Page 1 of 1

Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 1:49 pm
by Zarchos
In my garden, with the birds singing, step one : remove the keyboard connectors (was easy : pins were very corroded and at the factory they were soldered with a gap of a few millimeters between the bottom of the plastic bit and the motherboard : franticaly moving the connectors back and forth ended up breaking them).
With flux and solder and the tool you see whose English name is unknown to me, remove what is left of the pins.
Then use a tooth pick and empty the vias :
1497789821877-816274791.jpg
Now stop everything because the board itself must be over 40 degrees and it would be a pity to create shortcircuits in this 4 layer motherboard.
Time to pick up some cherries directly from the tree and have a nap ...
1497789999644-1862401670.jpg
of course with compassion for people in big towns with radiating roads, pavements, glassy buildings . . . :twisted:
It's good to be a 'plouc' (redneck) at this time of the year.
Oohh I'm being naughty at the moment, I know, I know ... excessive sunlight and serotonin, you know ...

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 4:03 pm
by 1024MAK

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 4:25 pm
by Zarchos
That's it. And I knew it. I am much better at reading or listening than writing or speaking.
Thanks.

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:48 pm
by Zarchos
I failed...
I have mesured the voltages at the 5 an 12 volts and I get 5.10 and 10.85 ... any idea what could be wrong ?
And here is what I get on screen :
14978174424881574279050.jpg

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2017 11:46 pm
by steve3000
Zarchos wrote:I failed...
I have mesured the voltages at the 5 an 12 volts and I get 5.10 and 10.85 ... any idea what could be wrong ?
And here is what I get on screen :
14978174424881574279050.jpg
Voltages are ok, at least it should boot with those voltages. (Where are you measuring the 12v, and is that the regulated or unregulated 12v line? as these will make a big difference.)

Anyway the purple screen looks like POST failure. Any disc drive light flashes?

Try moving link lk14 from 1-2 to 2-3. This disables the internal keyboard, and it's very useful for testing if you might have keyboard problems.

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:02 am
by Zarchos
Same result unfortunately.
No floppy drive on thiq machine.
I will install one in a few hours.

I mesure South West of the motherboard, where it is written -12VU 0V +5V +12VU

Thanks for your help.

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:55 am
by steve3000
Zarchos wrote:Same result unfortunately.
No floppy drive on thiq machine.
I will install one in a few hours.
Ok, make sure to switch lk14 back to 1-2, or that'll confuse things further if you forget.
Zarchos wrote:I mesure South West of the motherboard, where it is written -12VU 0V +5V +12VU
Ok, that's the unregulated 12v, which isn't used by standard A3010, just for expansion cards I think. It would need a load on it (eg 12v light bulb) to get a correct reading... But certainly not needed for now :)

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:16 am
by Zarchos
Done.

I have now 2 A3010s with the same symptoms.
One is a normal A3010, one is equiped with an Adelaide daughterboard.
Videos of the failure uploaded on YT ...