ECONET AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
Post Reply
Ottly
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:34 am
Contact:

ECONET AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Post by Ottly » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:46 pm

Hi All,

Do the schematics exist for this econet interface?
Are there any ROM images available?

Was thinking of making one if possible.

Thanks Scott.
Last edited by Ottly on Thu Mar 15, 2018 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jgharston
Posts: 3057
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Whitby/Sheffield
Contact:

Re: AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Post by jgharston » Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:46 pm

Ottly wrote:Do the schematics exist for this econet interface?
this one?
Ottly wrote:Are there any ROM images available?
ANFS 4.25 for the Master. Already built in in RISC OS.

Code: Select all

$ bbcbasic
PDP11 BBC BASIC IV Version 0.25
(C) Copyright J.G.Harston 1989,2005-2015
>_

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 591
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:02 pm
Contact:

Re: AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Post by IanS » Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:51 pm

I've never seen a schematic, but the fact it has programmable logic on the board would make it hard to reproduce, unless you had the details of the logic within.

Do you want to re-create one just to get Econet on a RISC-PC/A7000, as there are simplified circuits that can use a standard master module. Or is the interest in an accurate re-creation of the AEH60?

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 591
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:02 pm
Contact:

Re: AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Post by IanS » Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:53 pm

jgharston wrote:
Ottly wrote:Do the schematics exist for this econet interface?
this one?
No, the AEH60 fits in the RISC-PC/A7000 network slot. That schematic also doen't have the collision detection, so shouldn't be used.

Ottly
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Post by Ottly » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:28 am

IanS wrote:I've never seen a schematic, but the fact it has programmable logic on the board would make it hard to reproduce, unless you had the details of the logic within.

Do you want to re-create one just to get Econet on a RISC-PC/A7000, as there are simplified circuits that can use a standard master module. Or is the interest in an accurate re-creation of the AEH60?
Oh ok. Didn’t realise it had programmable logic IC onboard. From photos it looks like a standard econet interface with its own clock circuitry (not an econet clock but a crystal clock for circuit timing) and a software ROM.

I was just wanting to recreate something that would work reliably. Do the simplified circuits work reliably or do you experience network errors?
90A90471-5A8B-495A-8D0B-4E79C6460CD8.jpeg

Ottly
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:34 am
Contact:

Re: AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Post by Ottly » Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:14 am

jgharston wrote:
Ottly wrote:Are there any ROM images available?
Already built in in RISC OS.
Does anyone know what the ECONET ROM chip on the AEH60 is for then?

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 6173
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Post by danielj » Wed Mar 14, 2018 8:08 am

Probably just to identify the module.

Prime
Posts: 2496
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 11:52 pm
Contact:

Re: AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Post by Prime » Wed Mar 14, 2018 10:32 am

danielj wrote:Probably just to identify the module.
Possibly, but seems a waste of an (at least) 128K EPROM to do that :) Surely the ID is just a few bytes, and would fit in a 2764, then again maybe Acorn had a whole bunch of those dirt cheap......

Cheers.

Phill.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 6173
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Post by danielj » Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:27 am

Can't see any other use for it - although it could store updated modules I guess....

d.

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 591
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:02 pm
Contact:

Re: AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Post by IanS » Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:59 am

danielj wrote:Can't see any other use for it - although it could store updated modules I guess....
Looks like it:-
http://www.beebmaster.co.uk/32bit/A7000FixNet8.html

User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 2537
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 4:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Post by BeebMaster » Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:19 pm

I wonder if that ROM has been imaged. I can't do it as I don't have anything which can take a 32-pin chip.

Unless I can *SAVE the whole podule ROM contents somehow like you can *SAVE individual modules (or more) in the RISC OS ROM?
Image

User avatar
BeebMaster
Posts: 2537
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2009 4:59 pm
Location: Lost in the BeebVault!
Contact:

Re: AEH60 schematics & ROM image

Post by BeebMaster » Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:34 pm

And to answer the original follow-up question, the Econet-module-on-podule works well. RISC PC needs a modification to the Econet software module. Info about it all is in this thread here:

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=8155

The good thing about this solution is that it allows you to use a proper 5-pin DIN connector on the board instead of that 15-pin D aberration Acorn snuck onto the official card.
Image

Post Reply