type has no effect, set it to 0 and it works!

Mark

Re: RiscPC/Archimedes Monitor recommendations?

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2020 9:09 pm
by IanJeffray
mark71 wrote:
Thu Sep 10, 2020 8:47 pm
The secret source seems to be Sync, if on Auto for the A3010 and A5000 changing Monitor type has no effect, set it to 0 and it works!
Doh. Sync is toggled with Keypad 'dot'. IIRC Glad it's sorted.

Re: RiscPC/Archimedes Monitor recommendations?

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:25 pm
by 8271
I use a Dell LCD screen (1708FPt) on the RiscPC and A5000. You can get them second hand on ebay for £20. I have bought about 4 from IT recycling firms and they have all been perfect.