Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

having trouble with an archived file or want to correct something? report it here!
Michael Brown
Posts: 1894
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham

Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby Michael Brown » Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:42 pm

Does anyone know of any games that only work with OS 0.1?

At the moment there are 3 that now come to mind.

1) Martians from Micro Power.
2) Airlift from Bug-Byte.
3) Galactic Intruder from Cosma.

All 3 of these work under B-em with B OS 0.1 selected.
None of them work properly on a real BBC.

Martians does work slightly with a few poke alterations as I did to the version on my disk to make the Martians drop in random areas but they still drop better with OS 0.1

Airlift from Bug-Byte has no keyboard control unless using OS 0.1

Galactic Intruder has graphics problems but works fine using OS 0.1.

The main things are...

1) None of these games seem to mention needing OS 0.1 from the scans of their inlays.
2) None of them mention needing OS 0.1 in their data.
3) Did any of the software houses re-issue these titles later (if they were originally released only for a OS 0.1 computer)?.
4) Is there a simple patch or solution that can be applied to the games to make them work or any pokes that can be changed?

Lastly, Like Tom as done with b-em, can the author(s) of BeebEm add a OS 0.1 option to a later release.

My favourite choice would be for someone (cleverer than me) here to amend the games so they work under OS 1.20 so they will work properly on both BeebEm and b-em and also a real BBC.

Any suggestions?

Mick.

User avatar
Arcadian
Posts: 2797
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2000 12:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby Arcadian » Sun Mar 31, 2013 1:44 pm

> 1) None of these games seem to mention needing OS 0.1 from the scans of their inlays.
> 2) None of them mention needing OS 0.1 in their data.

Could it be perhaps that OS 1.2 wasn't available or even known about at the time of writing/release? ;)
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk

Image
ABug NORTH (Manchester) (19-21 January 2018)
ABug SOUTH (Hampshire) (1-3 June 2018)

Michael Brown
Posts: 1894
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby Michael Brown » Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:38 am

Silly me for not thinking of that one!

Anyone know then, how to amend these titles to work on OS 1.20?

Mick.

jimmy
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 6:37 pm

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby jimmy » Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:36 pm

Where can these games be downloaded from?
I've looked on this page http://www.stairwaytohell.com/bbc/tapeimages.html - but can't find the Cosma game.

User avatar
leenew
Posts: 3396
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:27 pm
Location: Doncaster, Yorkshire

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby leenew » Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:42 pm

Hi,
Richard only upped it a few days ago...

viewtopic.php?f=32&t=6322

User avatar
mjforbes
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:38 pm
Location: Southsea, Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby mjforbes » Fri Apr 05, 2013 5:43 pm

In BeebEm, can you not just edit the ROM config to remove 1.2 and replace it with 0.1 (or any other OS that you can find?)

Just a thought ...

Matt
On the ferry. Again.
"We're happy as fish, as gorgeous as geese, and wonderfully clean in the morning."

User avatar
richardtoohey
Posts: 3378
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:13 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby richardtoohey » Fri Apr 05, 2013 7:53 pm

mjforbes wrote:In BeebEm, can you not just edit the ROM config to remove 1.2 and replace it with 0.1 (or any other OS that you can find?)

Just a thought ...

Matt
On the ferry. Again.
No, not that simple.

See this thread: http://stardot.org.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=6358

I've done a quick hack on Beebem and it does work - but needs to be done properly.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5614
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby CMcDougall » Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:00 pm

^on bEm22, just do >Settings>Model>BBC BwOS0.1, load the Intruder.uef and \:D/
ImageImageImage

User avatar
mjforbes
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 1:38 pm
Location: Southsea, Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby mjforbes » Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:15 pm

richardtoohey wrote:No, not that simple.

See this thread: http://stardot.org.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=6358


Eeep. No idea how I missed that thread, especially it was only last week.

Apols!
"We're happy as fish, as gorgeous as geese, and wonderfully clean in the morning."

jimmy
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 6:37 pm

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby jimmy » Sun Apr 07, 2013 8:11 am

I've had a look at Galactic intruder. I can see 2 immediate problems :

1) The *RUN "" method only works on BASIC I as the code at 0BF0 does the following:

Code: Select all

0BF0  JSR &BE88   ;set TOP
0BF3  JSR &BD2C   ;inside BASIC "RUN" command

These addresses won't work on BASIC II. It could be fixed to work on BASIC II with :

Code: Select all

JSR &BE6F
JSR &BD14
But then this wouldn't work on BASIC IV or I...
Probably better just to save the BASIC program normally.

2) The high score table is all wrong. Looking at the program (PROCedure "CR", line 800+) it looks OK.
The problem seems to be that in MOS 1.20 the PRINT TAB(x,y) command does not move the graphics cursor. (Checked at $C787). In MOS 0.10 it does.
Changing the VDU 17,10,5 statement in line 800 to just VDU 17,10 helps but it's still not right.
I then changed the GCOL 0,6 and GCOL 0,10 statements to CO.6 and CO.10 - but I still can't see the graphics.

I will have another attempt later on today...

User avatar
richardtoohey
Posts: 3378
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:13 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby richardtoohey » Sun Apr 07, 2013 8:51 am

Jimmy, thanks for looking - and the detailed explanations - I did briefly look at the calls from &BF0 but had no idea what I was looking at in the BASIC I ROM - it seemed to be entering routines but no idea what they were doing - so thanks for that.

Re. saving as a normal BASIC program - this was meant to run on a Model A, so there wouldn't have been much memory to play with - if they started at E00 it wouldn't have fitted.

Not sure the game deserves this much attention, but it is interesting nonetheless - so thank you again. =D>

Michael Brown
Posts: 1894
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby Michael Brown » Sun Apr 07, 2013 12:55 pm

It may be that all 3 games just need the pokes changing to a OS 1.20 location (if that is possible) by someone who knows where to look and what to do!

It would be nice if we could get all these games converted to OS 1.20 and leave the originals in tact for OS 0.1 users and the archieve.

thanks
Mick.

jimmy
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 6:37 pm

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby jimmy » Sun Apr 07, 2013 3:31 pm

I've finally got the high-score screen to work under MOS 1.20 with the following:

Code: Select all

800 DEFPROCCR:VDU17,132,12,28,2,27,17,7,17,128,12,26,17,132,17,9:PRINTTAB(6,3);"GALACTIC":VDU17,7:PRINTTAB(6,5);"INTRUDER":RESTORE900:COLOUR128:FORO%=0TO8:READQ1,Q2,Q3,Q4,Q5

801 VDU5,18,0,Q1:MOVE256,736-(O%*64):VDUQ3,8,18,0,Q2,Q4,4:COLOUR6:PRINTTAB(7,9+O%*2);Q5;" Points":NEXT:COLOUR10:COLOUR132:PRINTTAB(5,29);"GOOD LUCK":A=INKEY(1000)

The graphics / sprites are odd as they are two UDGs superimposed on each other - and each has its own colour scheme.

The main game still misbehaves though :(

richardtoohey - the game runs under MODE 2 so it can't be 16K / Model A can it?

Michael Brown - I am always in favour of preserving everything as original, but also fully support patches to fix these kinds of problems. The Spectrum community has the same kind of problems trying to get old programs run on 128K Spectrums.

Michael Brown
Posts: 1894
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby Michael Brown » Sun Apr 07, 2013 3:56 pm

excellent work jimmy!

Normally I get rapped for amending games for emulation, but this is situation where the games need amending to work under OS1.2 under both emulation and on a real BBC, so any alterations to make this game (and the others) work properly under OS 1.2 gets my blessing.

I would normally take a look at this myself, but I am currently doing a load of overtime to pay the credit card bill for my last holiday before I take the next so although I have access to the internet at work to post messages, I do not have access to a BBC or emulator like I used to have so now I only get a few hours a month to check things (as the wife doesn't like me spending time here much!), which is not enough time to get my teeth properly into something like this.

Hopefully, everyone in the community may be able to put together various patches to fix these games.

thanks,
Mick.

User avatar
richardtoohey
Posts: 3378
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:13 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: Games that are for OS 0.1 only (at the moment)

Postby richardtoohey » Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:37 am

jimmy wrote:richardtoohey - the game runs under MODE 2 so it can't be 16K / Model A can it?
Um, um, um ... :oops:

<excuses>
It DOES say model A on the instructions ... screenshot here ...

http://stardot.org.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=6322

I think what I was getting at is that if you work backwards from &3000, then the code needs to start at &BF0.

Mumble, mumble, oh dear.
</excuses>


Return to “archive issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests