A5000 hard drive and mouse not working :/

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
SirCeej

A5000 hard drive and mouse not working :/

Post by SirCeej » Sun Aug 12, 2018 8:06 pm

Hi

Before I start writing about the faults, I'd just like to warn that I am new to repairing Acorn computers. And my knowledge of using them other than to play games is very limited. I was born the year the A5000 was launched.

I came across my Dad's old A5000 last week in our attic. It had the usual battery leak issue, which I have now cleaned and replaced with a CMOS Podule I ordered from CJE Micros. Computer is now actually booting up and getting to the desktop rather than the Supervisor mode. So great progress :D. Now I have other problems, one of them being that there's no Hard Drive icon on the bottom left of the screen. And the second one being, I can't move the mouse cursor. It seems to wobble at the centre of the screen when I try and move it, although I can just about move it up and down. But moving it sideways is definitely a no-no.

I am worried potentially about the Motherboard, I was told by a CJE Micros employee when I was ordering the podule, that the Hard drive components are very close to the CMOS area on the board. The hard drive was working fine before being stored away which was around 18 years ago.

Please see photos of the board attached. I do have a multimeter if I need to measure anything, I would be very thankful if somebody could tell me tell me how if that is the case. My knowledge in electronics is very limited.

Thank you :)
Attachments
Lluniau-3.jpg
Lluniau-2.jpg
Lluniau.jpg

steve3000

Re: A5000 hard drive and mouse not working :/

Post by steve3000 » Sun Aug 12, 2018 8:41 pm

Hello (and welcome to the forum! - you might want to say hello in the introductions thread).