RAM version of Dunjunz

having trouble with an archived file or want to correct something? report it here!
Michael Brown
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham

RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby Michael Brown » Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:56 am

It would appear that mt RAM version of Dunjunz works ok on both BeebEm and b-em with Sideways RAM selected but does not work at all on my real BBC B with Datacentre.

Strangely though, Doctor Who and the Mines of Terror does work on my real BBC so there must be some sideways RAM as such.

Does anyone know which slot I should load Dunjunz into on my real BBC.
I am not that good with this sort of thing so any help would be great as I really would like all my games to run on BeebEm, b-em and my real BBC without having to change things each time.

regards,
Mick.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5623
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby CMcDougall » Tue Jan 07, 2014 9:14 pm

Michael Brown wrote:Does anyone know which slot I should load Dunjunz into on my real BBC

which version Mick?
http://www.stairwaytohell.com/filesearc ... rch=Search
Master, swram & 'none' :?
Here is the tape inlay from the elk version, incase anyone wants to know the keys :)
Attachments
scan0005dunj.jpg
front cov... nice puppies! LOL
scan0006dunj.jpg
back cov
ImageImageImage

Michael Brown
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby Michael Brown » Wed Jan 08, 2014 12:54 pm

Hi Colin,
It will be the SWRAM version that I refer to.

Mick.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5623
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby CMcDougall » Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:39 pm

hi Mick, just had a go, and....
it loads the Levels 22-25 into SWRAM slot1, and Levels 1-21 into slot2

so your actual beeb would need two ram banks, if you have, say slots at 4&5, then change line 270 to read "270B%=3" \:D/ (PAGE=&2500 , LOAD"DUNJUNZ")
you may wonder why #3 :? because shortly after it does a B%=B%+1 (to give 4 then 5)

the Levels are loaded into SWRAM are actually on the RFS system, so *ROM to get into it, and *. to see the files LEVEL1 to 25

noticed the Master version has music during play :shock:
ImageImageImage

User avatar
leenew
Posts: 3408
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby leenew » Wed Jan 08, 2014 11:29 pm

This sideways RAM 101 might help? viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4227

I must get around to learning about sideways RAM as well..... when I get a minute...

Are you sure you have SWR Mick??

Is there a quick way to determine what SWR is fitted, and what banks the beeb is 'seeing' it in??

Lee.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5623
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby CMcDougall » Thu Jan 09, 2014 12:17 am

lee wrote:Is there a quick way to determine what SWR is fitted

the UPURS rom does the trick!
*UPXROM ?
this shows all in banks, and has 'w' next to the swram banks =D> (very handy in an elk!)

....Back on topic.... -Dunjunz

is the beeb keys different to the elk keys? :?
seems I can get one char 'Fighter4' to move with : U,I,G,B & O fire 8)
...Now I can say I have played it!

EDIT: keys found here http://bbc.nvg.org/doc/games/Dunjunz-docs.txt :D
ImageImageImage

User avatar
sweh
Posts: 1847
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby sweh » Thu Jan 09, 2014 2:07 am

leenew wrote:Is there a quick way to determine what SWR is fitted,

Here's some quick code... it assumes a standard FE30 process to switch banks to write to.

Code: Select all

   10 DIM D% 1024
   20 FOR A=0 TO 2 STEP 2
   30 P%=D%
   40 [OPT A
   50 SEI
   60 LDA &F4
   70 PHA
   80 LDX #0
   90 .lp
  100 STX &FE30
  110 LDA &8007
  120 EOR #&AA
  130 STA &8007
  140 CMP &8007
  150 BNE rom
  160 EOR #&AA
  170 STA &8007
  180 LDA #ASC("W")
  190 JSR &FFEE
  200 JMP nxt
  210 .rom
  220 LDA #ASC("r")
  230 JSR &FFEE
  240 .nxt
  250 INX
  260 CPX #16
  270 BNE lp
  280 JSR &FFE7
  290 PLA
  300 STA &FE30
  310 CLI
  320 RTS
  330 ]
  340 NEXT
  350 CALL D%


When you run it it'll say something like

Code: Select all

>RUN
rrrrWWWWWWWWrrrr
>

So banks 0->3 are read-only, banks 4->11 are writeable, banks 12->15 are read-only

It's not elegant and thinks like Flash will confuse it (add a simple delay loop after line 130) but it should work :-)
Rgds
Stephen

User avatar
leenew
Posts: 3408
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby leenew » Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:43 am

Mick, I am at work so can't check, but I would run Sweh's code and make sure you have 2 banks of SWR.
The Dunjunz loader should be universal so I think if should be able to load into any 2 banks. ( again, I can't check) .
I did have a mess around in bed last night 8) and it does seem easy to get the game to load or stop the game from loading in beebem by altering b% like Col said. .....

