Beeb Chess Faulty

having trouble with an archived file or want to correct something? report it here!
Michael Brown
Posts: 1860
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham

Beeb Chess Faulty

Postby Michael Brown » Tue Mar 29, 2016 6:47 pm

I have recently added the inlay instructions to Beeb Chess by Bug-Byte.
I have played the game (which was modified sometime back to work under emulation) due to issues with OS 1.2.
Although the game now plays OK, if you select option 5 to "list moves to screen" after making a move first, the game prints the first move, but then hangs. This only happens after you make a move and doesn't hang if you select option 5 before playing the game.
I have tried the game under both BeebEm and b-em and even loaded a tape image of the hacked disc version into b-em with OS 1.0 selected and it hangs as well.

It may be that something was missed when the game was modified to OS 1.2

Any ideas?

Mick.

Once sorted, I will re-post Disc 060 with the new instructions.

User avatar
richardtoohey
Posts: 3354
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:13 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: Beeb Chess Faulty

Postby richardtoohey » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:29 am

Hi, Mick.

Do you have a version that wasn't ever modified?

i.e. can you try an original version on OS 0.1 and make sure the fault wasn't in the original code?

Or point me in the direction of the unmodified version and I can have a go on b-em.

Michael Brown
Posts: 1860
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham

Re: Beeb Chess Faulty

Postby Michael Brown » Wed Mar 30, 2016 1:12 pm

There is a copy of Chess by Bug-Byte in the STH tape archives.
It is under Chess and not Beeb Chess.

There is also a copy of the cover in the STH archive. It says BBC micro but does not state an OS version.
It could be that the operating requirements were printed on the inside of the inlay.

regards,
Mick.

Michael Brown
Posts: 1860
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham

Re: Beeb Chess Faulty

Postby Michael Brown » Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:02 pm

Loaded the uef from STH into b-em.
Could not get it to load under OS 1.0 but did get it to load under M128.
Pressing 5 revealed that the game correctly displays the moves.
It looks like something may have been missed converting it to OS 1.2 sometime back.

regards,
Mick.

PS loading the uef under OS 1.2 makes a right mess of the game so it does look like this was a OS 1.0 release.

User avatar
richardtoohey
Posts: 3354
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:13 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: Beeb Chess Faulty

Postby richardtoohey » Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:33 am

I'm still struggling to find what version(s) you are using.

There's a UEF here:

http://www.stairwaytohell.com/bbc/archi ... _RUN_B.zip

But I can't find any disc images?

There was this thread back 2011 - is that the version you are talking about/using?

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3991

Thanks.

User avatar
billcarr2005
Posts: 1056
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Beeb Chess Faulty

Postby billcarr2005 » Fri Apr 08, 2016 12:28 pm

richardtoohey wrote:
There was this thread back 2011 - is that the version you are talking about/using?

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3991

Thanks.


Thanks to Richard linking to the old topic above, I realised I'd got this working in some way 5 years ago. :lol:
I found where pressing 5 was leading to and altered LDA &E0 to LDA &70 and now all appears well :)
Attachments
CHESS.zip
CHESS - fixed?
(5.37 KiB) Downloaded 22 times

Michael Brown
Posts: 1860
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham

Re: Beeb Chess Faulty

Postby Michael Brown » Sun Apr 10, 2016 9:06 am

Perfect Bill!
Many thanks!

I will now add the repaired game to my Disc 060 and re-post it.
Also the inlay instructions have now been added for this game (hopefully spelt right?)

regards,
Mick.


Return to “archive issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest