A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
Post Reply
Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:12 am

My A5000 running OS 3.11 has died,...

On starting I get a number of flashing red screens ending after 30-40 seconds, during which the floppy led flashes a code, I get the message...
Error:AddressException:Address Exception at &0% (Error Number &80000003) Floppy code... 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0011 0101 1001

I have once been able to press 'break' and I got *supervisor, was able to *configure and *status, but no more. Black screen after break shows Risc OS 2048K - or 4096K with extra ram fitted.

I've removed the extra ram board and set links for 2MB on-board ram & disconnected the hard drive. I have confirmed C160 is sound (mentioned elsewhere as a common fault) and removed the cmos battery. Symptoms exactly the same before removing the battery, which looks original but is in good nick (replacement on order) and holding charge at about 1.3-1.4V. PCB links checked okay. Running out of ideas, over to the experts...!!!

Thanks,
Andrew

User avatar
vanekp
Posts: 539
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2000 7:09 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by vanekp » Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:16 am

Have you checked all the voltages coming out the power supply that they are correct and within tolerance?

Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:30 am

PSU Voltages first thing I checked, although thanks for asking... 4.97, -11.7, -4.95V

Trying to decode the POST code from 'fault finding index' thread, Support Group Application Note No. 225 - fault code 00000359, I believe.

Will try searching, see if I can find anything. Interestingly, said doc talks of setting a screen mode to suit simple monitors such unsuitable for VGA, explains why I'm currently seeing an unsynced display as suggested by the App Note. Note suggests the red screen suggests a fault has been discovered, and we go into POST with LED code. So, initial boot looks good, machine fails POST - so what's the fix for code 319?

Keyboard comes to life when POST completes.
Last edited by Andrewcee on Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:34 am

359 translates...
3 = 1+2, ie. 1: Rom failed checksum &
2: Cmos failed checksum - set of roms and cmos chip on order.
5 = 1+4, ie. 1: ARM3 fitted for non-RiscPC hardware - sounds good, running A5000 &
4: PC-style IO world detected - no idea, could be resulting from faulty cmos config, faulty OS from rom?
9 = 1+8, ie. 1: self-test at power on - which is it doing &
8: long memory test performed - explains the 30-40 sec start-up

From Riscos: FAQ...
The lowest seven bits are a status word. The meaning of each bit is given below in hex :-

00000001 Self-test due to power on
00000002 Self-test due to interface hardware
00000004 Self-test due to test link
00000008 Long memory test performed
00000010 ARM ID detected (ARM 3 fitted for non-RiscPC hardware)
00000020 Long memory test disabled
00000040 PC-style IO world detected
00000080 VRAM detected

Bits 8-31 indicate the fault code and are described below. Not all the bits are used. If the code is marked as reserved on the RiscPC this means that error number is currently either unassigned or it's meaning on older hardware is no longer sensible for the newer machines (and thus it's meaning may be reassigned on the newer versions of the OS.)

00000100 CMOS RAM checksum error
00000200 ROM failed checksum test
00000400 MEMC CAM mapping failed (A reserved code on the RiscPC)
00000800 MEMC protection failed (A reserved code on the RiscPC)
00001000 (A reserved code on the RiscPC)
00002000 (A reserved code on the RiscPC)
00004000 VIDC Virq (video interrupt) timing failed
00008000 VIDC Sirq (sound interrupt) timing failed
00010000 CMOS unreadable
00020000 RAM control line failure
00040000 Long RAM test failure
00080000 (A reserved code on the RiscPC)
Last edited by Andrewcee on Thu Feb 22, 2018 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

RobC
Posts: 2182
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by RobC » Thu Feb 22, 2018 11:09 am

I've definitely had an Arc that had bad ROMs but can't remember which model it was (possibly an A3020). However, it's worth reseating the ROMs and checking the sockets for corrosion or damage (unless you've got a spare set of ROMs lying around). Also, check that any ROM size links are set correctly.

Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Thu Feb 22, 2018 11:18 am

I've definitely had an Arc that had bad ROMs but can't remember which model it was (possibly an A3020). However, it's worth reseating the ROMs and checking the sockets for corrosion or damage (unless you've got a spare set of ROMs lying around). Also, check that any ROM size links are set correctly.
Thanks, have lifted each one out and checked. Machine is remarkably clean inside, as new in fact, likely has seen very little service. No dust and muck on or around PSU inside or PSU fan. No signs of battery leakage, have confirmed it's the original (now replaced) and is/was still holding charge.

Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:27 pm

May have made a mistake in my diagnosis. 359...

3+1+2 - 1: CMOS unreadable, 2: Ram control line failure. Easy to replace the Cmos chip, if indeed it is faulty, no idea what to do about the Ram control line failure?

RobC
Posts: 2182
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by RobC » Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:58 pm

Andrewcee wrote:no idea what to do about the Ram control line failure?
First thing to do is to check the memory size links just in case a memory upgrade has been removed.

Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:39 pm

Done. I lifted out the ram card just in case it had gone faulty, it's an 8meg. I reset the links accordingly, was set to 4meg, now set to 2meg. The black screen scrolls round showing the correct memory, 4096KB, or 2048.

Maybe I need to get the 'scope out... https://www.retro-kit.co.uk/page.cfm/co ... e-repairs/

Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:36 am

Had the scope out, most interesting.

The 74138 ram select chip is working perfectly albeit I've not checked all inputs to outputs, I can see it toggling the two on-board banks of ram, not so the off-board banks as set by the links.

I can see the C(0) and C(1) lines toggling on the CMOS ram chip on startup for about a second maybe, before the machine goes into what I'm guessing is its long ram test. I see the same on the address and data lines on the roms, and rom chip selects, as one might expect. The patterns on the address and data lines are repetitive and 'slow' until the memory test completes, then the scope lights up.

Looks to me like the machine is fundamentally running albeit is unable to run any meaningful code post startup, which is kind of obvious given the post diagnosis and error message on screen. I'm thinking my original diagnosis is (hopefully) correct - rom and/or cmos failure - as indicated by the post report. I'll let you know when I've tried new roms and/or cmos.

Anyone know where the cmos C(0) and C(1) lines go other than the expansion backplane? I've looked all over the circuit diagrams without any luck, they must go somewhere!

steve3000
Posts: 1838
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by steve3000 » Fri Feb 23, 2018 6:25 pm

Andrewcee wrote:Anyone know where the cmos C(0) and C(1) lines go other than the expansion backplane? I've looked all over the circuit diagrams without any luck, they must go somewhere!
Straight into the IOC chip, but I forget which pins.

Have you reverted back to base 2mb RAM (assuming that's what's on the pcb?) and set the links LK24 and LK23 (i think?) accordingly? If they're set incorrectly the computer will report that address failure.

Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Sat Feb 24, 2018 12:50 pm

Thanks Steve. C(0) & C(1) go to pins 44 & 45. I've confirmed continuity between cmos and IC8. I've removed the extra ram and set the links. Removed everything but the floppy.

Changed the roms and cmos this morning, no change! Time to fire up the scope again. I'm curious, what the symptoms might look like if the IOC has failed?

Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Sat Feb 24, 2018 7:16 pm

Quick update after much use of scope and dvm, and reading app note on POST testing.

Remove roms = dead machine, as expected. I'm guessing it boots from address &0 in rom? I believe the machine is successfully running its power-up self tests as it gets to POST okay. It looks like it's reading both cmos data lines and rom data outputs okay, although no idea if output from cmos is valid. All address & data lines on roms are toggling, as are each of the rom chip selects during initial self test. Confirmed continuity across all rom pins expect data lines which are 0-7/8-15/16-23/24-31 on each of the four roms, ie. each rom delivers 8 of the 32 data bits. With POST running and reporting an error, the machine looks sound but for the 359 POST error.

As I understand it, POST 2 least significant bytes (xxxxxxnn) give machine status, the remaining bytes (nnnnnnxx) are fault codes. I read POST 000003nn as no hardware fault found, e.g. nnn1nnnn = cmos unreadable, the' 3' being bits 1&2 set; bit 2 = roms crc failure, bit 1 = cmos crc failure. I've fitted new cmos and roms however??? I wonder if anything in the machine is common to both or more likely an issue with roms generate the cmos crc error?

More investigations required after holidays. Any help, thoughts, advice in the meantime, very much appreciated!!!

Thanks, Andrew

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3067
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by flaxcottage » Sat Feb 24, 2018 7:45 pm

This might seem to be a very simple thing but leave the battery charging for over an hour then do a del-power on restart. It worked a treat on mine when it refused to boot. Something to doo with getting a good enough charge on the battery.
- John

Why do I keep collecting Acorn gear? I'm going to need a considerably bigger man-cave. :?

Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:42 pm

Thanks John, now boots to *supervisor when pressing Delete key. Keyboard not giving anything on screen, have to check output from keyboard on scope. Press reset, black screen with RISC OS 2048K and no prompt.

POST code now 259 - Rom failed checksum. Swapped roms, same result

Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:58 pm

Can confirm i can see input from keyboard on connector inside machine, different pattern reflecting key pressed

Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Tue Mar 13, 2018 9:44 pm

FIXED...

Back from hols, fresh start. Links 10 were set E-W: no bad idea! Set them N-S and machine boots perfectly. Post, 259 rom error, was correct due to operator error. Phew!!

PS. Successfully linked to Synology NAS using Sunfish. Why did I buy Lanman98??!!

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: East of the Sun and West of the Moon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by lcww1 » Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:07 pm

Very glad to hear that another A5000 has returned to life! I'm struggling with three ailing A5000 motherboards at the moment......

BTW, perusing the Support Group Application Note No. 225, I noticed at the end a reference to the (somewhat pricey) Atomwide POST interface test box. I'm wondering if anyone knows anything about this test box? I haven't found any further information on this device after quick rummage on Google and *. I'm curious as to where this device will have interfaced to an A5000 - the floppy port?

Andrewcee
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: Swindon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by Andrewcee » Tue Mar 13, 2018 11:53 pm

Can't help with the test box I'm afraid, although have fixed up a 2nd A5000 - what am I going to do with two?!

Problems no with 'no free memory' having got my first machine updated and connected to the NAS - looking like quite a few new modules loaded using about 2/3 of the 4GB ram. Start Sunfish and there's another 1GB gone. If only the 30GB disk drive could help out :)

User avatar
IanS
Posts: 591
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:02 pm
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by IanS » Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:11 pm

lcww1 wrote:Very glad to hear that another A5000 has returned to life! I'm struggling with three ailing A5000 motherboards at the moment......

BTW, perusing the Support Group Application Note No. 225, I noticed at the end a reference to the (somewhat pricey) Atomwide POST interface test box. I'm wondering if anyone knows anything about this test box? I haven't found any further information on this device after quick rummage on Google and *. I'm curious as to where this device will have interfaced to an A5000 - the floppy port?
I always assumed the POST interface plugged into the Test connector.
post.PNG
post.PNG (16.47 KiB) Viewed 386 times

User avatar
lcww1
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 11:16 pm
Location: East of the Sun and West of the Moon
Contact:

Re: A5000 Boot Error (Error Number &80000003)

Post by lcww1 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:50 pm

Ah! Well that would make sense! I’d forgotten about the existence of the A5000’s test connector - so, I think need to spend some more time studying the A5000 circuit diagrams......

Post Reply