using iomega jaz on a3000

discuss the archimedes & risc pc, peripherals and risc os/risc os on pi
Post Reply
soviet
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:05 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

using iomega jaz on a3000

Post by soviet » Fri Oct 16, 2020 8:05 pm

Hi!, is possible to use the parallel port version of the iomega JAZ drive on the A3000 ?.
:?:

User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Contact:

Re: using iomega jaz on a3000

Post by IanJeffray » Fri Oct 16, 2020 8:13 pm

Sadly not, you need a bi-directional parallel port. A3010, A3020, A4000, A5000, A4, A7000, RiscPC.

User avatar
kppot
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:48 pm
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: using iomega jaz on a3000

Post by kppot » Sat Oct 17, 2020 7:06 pm

That was the reason I actually upgraded form 3000 to 3020

soviet
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:05 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

Re: using iomega jaz on a3000

Post by soviet » Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:32 pm

So i suppose the zip drive also will not work :(

User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Contact:

Re: using iomega jaz on a3000

Post by IanJeffray » Sun Oct 18, 2020 2:01 am

soviet wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 11:32 pm
So i suppose the zip drive also will not work :(
That's right. Actually I misread "jaz" as "zip" originally. I'd never heard of a parallel jaz drive before - zip is far more commonplace with Acorn kit.

soviet
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:05 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

Re: using iomega jaz on a3000

Post by soviet » Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:44 pm

I know is no the title of thread but i have also this scsi podule.
Image

Can be used on the a3000 ? seem to fit on the expansion port.

User avatar
IanJeffray
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:50 pm
Contact:

Re: using iomega jaz on a3000

Post by IanJeffray » Sun Oct 18, 2020 10:22 pm

soviet wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:44 pm
Can be used on the a3000 ? seem to fit on the expansion port.
Yes. You can even get metal enclosures to suit holding a podule in the rear socket permanently.
CJE have a manky one for sale just now ... https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Acorn-A3000- ... 4127692704

Post Reply

Return to “32-bit acorn hardware”