Convert master psu to bench psu

for all subjects/topics not covered by the other forum categories
User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3143
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: Convert master psu to bench psu

Post by Elminster » Mon Sep 24, 2018 6:23 pm

Also want to add a resetable fuse. If I did it again I would at least have the bit laser cut, I am bored of drilling and filling!

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3143
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: Convert master psu to bench psu

Post by Elminster » Wed Sep 26, 2018 8:51 am

First project using bench psu, powering home built/programmed BeebSCSI, both seem to work.
IMG_4484.jpg
Next I have ordered on the slow boat an Electronic Load, interested to test my various PSUs for noise, ripple etc. i.e. new PSU, vs brick vs brick going through voltage regular etc. None have a transformer (although the DPS3005 has a choke type inductor) but interesting to do anyway.

I have seen projects where people have hooked up the DPS3005 DC to DC unit (or more powerful 50v units) I have to an enourmous torus transformer.

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 8098
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Convert master psu to bench psu

Post by 1024MAK » Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:20 am

Do you mean a toroidal transformer?

Mark

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3143
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: Convert master psu to bench psu

Post by Elminster » Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:43 am

Yes. Mixing up my transformers and star signs

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3143
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: Convert master psu to bench psu

Post by Elminster » Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:44 pm

Was going to put it in 'Today I Received' but seemed to make more sense to put it in the topic it relates to.

It is 30V or 5A but cant pull 5A at 30V, I can tell as only rated to 60W. As opposed to my PSU which can supply 5A @ 30V i.e. 150W. But I wanted for to test for noise at a variety of voltages and currents on a number of different DC supplies, so not an issue.

First thing is hack off the plug and put on a proper UK one with a 3A fuse.
Attachments
IMG_4509.jpg

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 8098
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...
Contact:

Re: Convert master psu to bench psu

Post by 1024MAK » Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:26 pm

And don’t forget to enjoy destroying that deathdaptor :lol:

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3143
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: Convert master psu to bench psu

Post by Elminster » Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:29 pm

I'll bring it to a southern ABUG next year for ritual destruction.

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 3143
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Re: Convert master psu to bench psu

Post by Elminster » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:00 pm

As other you tubers have said ‘good product, psu is shocking’, paraphrased.

Mine was so bad I threw it in the bin, after cutting of barrel jack to drive it from something else. Not only a US plug with adaptor of doom, but the cable was split near the plug and had exposed wire, cut the plug off but wire inside was thinner than what I used when I rewired the masters 5v power cables! In event of it going mad and drawing 13amps and 240volts it would evaporate. Only meant to draw 60w max but I am not sure it would safely do that.

Ordered a decent 19v 5a DC psu from a UK retailer, comes with proper mains lead and fused moulded plug. There are a lot of good but cheap products coming out of China, but why they supply them with lethal psu’s when an extra couple of quid gets a decent one I don’t know.

Post Reply