How do I enable joysticks on Electron Ghouls?

reminisce about bbc micro & electron games like chuckie egg, repton, elite & exileRelated forum: adventures


Post Reply
Commie_User
Posts: 1105
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:50 am
Contact:

How do I enable joysticks on Electron Ghouls?

Post by Commie_User » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:06 am

The game throws two questions - joystick address and code. (0 if unknown.)

So what do I type in to have this working on Beeb-Em (and my real BBC)?

Thanks.
ghouls.jpg

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 6262
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: How do I enable joysticks on Electron Ghouls?

Post by danielj » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:17 am

Don't use the electron version and use the BBC version? (this is a little like asking how to get a betamax tape to work in a VHS recorder...)

d.

Commie_User
Posts: 1105
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: How do I enable joysticks on Electron Ghouls?

Post by Commie_User » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:48 am

There's no joystick option at all on there. There's only three buttons to play on the keyboard but I hate keyboard control!

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 6262
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester
Contact:

Re: How do I enable joysticks on Electron Ghouls?

Post by danielj » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:52 am

Then I'm guessing you can't use it with joysticks on the beeb without hacking it.

d.

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 1090
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am
Contact:

Re: How do I enable joysticks on Electron Ghouls?

Post by Lardo Boffin » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:54 am

Ghouls is a nightmare without the precision of keyboard control. I tried the C64 version with a joystick and couldn’t get off the first level!
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette, Acorn 6502 coproc
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc
BBC Master

Commie_User
Posts: 1105
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:50 am
Contact:

Re: How do I enable joysticks on Electron Ghouls?

Post by Commie_User » Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:17 pm

Hmm. Both with and without joysticks on both systems, I couldn't even get past that plant (or whatever it is) on the first level.

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 1090
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am
Contact:

Re: How do I enable joysticks on Electron Ghouls?

Post by Lardo Boffin » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:15 pm

It’s a difficult game. I always found the key was to run and not stop! The level success music is quite nice if you make it.

I think it is a spike? Am pretty sure the ‘show game objects’ option at the start tells you but who looks at such things?
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette, Acorn 6502 coproc
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc
BBC Master


User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 1090
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am
Contact:

Re: How do I enable joysticks on Electron Ghouls?

Post by Lardo Boffin » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:56 pm

Yep. And just wait till the spiders appear! Level three I think from memory.
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette, Acorn 6502 coproc
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc
BBC Master

Post Reply