Michael Brown
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby Michael Brown » Thu Jan 09, 2014 4:24 pm

Hi everyone,
According to my Datacentre info, my BBC should have SWRAM available in slots 11 and 15.

I am now in the process of doing a test disk with an amended SWRAM loader to see if the levels will load into these slots on my BBC and also under emulation so I can submit a universal copy of the game.

Mick.

Michael Brown
Posts: 1898
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby Michael Brown » Thu Jan 09, 2014 5:13 pm

Just checked my BBC and it looks like only bank 11 is FRAM so this may explain why I cannot get Dunjunz to load.
I have noticed that there is no bank 12 mentioned when I do a *ROMS so it may be that I may need to purchase and fit an additional SWRAM chip into that slot in order to make Dunjunz and Holed out work as both games use 2 slots under emulation where Dr Who and the mine of Terror and Exile only use the one.

On that note, does anyone know why both Exile and Dr Who work OK and if they have a pre-destined slot they load into or if they find the available slot?

As you can see, this area is not my strongpoint, but...
thanks anyway,
Mick.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5623
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby CMcDougall » Thu Jan 09, 2014 8:59 pm

Mick wrote:does anyone know why both Exile and Dr Who work OK and if they have a pre-destined slot they load into or if they find the available slot?

they hunt for a swram bank, then they use that, in your case bank 11

best bet would be to get swram into banks 4,5,6,7 like the Master, then the enhanced versions can also be used :P

I have 0 to 7 & E (E always 'open') on my beeb B from BITD, so holed out/'s, crazee rider etc was easy to just change the loader, and force them to work :)
ImageImageImage

User avatar
leenew
Posts: 3408
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby leenew » Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:30 pm

Col,
Can you give us a rundown of what is in the beeb.
Do you have a big ROM board with some SWR on it? or just some SWR in the bottom right sockets under the keyboard?
How much SWR is 0 to 7 plus E?
How do you set it as 'open'?
I am about as in the dark as Mick when it comes to SWR :lol:
I never had any at all BITD.
At the moment I have a standard beeb with the datacentre and one SWR under the keyboard that has an on off switch to it.
I think it is 32K? :D

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5623
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby CMcDougall » Thu Jan 09, 2014 10:15 pm

Hi Lee, my Watford 128k ram/ram board is here :
http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/viewto ... 050#p75959
'open'? one SWR under the keyboard that has an on off switch to it, think it is 32K?

'open' on mine is always 'E', but can change it with the little command in the link above. Maybe should tap MarkRC, if you think yours has 32k, as maybe there is a jumper in the DataC to config it to have 2x16k :?

The switch will probably be to have it 'open/write' to, so can load a pain in the bum rom image (ADI being one, can't mind rest that wipe themselfs), flick switch to 'close/read only' press CTRL-BRK and you have a new 'ROM' loaded.
How much SWR is 0 to 7 plus E?

9 banks x16k = 144k, so I can have 9 rom images loaded....if i really wanted to, or turn it into a SiliconFilingSystem, so can use 128k as a super fast 'blank disc', handy for pain in the bum games that only liked being on 'tape' :x

now, get playing Dunjunz... first time I've spent more than 2mins on it anyways! :lol:
ImageImageImage

User avatar
leenew
Posts: 3408
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire

Re: RAM version of Dunjunz

Postby leenew » Thu Jan 09, 2014 10:24 pm

How come Dunjunz don't work on my beeb then if I have 2 banks of SWR?
Does it load and run on yours Col as it is on Mick 's disc or the one you pointed to in the archive?


Return to “archive issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest