(HELP) RISC PC & the black screen of Doom... :-(

discuss the archimedes & risc pc, peripherals and risc os/risc os on pi
Post Reply
User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1933
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

(HELP) RISC PC & the black screen of Doom... :-(

Post by Multiwizard » Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:00 am

Hi,

a few days ago someone brought me (it was meant for landfill :cry:) several nice Acorn hardware... :D

The first thing I always do is removing the CMOS battery and cleaning inside & outside of the computer & keyboard... :D

At first it started up (several times) well... :D

But then after turning it on the first trouble messages came up... 8-[

After these error tremors the black screen of Doom popped up... :shock: :cry:

Has anyone any idea what happened? :-k , and how to fix this?... [-o<


Greetings, Wim... :-)

Thanks in advance.
Attachments
P1310556.JPG
P1310566.JPG
P1310631.JPG
P1310629.JPG
P1310628 Dirty acid pcb.JPG
P1310645 All cleaned.JPG
P1310608 RISC screen.JPG
P1310611 Error 1.JPG
P1310614 Error 2.JPG
P1310619 Bad.JPG

User avatar
roland
Posts: 4005
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:29 pm
Location: Born (NL)
Contact:

Re: (HELP) RISC PC & the black screen of Doom... :-(

Post by roland » Sun Dec 01, 2019 8:28 am

How does the command *desktop respond?

(Not that I have any knowledge about Riscos or RiscPC, I just googled the error message and I found this https://comp.sys.acorn.apps.narkive.com ... -risc-os-4 as the first result :mrgreen: )
FPGAtom: 512 KB RAM, Real Time Clock and 64 colours
MAN WOMAN :shock:

Boydie
Posts: 458
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 9:25 am
Location: Sunny Wigan
Contact:

Re: (HELP) RISC PC & the black screen of Doom... :-(

Post by Boydie » Sun Dec 01, 2019 9:16 am

Dying hard disk - looks like it’s generating read errors progressively earlier?

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1933
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: (HELP) RISC PC & the black screen of Doom... :-(

Post by Multiwizard » Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:49 am

Wow, that's quick... :shock: :D =D>

And yes Roland *DESKTOP did the trick =D> ,, but,,

is there a way to bypass this black screen? :-k

Now if I turn it on I first have to type *DESKTOP... :(


And Boydie , I will keep this in mind... :-D
Attachments
P1310700 RISC startup.JPG
P1310703 RISC startup.JPG

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1933
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: (HELP) RISC PC & the black screen of Doom... :-(

Post by Multiwizard » Sun Dec 01, 2019 11:28 am

EDIT:

I Googled a bit and to bypass this (black page) stage I have to find me the !Boot
application... :shock:

Can some point me out where to find this file in the RISC menu? :?:

(How do I reset the !boot on my machine?)


Greetings, Wim... :-)

Thanks in advance... :D

JonC
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 10:19 pm
Location: Wakefield
Contact:

Re: (HELP) RISC PC & the black screen of Doom... :-(

Post by JonC » Sun Dec 01, 2019 1:02 pm

Just a few thoughts;
When you replaced the CMOS battery, did you reset/clear the CMOS? If not, I'd try that, and then reconfigure.
To check the HDD, right click on HardDisc4 and select Verify, see if you get any errors
Jon
Image

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1933
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: (HELP) RISC PC & the black screen of Doom... :-(

Post by Multiwizard » Sun Dec 01, 2019 1:16 pm

Thanks for all the advice so far... =D>

(before I going to reset/clear the CMOS)

But the PSU has also a little issue... :-(

It isn't stable, if the psu pcb is in the metal housing the power goes unexpectedly down now and then :cry: , but,,,

if I got the pcb out and put it next to the housing it works fine (stable)... :-D

Until I mount it (the psu pcb) back in the metal housing it starts to (unexpectedly) fail again... :-(

Any ideas?


Greetings, Wim... :-)

Post Reply

Return to “32-bit acorn hardware”