RISCOS 4.39 ROM Backup

discuss the archimedes & risc pc, peripherals and risc os/risc os on pi
Post Reply
mattdy4
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 11:18 am
Location: Wolverhampton
Contact:

RISCOS 4.39 ROM Backup

Post by mattdy4 » Mon Dec 30, 2019 2:48 pm

I have a pair of 4.39 ROMS in my RiscPC I'd like to make a backup of in case anything happens to my RPC as I understand they're not easy to get hold of and to use in Arculator (assuming I can) to create a fresh SD build

How can I extract the ROMs from the command line and is it just a case of burning to 27c160s if needs be?

hubersn
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: RISCOS 4.39 ROM Backup

Post by hubersn » Mon Dec 30, 2019 4:39 pm

mattdy4 wrote:
Mon Dec 30, 2019 2:48 pm
I have a pair of 4.39 ROMS in my RiscPC I'd like to make a backup of in case anything happens to my RPC as I understand they're not easy to get hold of and to use in Arculator (assuming I can) to create a fresh SD build

How can I extract the ROMs from the command line and is it just a case of burning to 27c160s if needs be?
To save the ROM into one file for emulator use, do the following:

Code: Select all

*save rom 3800000 3c00000
This creates a 4 MiB file. When burning ROMs from that, they need to be interleaved IIRC.

Important: RISC OS 4.39 will not run in Arculator, as Arculator is emulating pre-Risc PC machines (i.e. up to RISC OS 3.19).

Have fun
hubersn

mattdy4
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 11:18 am
Location: Wolverhampton
Contact:

Re: RISCOS 4.39 ROM Backup

Post by mattdy4 » Tue Dec 31, 2019 6:28 pm

Thanks hubers, looks like I might have trouble formatting the card on a PC using an emulator like rpcemu anyway.

Anyone know of a copy of the RISCOS 4.39 CD? The only one I can find on the webs is a dead link and the 3DQ documentation assumes that you already have a live set up and doesn't cover

User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 626
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: RISCOS 4.39 ROM Backup

Post by geraldholdsworth » Wed Jan 01, 2020 9:46 am

mattdy4 wrote:
Tue Dec 31, 2019 6:28 pm
Anyone know of a copy of the RISCOS 4.39 CD?
I do believe I have a physical copy and, maybe, even a digital ISO copy.

Cheers,

Gerald.
Gerald Holdsworth
Repton Resource Page
www.reptonresourcepage.co.uk

mattdy4
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 11:18 am
Location: Wolverhampton
Contact:

Re: RISCOS 4.39 ROM Backup

Post by mattdy4 » Thu Jan 02, 2020 9:26 pm

Thanks Gerald - great to know they're not eternally lost. I'll take you up if you don't mind in some form once I've fixed some new VIDC issues on my RPC #-o

hubersn
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: RISCOS 4.39 ROM Backup

Post by hubersn » Thu Jan 02, 2020 10:26 pm

mattdy4 wrote:
Tue Dec 31, 2019 6:28 pm
Thanks hubers, looks like I might have trouble formatting the card on a PC using an emulator like rpcemu anyway.

Anyone know of a copy of the RISCOS 4.39 CD? The only one I can find on the webs is a dead link and the 3DQ documentation assumes that you already have a live set up and doesn't cover
The 4.39 !Boot seems to be downloadable: http://www.riscos.com/ftp_space/439/index.htm

Not the full CD content of course!

Have fun
hubersn

User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 626
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: RISCOS 4.39 ROM Backup

Post by geraldholdsworth » Fri Jan 03, 2020 10:26 am

mattdy4 wrote:
Thu Jan 02, 2020 9:26 pm
Thanks Gerald - great to know they're not eternally lost. I'll take you up if you don't mind in some form once I've fixed some new VIDC issues on my RPC #-o
I'll have a hunt on my PC for it and send you the Dropbox link - probably best and easiest way.
Gerald Holdsworth
Repton Resource Page
www.reptonresourcepage.co.uk

Post Reply

Return to “32-bit acorn hardware”