Electron Elite on disc ?

want to request software or documentation that you can't find online? post in here!
User avatar
mez
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:58 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Electron Elite on disc ?

Postby mez » Thu Oct 27, 2016 8:04 am

Does anyone have Elite for the Electron, on an SSD disc image?

I have it on a UEF tape image of course, but I'm after a working set of plain binaries without any protection.

User avatar
davidb
Posts: 1902
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Electron Elite on disc ?

Postby davidb » Thu Oct 27, 2016 10:25 am

It might be worth looking at Every Game Going's entries for Elite: Acornsoft original release and Superior/Acornsoft re-release. There are links to 5 1/4" and 3 1/2" disk versions.

User avatar
mez
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:58 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Electron Elite on disc ?

Postby mez » Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:00 pm

Yup, that's what I wanted, thanks very much.

I'll have to bookmark that site!

User avatar
mez
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:58 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Electron Elite on disc ?

Postby mez » Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:36 pm

Aww, the Electron Elite binaries from that site don't work under any emulator.

Under B-EM and Elkulator the function keys don't work, and under BeebEm it doesn't respond to any keypresses at all. :(

User avatar
davidb
Posts: 1902
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Electron Elite on disc ?

Postby davidb » Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:51 pm

Are you sure about the function keys under Elkulator? The Alt key maps to the Caps./Fn key, so Alt-1 will be f1, for example.

User avatar
mez
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:58 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Electron Elite on disc ?

Postby mez » Sun Oct 30, 2016 8:42 am

Ah, right. That's it. I've not used Elkulator much and I didn't see that documented anywhere.

Thanks!

One last thing - the Acornsoft and Superior disk images on that site appear identical even though I thought there were a few bug fixes between the two releases. That could have been to do with the BBC version of course, I can't remember after all this time. :)

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5625
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: Electron Elite on disc ?

Postby CMcDougall » Sun Oct 30, 2016 8:48 am

^first ASoft tape version did have bugs for elk, ironed out on the re-release ASoft / SSoft version.

Both those discs are from the re-release tape, so no bugs.
ImageImageImage


Return to “archive requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest