Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
soviet
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:05 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by soviet » Thu Mar 14, 2019 3:03 am

Hi guys i have a question here in fact several ones.
I have been thinking about getting a Acorn ARM based computer have been reading about the different models, but i'm unsure about a lof of things.
First of i have been using RISCOS on the raspberry pi and liked it very much, could love to get some classic acorn computer to play.
What model is best to run games ?, an A3000 or a RISCPC ?.
How compatible they are ?,in case there's software fixes like "whdload" or something like this ?.
#-o

User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by geraldholdsworth » Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:49 am

I think that there are more games that will work with the A3000 than the RiscPC.
Gerald Holdsworth
Repton Resource Page
www.reptonresourcepage.co.uk

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 7169
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by danielj » Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:07 am

Archimedes/A3000/A3010/A3020/A4000/A5000 for games. RiscPC runs some stuff, but not all the old stuff by any stretch.

d.
Last edited by danielj on Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3576
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by flaxcottage » Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:16 am

Games, then an A3000 without doubt and a CRT monitor, memory upgrade and hard drive. :D

And this is from someone who doesn't play games. :lol: But when I do I use the A3000.
- John

Image

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by trixster » Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:07 am

A3000. So you can play ArcElite and Zarch as they were intended.
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1331
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by martinw » Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:21 am

trixster wrote:
Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:07 am
A3000. So you can play ArcElite and Zarch as they were intended.
Oh yes ...
ArcElite.jpg
And the rest :wink: (see below)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ulP3X2NTAhg

Martin

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by trixster » Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:26 am

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I’m a big fan of your videos, Martin :)

I’ll have to make a new recording of Elite running on all my machines. I did one of it on 8 machines a few years ago but I’ve got rather more than that now that can ‘do’ Elite :)
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1331
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by martinw » Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:30 am

trixster wrote:
Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:26 am
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I’m a big fan of your videos, Martin :)

I’ll have to make a new recording of Elite running on all my machines. I did one of it on 8 machines a few years ago but I’ve got rather more than that now that can ‘do’ Elite :)
Thank you, it was from a wee while ago now, but I still like it, especially the Atom running Elite! (a cut down version anyway) I look forward to seeing yours too :D

Martin

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by trixster » Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:32 am

AtomicElite was the entire reason I got an atom and went to lengths to get it pimped out. It’s worth the effort and I’ve since enjoyed exploring the Atom and what it can do.

Fingers cross Kees will finish AtomicElite and maybe launch some new projects soon (like AtomicTubeElite!! [-o< [-o< )

@soviet sorry for going off topic. The answer for you is: get an A3000, they’re brilliant :)
Last edited by trixster on Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1331
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by martinw » Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:34 am

trixster wrote:
Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:32 am
AtomicElite was the entire reason I got an atom and went to lengths to get it pimped out. It’s worth the effort and I’ve since enjoyed exploring the Atom and what it can do.

Fingers cross Kees will finish AtomicElite and maybe launch some new projects soon (like AtomicTubeElite!! [-o< [-o< )
Definitely 8)

Martin

soviet
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:05 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by soviet » Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:38 pm

Going to try to get an A3000, the problem is that purchasing them on ebay is like playing russian rulete.
They are all "untested" no pictures of the insides, and i have seen pictures and videos about the internal battery that seem to completely destroy the boards.

The other issue is that most sellers in ebay UK don't like to send to the US, so is a hard bet finding the combo (tested + willing to ship).

User avatar
myelin
Posts: 644
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 9:17 pm
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by myelin » Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:32 pm

soviet wrote:
Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:38 pm
They are all "untested" no pictures of the insides, and i have seen pictures and videos about the internal battery that seem to completely destroy the boards.
Yeah, that's pretty much the state of things for any of the machines with soldered batteries (A3000, A4000, A5000, RPC). You have two unappealing choices: paying £100+shipping for a machine which probably has a ton of battery damage (I just did this for an A5000 am crossing my fingers that it'll be repairable...) or paying £400 for a fully restored machine from CJE. I managed to repair my "untested" eBay A3000, and it's mostly working aside from some keyboard issues, but I bit the bullet and bought a CJE Risc PC. On the other hand, I have three broken A3000 motherboards sitting on my desk here in California, and have made substantial repairs to all of them, but none of them will boot up yet, so it's not guaranteed that they'll be easy to fix.

The USA thing sucks too, but a little patience should yield something. A working A410/1 and an A310 with a broken power supply showed up on eBay last week (I got the A310); either of those would make a great first Acorn machine too.
Last edited by myelin on Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
SW/EE from New Zealand, now in Mountain View, CA, making BBC/Electron hardware projects for fun.
Most popular: fast serial port, FX2+PiTubeDirect Tube/Cartridge adapter, USB cart interface.

soviet
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:05 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by soviet » Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:56 pm

Probably will ending biting the bullet and try to find a cheap untested A3000, then cross my fingers all the way.

