Page 1 of 1

electron qwak from euf file fault ?

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 11:30 am
by duikkie
oke i know it is to hot to program

but if i download the euf file for electron, with electron emulator

the screen output is not right ??

is it on a normal electron (hardware) oke ??

the e.dat file is different from the data file for bbc and others.

Re: electron qwak from euf file fault ?

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 11:44 am
by davidb
This is what the Stairway To Hell's UEF looks like in Elkulator. I'm guessing that it's correct. Lots of late Electron games used the screen memory to store code and data.
Qwak-Elkulator.png
Qwak-Elkulator.png (4.88 KiB) Viewed 239 times

Re: electron qwak from euf file fault ?

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:47 pm
by duikkie
Not really nice screen . But on real electron allso ?
davidb wrote:This is what the Stairway To Hell's UEF looks like in Elkulator. I'm guessing that it's correct. Lots of late Electron games used the screen memory to store code and data.

Qwak-Elkulator.png

Re: electron qwak from euf file fault ?

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:07 pm
by davidb
I don't know. I think so. Maybe someone will fire it up for you and see. :)

The only other video I could find on YouTube of the Acorn Electron version of Qwak! is actually showing the BBC Micro version.

Edit: Take a look at the screenshot on STH.

Re: electron qwak from euf file fault ?

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 4:38 pm
by CMcDougall
Yip, same on real deal elk.

also why Repton/s are in a little box

as David said, a lot of Big games also have 'junk' around screen, also quest & exile to name a few...

Re: electron qwak from euf file fault ?

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:47 pm
by duikkie
real bad programmers over there. there is a chip called 6845 you can program for smaller screen
better then put all your program on a side of the game

the program is till &4c00 they put &4c00 till &3f00 in part of &80 on the side
you see &3000 till &3f00 ( six lines in mode2 ) above the screen.

don't program easy if your next code is every time &280 away.

better to program the 6845 chip r12 and r13 ??? screen start adress
CMcDougall wrote:Yip, same on real deal elk.

also why Repton/s are in a little box

as David said, a lot of Big games also have 'junk' around screen, also quest & exile to name a few...

Re: electron qwak from euf file fault ?

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 7:04 pm
by davidb
The Electron doesn't have a 6845. The best you can do is blank the palette for some parts of the screen.

Re: electron qwak from euf file fault ?

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 7:56 pm
by duikkie
that's why i have a beeb bbc :) , so no little screen building of your own by electron ?
davidb wrote:The Electron doesn't have a 6845. The best you can do is blank the palette for some parts of the screen.