A3020 Joystick Port

discuss the archimedes & risc pc, peripherals and risc os/risc os on pi
Post Reply
User avatar
RonT
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 9:43 am
Contact:

A3020 Joystick Port

Post by RonT »

Hi all, general question from newbie:

The jury is still out as to whether I purchase an A3010 or a A3020.

I understand there are several differences that are without doubt, more important than absence of a joystick port on a 3020.

So my question to you 'learned' people is: Does a solution exist that will allow me to fit a joystick to a 3020 either via hardware or software?

I don't want to overlook potentially good 3020s just because they don't have a joystick port.

Thanks in advance.
Best Regards - Ron

Hunting for an A3020
User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by IanJeffray »

An A3010 is only truly useful if you upgrade to 4MB (not as cheap as the A3020 uplift to 4MB) and add a hard drive podule, whereas the A3020 has internal IDE which you can easily attach 2x 512MB drives to.

A3010 is prettier (Acorn-green keys... a 'marmite' choice) but for the sake of the joystick ports, no, get the A3020.

The A3020 also has a separate NIC slot for Ethernet or Econet, whilst still leaving the podule expansion available.

And so if you really wanted joystick support, you could lash-up a RTFM "Econet" joystick interface : viewtopic.php?p=325080#p325080

If you got hold of an "Adelaide" A3010, then you could look at swapping the ARM2 for an ARM3, and overclocking the MEMC... but that's a different question. (Can't be done on A3020 as there were no Adelaide versions).
User avatar
RonT
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by RonT »

Thanks Ian

The more advice I receive the more I am tending to lean towards the A3020.

I might just forget my obsession with the joystick.

Many thanks
Best Regards - Ron

Hunting for an A3020
User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by IanJeffray »

RonT wrote:
Fri Sep 17, 2021 5:07 pm
I might just forget my obsession with the joystick.
Or, er, *cough*. um, use something like my PS joypad interface on the parallel port ... http://ian.jeffray.co.uk/riscos/joypad/
8)
User avatar
RonT
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by RonT »

Totally happy with that. I have bookmarked that page - hope you have lots in stock as I don't quite know when I will get my 3020. I have just been warned of redundancy as well as a move to Scotland - no matter.

It is interesting that you state that the 4Mbyte upgrade is a more costlier route for a 3010 than a 3020. I have never seen that written down before.

The more I think of it I like the thought of the IDE interface, and to be honest, I'm not 100% convinced that I could live with the green function keys of the 3010. I grew up with a BBC 'B' followed by a Master 128 so the red keys seem right.

Thanks for your advice

Regards Ron.
Best Regards - Ron

Hunting for an A3020
User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by IanJeffray »

RonT wrote:
Fri Sep 17, 2021 5:39 pm
hope you have lots in stock
We've not made any for nearly a couple of decades :lol: The schematic's trivial and tehre for anyone to lash-up. Actually, I should draw-up the schematics for the dual version, and for the system that can run the rumble feedback - much fun.
RonT wrote:
Fri Sep 17, 2021 5:39 pm
a move to Scotland
Welcome ;)
User avatar
RonT
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by RonT »

Fair enough.

My wife is a Scot so we are 'coming home' somewhat.

Just got to find a job and a house :shock: You can see why the 3020 might have to take a back seat :?
Best Regards - Ron

Hunting for an A3020
User avatar
arkiruthis
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2021 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by arkiruthis »

I'm certainly very interested to try out the parallel port option on my A3020. Unfortunately the Varta damage was worst around that area, so I'm not sure just yet whether that port will even work for me. My A3020 came with the HCCS Analogue podule, so part of me has been wondering whether there's something I could do with that on the joystick front?
RonT wrote:
Fri Sep 17, 2021 5:39 pm
I have just been warned of redundancy as well as a move to Scotland - no matter.
Sorry to hear about the risk of redundancy. Been there myself once and it can be scary, but also can be a source of new opportunities.

Also, move to Scotland sounds exciting. I grew up in Glasgow, then went to uni in Edinburgh and lived there for 20 odd years. There's a lot to love about Scotland, and I miss the hills now that I'm living the life of a soft-bellied sassonach.
User avatar
RonT
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by RonT »

Thanks for the kind words, I know that on the 1st of April 2022 that I will be made redundant but to be honest it doesn't phase me anymore.

You are right it can be a source on new opportunities and I am looking forward to it.

I met my 'wife to be' when we were both serving in the Fleet Air Arm in the 1980s, and I've never looked back.

I did some Open University Summer school courses at Stirling Uni and I love the place. We did the Highland 500 a few years ago and it is stunning.

I plan to get a job then buy a house nearby OR buy a house then find a job nearby, either way I'm on my way.

I'm sure I can find something to 'fund' my retro habit. Eventually I want to re-discover a Master 128 then go right back to my Electron days.

I can see myself being a regular visitor to this forum.
Best Regards - Ron

Hunting for an A3020
User avatar
Pernod
Posts: 2729
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 11:01 pm
Location: Croydon, UK
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by Pernod »

arkiruthis wrote:
Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:28 pm
My A3020 came with the HCCS Analogue podule, so part of me has been wondering whether there's something I could do with that on the joystick front?
Presume that's this http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... logue.html. Would you be able to provide a ROM dump for the archive?
- Nigel

BBC Model B: ATPL Sidewise, Acorn Speech, 2xWatford Floppy Drives, AMX Mouse, Viglen case, BeebZIF, etc.
User avatar
arkiruthis
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2021 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by arkiruthis »

Pernod wrote:
Fri Sep 17, 2021 7:32 pm
Presume that's this http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... logue.html. Would you be able to provide a ROM dump for the archive?
Yes, that's the one. Very happy to do that if given instructions. Can PM me details or a link to documentation and I'll endeavour to do that when I can.
User avatar
baz4096
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2021 3:51 pm
Location: Baildon, West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by baz4096 »

Ron

Don’t rule out the 3010 straight away. There are 4meg upgrades available, and if you acquire a ZIDEFS mini podule from Ian Stocks, your machine would be able to support 4 x 512mb partitions from a single 2GB IDE DOM, vs the onboard ide of a 3020 only supporting 2x the first 512mb discs/DOMs.
User avatar
RonT
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by RonT »

Oh my - this is not easy - I thought I had it 'sorted'.

Thanks Baz. #-o
Best Regards - Ron

Hunting for an A3020
User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by IanJeffray »

baz4096 wrote:
Fri Sep 17, 2021 11:31 pm
your machine would be able to support 4 x 512mb partitions from a single 2GB IDE DOM, vs the onboard ide of a 3020 only supporting 2x the first 512mb
OR, you create yourself a set of ROMs with the ICS Wizzo image in it, then you can use a single 2GB DOM split in to four partitions on the internal IDE interface, and still keep the podule slot free ;)

This is actually what I've done with an A3020,and A4000 works perfectly.
(It's the same 'extension ROM' image as you get when plugging a physical extension ROM in to the A4 and A5000)
User avatar
baz4096
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2021 3:51 pm
Location: Baildon, West Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: A3020 Joystick Port

Post by baz4096 »

I think what I was trying to say was “keep your options open” :D
Post Reply

Return to “32-bit acorn hardware”