User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by geraldholdsworth » Thu Mar 14, 2019 6:27 pm

If you do get a broken A3000, you'll find lots of help here to fix it up.
Gerald Holdsworth
Repton Resource Page
www.reptonresourcepage.co.uk

hubersn
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by hubersn » Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:18 pm

soviet wrote:
Thu Mar 14, 2019 3:03 am
First of i have been using RISCOS on the raspberry pi and liked it very much, could love to get some classic acorn computer to play.
Have you tried ADFFS? This will allow you to run practically every game under the sun on your Raspberry Pi. Including support for USB joysticks in the latest version(s).

https://forums.jaspp.org.uk/forum/index.php

There is also ArchiEmu, which is a very capable Archimedes emulator running on RISC OS 5. I had good results with many games.
What model is best to run games ?, an A3000 or a RISCPC ?.
It depends. Early games will be difficult to get running on a Risc PC, but later games will be too slow on the A3000 (unless you get one with ARM3 upgrade). Two of the classics, Stunt Racer 2000 and Star Fighter 3000, are really slow on an A3000.
How compatible they are ?,in case there's software fixes like "whdload" or something like this ?.
#-o
On the Risc PC, there were software packages like GameOn! and StrongGuard! as well as individual patches and re-released to make many early titles (Archimedes, A5000) run on the Risc PC.

https://armclub.org.uk/products/strongguard/

Again, ADFFS is a good solution here, although its current development focus is the Raspberry Pi.

Have fun
hubersn

User avatar
vanpeebles
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:01 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by vanpeebles » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:24 am

If it's for games, I think an A3010 is better. Slightly faster, joystick ports, and most of the games work nicely on ro3.1. It was the gamers Acorn :D

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by DutchAcorn » Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:29 am

If you want to go for a safe option you could see if you can find an A310. It may need a keyboard clean and/or a decoupling cap replacement but nothing as destructive as a leaked battery.
Paul

Image

soviet
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:05 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by soviet » Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:48 pm

Thanks for the link, i search for this and never find it on the web.
Going to try it on my PI but i have repurposed it as a the tube interface on my Master.
Will purchase another one to continue the RISCOS fun.
hubersn wrote:
Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:18 pm
soviet wrote:
Thu Mar 14, 2019 3:03 am
First of i have been using RISCOS on the raspberry pi and liked it very much, could love to get some classic acorn computer to play.
Have you tried ADFFS? This will allow you to run practically every game under the sun on your Raspberry Pi. Including support for USB joysticks in the latest version(s).

https://forums.jaspp.org.uk/forum/index.php

There is also ArchiEmu, which is a very capable Archimedes emulator running on RISC OS 5. I had good results with many games.
What model is best to run games ?, an A3000 or a RISCPC ?.
It depends. Early games will be difficult to get running on a Risc PC, but later games will be too slow on the A3000 (unless you get one with ARM3 upgrade). Two of the classics, Stunt Racer 2000 and Star Fighter 3000, are really slow on an A3000.
How compatible they are ?,in case there's software fixes like "whdload" or something like this ?.
#-o
On the Risc PC, there were software packages like GameOn! and StrongGuard! as well as individual patches and re-released to make many early titles (Archimedes, A5000) run on the Risc PC.

https://armclub.org.uk/products/strongguard/

Again, ADFFS is a good solution here, although its current development focus is the Raspberry Pi.

Have fun
hubersn

soviet
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:05 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by soviet » Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:49 pm

Yes i'm going to try to get an A310, look like the most interesting option.
Seem that all that run on the RISCPC should run fine on the Raspberry PI ?.

User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by geraldholdsworth » Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:19 pm

soviet wrote:
Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:49 pm
Seem that all that run on the RISCPC should run fine on the Raspberry PI ?.
Not quite...depending on the OS version. RISC OS 4.39, and previous, is 26 bit but RISC OS 5 is 32 bit so some stuff won't run.
Gerald Holdsworth
Repton Resource Page
www.reptonresourcepage.co.uk

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by trixster » Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:50 pm

Be aware of how you’re going to run games on your machine as you might have to think about finding an ide podule. I don’t think these are cheap for the A310. There have been new runs for the A3000 recently here on Stardot so finding a cheap A3000 interface should be easy enough now.
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 853
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by trixster » Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:52 pm

Be aware of how you’re going to run games on your machine as you might have to think about finding an ide podule. I don’t think these are cheap for the A310. There have been new runs for the A3000 recently here on Stardot so finding a cheap A3000 interface should be easy enough now.

Whilst I agree that the A3010 is a great gamers option, I much prefer my A3000 to my A3020 for some reason. Maybe it’s because A3000s were what we had at school and that was the machine I desperately wanted my dad to get for us at home
A3020 | A3000 | A420/1 | BBC B | Master Turbo | ZX48K | NeoGeo
Atom | Amiga A4000 | A3000 | A1200 | A500 | PC Engine | Enterprise
Falcon | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD | Jaguar | X68000 | CD32

mr-macrisc
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by mr-macrisc » Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:53 am

I have a spare HCCS ide podule.

