Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
Andy1979
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by Andy1979 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 1:22 pm

=D> =D> =D> =D> =D>
Most impressive work. That's a seriously hardcore mod with all those tiny wires. Great result.

User avatar
vectorlight
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by vectorlight » Sat Mar 24, 2018 7:59 pm

I'm having a clearout and have 4 of these boards left, 1 of them is mostly populated but not tested. If anyone wants one send me a PM. Sorry I can only post to the UK. :D
3D Printing and Acorn A3010 Owner!

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by number-one » Mon Apr 02, 2018 9:02 am

Hello Vectorlight congratulations for your website.
I am not authorised to compose private message for now.

I want to buy one of your A3010 IDE interface.
You can reach me on alouest AT gmail DOT com.
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
vectorlight
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by vectorlight » Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:09 pm

number-one wrote:Hello Vectorlight congratulations for your website.
I am not authorised to compose private message for now.

I want to buy one of your A3010 IDE interface.
You can reach me on alouest AT gmail DOT com.
Sure, I will try to email you now. All I ask is you cover the postage (£1). :D
3D Printing and Acorn A3010 Owner!

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by trixster » Tue Apr 03, 2018 5:04 pm

Hi Vectorlight!

I don't suppose you have an IDE boards left do you? I'd love to get hold of one.

Thanks,

Andy
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

User avatar
vectorlight
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by vectorlight » Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:17 am

trixster wrote:Hi Vectorlight!

I don't suppose you have an IDE boards left do you? I'd love to get hold of one.

Thanks,

Andy
Sorry these are now all gone.
3D Printing and Acorn A3010 Owner!

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by trixster » Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:37 am

No problemo! :)
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by number-one » Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:41 am

Have you a list of know working compact flash / sd card readers and cards with the IDE Mod ?
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
vectorlight
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by vectorlight » Sat May 19, 2018 5:13 pm

number-one wrote:Have you a list of know working compact flash / sd card readers and cards with the IDE Mod ?
I tend to stick to 512mb sandisk cards. They usually work, though not all of them I'm afraid.
3D Printing and Acorn A3010 Owner!

User avatar
vectorlight
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 12:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by vectorlight » Sat May 19, 2018 5:22 pm

I haven't done much on my Acorns for a while so yesterday I thought I'd try to apply this IDE modification to an Adelaide machine:

Image

Making it fit with the ARM3 upgrade was a challenge due to the ARM3 board overhanging so much. The IDE mod PCB just about fits, as in it is right up against the Adelaide board. If I were to redo this board I'd move some of the components over to the right-side and reduce the left side a bit.

Other than physically making it fit, when completed if works identically to an ARM250 machine which I'm happy with :D

This must now be one of the most modded A3010s around :D : ARM3 overclocked to 45mhz, 50ns RAM overclocked to 22mhz and now twin IDE drives :D

This was the last IDE board I've got, hope everyone out there with one of them managed to get it working :?:
3D Printing and Acorn A3010 Owner!

steve3000
Posts: 1917
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by steve3000 » Sat May 19, 2018 6:56 pm

vectorlight wrote:This was the last IDE board I've got, hope everyone out there with one of them managed to get it working :?:
Great to see you've got it into your expanded Adelaide A3010, what a machine that must be!

Interesting to see also because you have a very low lying Adelaide board, mine is on much higher legs, so my Adelaide PCB sits just below my expansion card PCB (probably about where your Arm3 PCB sits). Even so, I've test fitted your IDE board, and all looks good for the board, but the IDE cable might be a squeeze... I just have to get my computer working now before I can test further, as the battery damage is extensive.

Andy1979
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 9:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by Andy1979 » Sun May 20, 2018 10:05 am

vectorlight wrote: This must now be one of the most modded A3010s around :D : ARM3 overclocked to 45mhz, 50ns RAM overclocked to 22mhz and now twin IDE drives :D
Seriously impressive work - I'm not brave enough to do that to mine! (or good enough at fine soldering) =D>

In terms of further expansion, the only thing the A3010 is missing is the onboard network upgrade connection. Are any of those signals accessible in a similar fashion?

I have one of the Bush Internet boxes, and the way you've used the ROM sockets as a carrier for the board makes me wonder if something similar might be possible for that - effectively turning it into an A7000 class machine? That said, the limited nature of the onboard ROMS would most likely be a problem, and since it's already possible to boot one from a parallel ZIP drive there's not really much point.

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by number-one » Sat Jul 21, 2018 8:01 am

Hello I have the regular 1,6 MB floppy drive 0 and a HX Floppy Emulator drive 1 working fine with the lcww1 cable

At the NASS french commodore amiga party my friend Benoit installed the vectorlight ide mod on my A3010.

After the installation

-The floppy drives 0 and 1 where gone on the desk

-Accessing The IDEDDisc 4 on the vectorlight pcb show an error (compact flash taken from working A30x0 IDE Iss 2 mini podule)

What are wrong ?
IMG_1036.JPG
IMG_1037.JPG
Last edited by number-one on Sat Jul 21, 2018 8:02 am, edited 2 times in total.
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by number-one » Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:46 pm

IMG_1039.JPG
IMG_1040.JPG
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 6692
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by danielj » Mon Jul 23, 2018 4:58 pm

OK - first thing first. Let's find out where your floppy drive has gone!

Have you reset the CMOS since doing the mod?

What's displayed next to Floppies if you type *STATUS? What happens if you type *CONFIGURE FLOPPIES 1 with just the internal floppy drive connected?

(the second error is because ADFS doesn't get on very well with lots of compact flash cards, but we'll get on to that - the fact it worked on an IDE podule doesn't mean it'll work with the internal IDE interface)...

This is quite a fiddly mod, so the other thing you want to be sure of is that no connections got bridged on the SuperIO IC (the one that says CHIPS on it)....

d.
Last edited by danielj on Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by number-one » Wed Jul 25, 2018 1:23 pm

Have you reset the CMOS since doing the mod?
Yes

I have put the single floppy cable with the HXC (jumpers configuration as for one drive know working)

I have put the network card mini podule

The drive 0 re-appeared but not working

Several times on boot the archie doesn't show image on the Monitor BenQ BL912 or doesn't show floppy drive.

Pictures accessing floppy on the HXC SD Card
IMG_20180725_142844.jpg
IMG_20180725_142919.jpg
IMG_20180725_145521.jpg
Last edited by number-one on Wed Jul 25, 2018 1:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
number-one
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:06 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by number-one » Wed Jul 25, 2018 1:29 pm

the other thing you want to be sure of is that no connections got bridged on the SuperIO IC (the one that says CHIPS on it)....
What do you means ?
IMG_3513m.jpg
A3010 4 MB Ram

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 6692
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by danielj » Wed Jul 25, 2018 8:45 pm

:?

OK - take the network podule out. You need to start from a minimal system -> is it possible to just attach the original floppy drive, nothing else, no minipodule, no CF card, and reboot holding down delete?

If that doesn't work, the next steps are to check 1) that the connections to the floppy connector are still OK, and 2) that the IDE mod has been done properly without any short circuits. That's rather hard to do from a distance but we'll see what we can work out...

d.

alienkidmj12
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 8:30 am
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by alienkidmj12 » Sat Jul 28, 2018 11:50 pm

how much are the bare boards ?

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 6692
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Vectorlight's A3010 IDE mod : step by step guide

Post by danielj » Sun Jul 29, 2018 5:35 am

They weren't a for sale thing, and there unfortunately aren't any left AFAIK (read this page of the thread from the top).

Post Reply