New (to me) A3000

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
User avatar
trixster
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by trixster » Sat Feb 18, 2017 3:40 pm

I did a spot of retrobrite-ing on the top cover today. A mix of bblonde and vanish oxi action. The cover was placed in cling film in the sun for about 4 hours. I say sun, I really mean the overcast February pseudosunlight of Yorkshire. It was quite bright outside but there was no direct sunlight.
IMG_4011.JPG
It needs a bit more but it's a decent improvement over the really quite yellowed original colour
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 4418
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by daveejhitchins » Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:04 am

What mix of bblonde and vanish oxi do you use? I've lots of cases to do this year :?

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ARA III, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by trixster » Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:32 am

Good morning Dave.

I'm afraid I wasn't very scientific about it! A dollop of one and a smidge of the other :lol:

I used perhaps a quarter scoop of the oxi powder that we had under the sink, then some of the bblonde cream on top of that in a bowel, a little bit of water, smudge it around until there's a paste.

I've read that it's important to clean the plastic first to remove any grime or oil, so I masking-taped the labels and used a soapy toothbrush to give it a clean.

I then used a soft brush to paint on the paste, put some cling film over the top (to stop any evaporation) and then placed in the 'sun'.

I think ideally you'd get oxi action gel if you can find it.
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 6582
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by danielj » Sun Feb 19, 2017 10:36 am

In theory you shouldn't need the vanish powder (it's ostensibly just "more of what's in the bblonde") - I've certainly had success with just bblonde on its own in the past. That said, anything that makes it a bit thicker can't be a bad thing!

d.

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 4418
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Contact:

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by daveejhitchins » Mon Feb 20, 2017 8:49 am

Many thanks . . . Just waiting for the sun now :?

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ARA III, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by trixster » Thu May 11, 2017 10:57 am

trixster wrote:
paulv wrote:
trixster wrote:However... even with lcdgamemodes running the A3000 will not display Zarch on the monitor.
At the desktop, change to mode 15 or 12, something that would be normally 15kHz and let it letterbox. Then launch Zarch.

Zarch has a hard time running when launching from VGA modes. Given it was written when Arthur was the primary OS for the Arc I guess it's not surprising that it has some issues.

EDIT: Also, as the screenshot shows, you're not running true VGA screen refresh rates which is what the VIDC Enhancer fixes.. I suppose I better pull my finger out and get well enough to be able to sit for long enough to build a few boards.

Paul
Right, the monitor will display modes 13 and 15 correctly, letterboxed as we would expect.

I've actually realised that from a on/off boot into the desktop (mode 27), if i run Zarch it displays correctly, letterboxed. It's only if I run lcdgamemodes first that Zarch fails to display correctly. So lcdgamemodes is stopping the A3000 displaying on the monitor.

On my A3020 lcdgamemodes works correctly and corrects the letterboxing into the 4:3 ratio we want.

So lcdgamemodes does not work with my A3000/monitor combination.
Well it'll be little surprise to anyone that I was talking complete nonsense, as usual!

If I set LK24 and 25 correctly then Lcdgamemodes works fine with my A3000.
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by Zarchos » Thu May 11, 2017 11:19 am

Could you post a picture of this jumpers configuration, please ?

For me and to have it saved for people using the search engine ...

Thanks in advance.
Xavier.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by trixster » Thu May 11, 2017 1:06 pm

On the A3000 the jumpers are near the floppy drive, LK24 and LK25

If connecting to an LCD then LK24 should be north and LK25 should be closed. If connecting to a gbs8200 then LK24 should be south and LK25 should be open. This page explains: http://www.riscos.org/legacy/monitors.html

I can't remember exactly but I think for svga an LCD needs *configure sync 0 and the gbs8200 needs *configure sync 1. I'll have to check that.

So here is how Zarch looks on three different machines:

A3000, svga, lcdgamemodes, no ultavidc enhancer, risc os 3.11:
IMG_4689.JPG
A3020, svga, lcdgamemodes, risc os 3.11:
IMG_4690.JPG
A420/1, gbs8200, desktop mode 12, risc os 2:
IMG_4691.JPG
Last edited by trixster on Thu May 11, 2017 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by Zarchos » Thu May 11, 2017 1:11 pm

Maybe you were in mode 12 (640x256, 16 colours) under RISC OS but Zarch runs in mode 13. (320x256, 256 colours)

Thanks a lot for the details of the settings and the link you provided.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by trixster » Thu May 11, 2017 1:20 pm

No probs.

I find it interesting that the A3000 generates a slightly more squashed 720x400 70hz picture and the A3020 generates a slightly squarer 640x350 70hz picture. I guess this is down to the different vidc's?
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by Zarchos » Thu May 11, 2017 1:40 pm

trixster wrote:No probs.

I find it interesting that the A3000 generates a slightly more squashed 720x400 70hz picture and the A3020 generates a slightly squarer 640x350 70hz picture. I guess this is down to the different vidc's?
cristals that drive the VIDC ... but PaulV or Steve3000 will give better explanations than me.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by trixster » Thu May 11, 2017 1:55 pm

I guess that's what the ultravidc enhancer fixes.
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by Zarchos » Thu May 11, 2017 1:56 pm

trixster wrote:I guess that's what the ultravidc enhancer fixes.
Yes exactly !

steve3000
Posts: 1886
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by steve3000 » Sat May 13, 2017 8:27 am

trixster wrote:No probs.

I find it interesting that the A3000 generates a slightly more squashed 720x400 70hz picture and the A3020 generates a slightly squarer 640x350 70hz picture. I guess this is down to the different vidc's?
No difference in the VIDC chip, and it's not the different crystals either... It's the v/h sync polarity.

As I recall +ve H sync and -ve V sync polarity from the computer is used to select 640x350 on the monitor, and without this specific sync control, the monitor will fall back to selecting 720x400.

So 640x350 can only be selected on Archies which can change the sync polarity. eg. A540, A5000, A4, A3010, A3020, A4000 - and later... without additional hardware.

I believe the only VIDC enhancer which allows control of sync polarity is the WE Super VIDC enhancer.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 620
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: New (to me) A3000

Post by trixster » Sat May 13, 2017 8:40 am

Interesting, thanks!
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
Master Turbo + DC + BeebSID | Atom | A4000 060 | A3000 060 | A1200 060 | A500
Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar

Post Reply