It has one full size IDE connector and one laptop size and you can attach a laptop hdd to the podule itself. Came out a risc pc but belive they were designed for archimedes range like a310.

So if you get an a310 and need an IDE podule well fire me a pm

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3576
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by flaxcottage » Sat Mar 16, 2019 2:36 pm

Yes, it is strange about the A3000. :!:

I have much better Archimedes computers technically but I really love the A3000. Mine has a real CRT monitor and so the output looks superb.

I have maxed the A3000; it has a serial upgrade fitted, a real, 350Mb HDD on a Castle mini-podule, 4Mb of RAM, Econet interface and a Worra Winnie 20Mb SCSI external HDD if I want it.

I know that the A5000s I have are much better machines with 64 colours on screen at once, are faster and have a 1.6Mb FDD but I love programming the A3000 in the legacy modes.

Maybe it is the BBC logo on the front. :lol:
- John

Image

richw
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 9:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by richw » Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:57 pm

I think it's worth considering Steffen's point, if you're not bothered about the exact 'retro-experience'. A Pi of any flavour, even a basic Zero, will run ADFFS, which will allow you to run boatloads of games - not just those which are Risc PC onwards.

Of course, if you want the exact 'look' hardware-wise, including the mouse/keyboard etc., then you can't beat a real machine. Most games targeted the original Archimedes: a basic ARM2 machine with 2MB RAM would suffice (so an A3000 would be sweet). A small handful of games were enhanced for higher-spec machines, but if you have an A5000 (ARM3) then some games will run too fast, and on a Risc PC or A7000 most won't run at all. This headache is solved by ADFFS: you can run that on a Pi, or on an old Arc/RPC-class machine and it will try to support every game.

I would love an Archimedes keyboard and mouse, modified with a USB connector, so I can plug it into my Pi. Of course, such a keyboard without a broken function key strip holder is about as common as rocking horse droppings...

soviet
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:05 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by soviet » Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:11 am

mr-macrisc wrote:
Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:53 am
I have a spare HCCS ide podule.

It has one full size IDE connector and one laptop size and you can attach a laptop hdd to the podule itself. Came out a risc pc but belive they were designed for archimedes range like a310.

So if you get an a310 and need an IDE podule well fire me a pm
Thanks for the offer and if i got the a3000 will contact you because the one i'm bidding for don't have the ide podule.

soviet
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 10:05 pm
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by soviet » Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:11 am

richw wrote:
Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:57 pm
I think it's worth considering Steffen's point, if you're not bothered about the exact 'retro-experience'. A Pi of any flavour, even a basic Zero, will run ADFFS, which will allow you to run boatloads of games - not just those which are Risc PC onwards.

Of course, if you want the exact 'look' hardware-wise, including the mouse/keyboard etc., then you can't beat a real machine. Most games targeted the original Archimedes: a basic ARM2 machine with 2MB RAM would suffice (so an A3000 would be sweet). A small handful of games were enhanced for higher-spec machines, but if you have an A5000 (ARM3) then some games will run too fast, and on a Risc PC or A7000 most won't run at all. This headache is solved by ADFFS: you can run that on a Pi, or on an old Arc/RPC-class machine and it will try to support every game.

I would love an Archimedes keyboard and mouse, modified with a USB connector, so I can plug it into my Pi. Of course, such a keyboard without a broken function key strip holder is about as common as rocking horse droppings...
Yes i have got another raspberry pi because of this, at this moment i'm just starting to install riscos to the microsd card for this purpose.

mr-macrisc
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by mr-macrisc » Sun Mar 17, 2019 7:24 am

soviet wrote:
Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:11 am
mr-macrisc wrote:
Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:53 am
I have a spare HCCS ide podule.

It has one full size IDE connector and one laptop size and you can attach a laptop hdd to the podule itself. Came out a risc pc but belive they were designed for archimedes range like a310.

So if you get an a310 and need an IDE podule well fire me a pm
Thanks for the offer and if i got the a3000 will contact you because the one i'm bidding for don't have the ide podule.
Nope, a310 as it takes full size podules. a3000 and similar need smaller cards.

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by IanS » Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:50 am

mr-macrisc wrote:
Sun Mar 17, 2019 7:24 am
Nope, a310 as it takes full size podules. a3000 and similar need smaller cards.
An A3000 can take a full-size podule externally on the rear. The A3010/A3020/A4000 can't.

mr-macrisc
Posts: 258
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Should i get an A3000 or a RISCPC ?

Post by mr-macrisc » Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:56 am

IanS wrote:
Sun Mar 17, 2019 9:50 am
mr-macrisc wrote:
Sun Mar 17, 2019 7:24 am
Nope, a310 as it takes full size podules. a3000 and similar need smaller cards.
An A3000 can take a full-size podule externally on the rear. The A3010/A3020/A4000 can't.
Yeah but surely you don't want a big full size podule just hanging off back of it

Post Reply