AcornA7000 Motherboard alive and well need some basic help now... (if I may)

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
waltermixxx
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:18 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: AcornA7000 Motherboard alive and well need some basic help now... (if I may)

Post by waltermixxx » Fri Aug 03, 2018 11:08 pm

Once again, very much appreciated. :)
I should be set now. Next project is really
to house this awesome little machine.

:) i will post updates as they come.

cheers.

waltermixxx
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:18 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: AcornA7000 Motherboard alive and well need some basic help now... (if I may)

Post by waltermixxx » Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:49 am

as to be expected, I have run into a snag, in that i cannot fun ftpc becuase of the absence of CallASWI.
I did do some looking around,

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=15000&hilit=CallASWI

i found a copy in the UTILS folder in my !BOOT on the hard drive I was able to setup with help :) (thanks) :)

so it appears as though i need a newer version of the module .03, which I have downloaded in a zip file format.

I even found out where it goes...
6F8119F9-F90B-4783-9EDC-8FE1BD531130.jpeg
but alas i have to install the the emulator to create an ADF disk file. ( I really should do this...) :)
Last edited by waltermixxx on Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

waltermixxx
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:18 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: AcornA7000 Motherboard alive and well need some basic help now... (if I may)

Post by waltermixxx » Sat Aug 04, 2018 4:20 am

okie doke, i installed the Emulator suggested,
and loaded up a blank disk image with it,
an copied the files i needed over to it,
and after much fussing about, i was able to change the file type
of the zip file to archive, and then extract it, and run the !system Merge,
and after more fuzzing about got the correct version of callaswi loaded,
and the FTPc program finally loaded...

but not it's time to go to sleep and try to ftp tomorrow. :)

thanks for your help :) i will follow up when i have successfully transfered a file over. :)

waltermixxx
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:18 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: AcornA7000 Motherboard alive and well need some basic help now... (if I may)

Post by waltermixxx » Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:04 am

so i was able to visit some FTP sites, there were two that were included in the FTPc image provided by lcww1.

Thanks again everyone, from there I managed to download a browser as well. :)

Very happy to get my A7000 online..... and now it's time to get physical. I need to put her in a case.

I will post pictures when i have. :)

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: Moon Base Alpha
Contact:

Re: AcornA7000 Motherboard alive and well need some basic help now... (if I may)

Post by lcww1 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:19 am

:D =D>

waltermixxx
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:18 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: AcornA7000 Motherboard alive and well need some basic help now... (if I may)

Post by waltermixxx » Sun Aug 05, 2018 7:55 pm

So I am able to use the FTP app with no issue, however the web browser only seems to load local pages only. I have tried to go to http://www.google.com but get get the following cryptic error when I click the go to button. I think I have my Fetchers set correctly.


48B6DF16-24F4-4DD4-BACA-2D6531E52831.jpeg
635C594C-BD85-40FD-81CC-D309B183F9D4.jpeg
Not sure why this is happening.
Last edited by waltermixxx on Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:09 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: Moon Base Alpha
Contact:

Re: AcornA7000 Motherboard alive and well need some basic help now... (if I may)

Post by lcww1 » Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:06 pm

I'm afraid I don't know the cause of the error you're getting with Webster - I gave up with Webster when I briefly tried it in the past.

I think that you should try using NetSurf - all but the very earliest versions require at least RISC OS 4.02, but I believe that you may be able to run one or more of the earliest versions of NetSurf (available at the bottom of the NetSurf download page) on your A7000 with RISC OS 3.6. The NetSurf version 1.1 ReadMe implies that it can run on RISC OS 3 provided that WindowManager module version 3.80 or later is installed - you may already have this in your !Boot system. You can check which version you have running with a *help WindowManager command at the CLI.

The ancient ArcWeb browser works on RISC OS 3.1, and I've used this on an A5000 to (very slowly) browse the web - see here for an example of what using ArcWeb to browse the contemporary web is like - https://www.retro-kit.co.uk/page.cfm/co ... th-ArcWeb/. You can find ArcWeb on the Stuttgart ftp server (ftp.uni-stuttgart.de/pub/systems/acorn/riscos/comm/internet/www). I've not tried ArcWeb on RISC OS 3.6.

Good luck!

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 6491
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: AcornA7000 Motherboard alive and well need some basic help now... (if I may)

Post by danielj » Tue Aug 07, 2018 7:05 am

Web browsing on old riscos machines, even when you manage to get it going, is a rather unsatisfactory, if not painful, experience. The browsers are so far out of date, only the most very basic Web pages work.

A recent version of lynx compiled for riscos might be nice :) not sure of the logistics of that though.

waltermixxx
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:18 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: AcornA7000 Motherboard alive and well need some basic help now... (if I may)

Post by waltermixxx » Tue Aug 07, 2018 3:33 pm

Thank you for your reply :)

i will give those options a shot, and report back. :)

Cheers...

Pictures to come (eventually...) when i get the A7000 in my home made case. :)

Cheers.

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: Moon Base Alpha
Contact:

Re: AcornA7000 Motherboard alive and well need some basic help now... (if I may)

Post by lcww1 » Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:58 pm

I find NetSurf perfectly usable for retro computing purposes on a RiscPC; it’s quite handy for quickly downloading software directly onto the machine from old RISC OS websites, which have a tendency to be javascript free. A functioning web browser is also handy for browsing documentation and dealing with certain CD-ROM archives. Clearly, NetSurf on a RiscPC, or indeed an A7000, has limited utility when dealing with the modern web, but I suspect that’s not the goal of the exercise here.

Lynx was ported to RISC OS some time ago - it can be found here - http://www.arcsite.de/files/notfound/un ... t/browser/ - it should work on an A7000 with RO 3.6.......

waltermixxx
Posts: 241
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 4:18 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: AcornA7000 Motherboard alive and well need some basic help now... (if I may)

Post by waltermixxx » Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:39 am

Thank you, I will give them a try :)

found this as a great resource

http://www.netsurf-browser.org/document ... stallation

Cheers.
Last edited by waltermixxx on Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply