Flip! - Icon

having trouble with an archived file or want to correct something? report it here!
User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5993
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Flip! - Icon

Postby CMcDougall » Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:32 pm

Flip! - Icon

had this on tape BITD from a compilation
tried my tape to disc hack & STH disc
they both 'crash' after you match more four cards, sometimes 10....

when it crashes, the music just goes all funny and the pointer goes away :(

only game my youngest daughter plays for more than 1min :roll:

tried from just disc with all other roms off , same :evil:

Happy 2018 ! :D
ImageImageImage


User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5993
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby CMcDougall » Sun Dec 31, 2017 6:12 pm

^ It does same...

sometimes does it with just 2 cards matched...

works from my tape 'audiogenic' , says 'Icon' on STH
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Pernod
Posts: 1140
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:01 pm
Location: Croydon, UK
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby Pernod » Sun Dec 31, 2017 7:20 pm

I used to really enjoy this game, so try the version from my disc http://stardot.org.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=5234&p=48289#p48287. If it doesn't work then must be a quirk with your setup.
- Nigel

BBC Model B, ATPL Sidewise, Acorn Speech, 2xWatford Floppy Drives, AMX Mouse, Viglen case, BeebZIF, etc.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5993
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby CMcDougall » Sun Dec 31, 2017 8:42 pm

^will give a go, cheers N (works further so far on All Emu's :wink: )
lurkio wrote:Have you tried this?

just tried both on emulator (BeebEm414 1770 2.26DFS &bEm22) before putting to MMC card, to try on that, then actual disc.
both fail in Emu :shock:
I did see Bad Program wizz round before it went away, and REPORT & P.ERL shows nothing on Aud/ReR :?
on Icon version shows Disc Err18 at line10

my tape rip was from the 'Complete BBC - Audiogenic" : viewtopic.php?f=32&t=5023#p66848

what is it with Icon & Audiogenic games lately, being BugEyes :Starman V Zelda :roll:
Attachments
flipDisc013ERR-FlipTheCartoonStrategyGame.jpg
flipDisc013ERR-FlipTheCartoonStrategyGame
FlipDiscA03ERR-FlipReIssue.jpg
FlipDiscA03ERR-FlipReIssue
ImageImageImage

User avatar
lurkio
Posts: 1502
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:30 pm
Location: Doomawangara
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby lurkio » Sun Dec 31, 2017 9:07 pm

lurkio wrote:Have you tried this?:
http://bbcmicro.co.uk/game.php?id=223

That works for me in Windows BeebEm 4.14 in Model B mode with DFS 1.20 (DNFS) and no other ROMs.

Also works in JSBeeb.

:idea:

User avatar
sweh
Posts: 1906
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby sweh » Sun Dec 31, 2017 9:09 pm

My copy from BITD is here: http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/viewto ... lip#p46104 (IIRC, this is one I converted from tape to disc myself, but I could easily be misremembering).

It _seems_ to run in BeebEm, and in my real Beeb.

I remember, even back then, that this was one of those "sensitive" games. Sometimes would crash for no reason, other times would work perfectly. I found it more reliable when run from a cold-boot.
Rgds
Stephen

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5993
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby CMcDougall » Sun Dec 31, 2017 9:16 pm

Pernod wrote:I used to really enjoy this game, so try the version from my disc .

just put it to it's own .SSD, fails to load if Shift-Break to !boot with */-.FLIP
but use */-.FLIP from Basic, it works :-k
sweh wrote:I remember, even back then, that this was one of those "sensitive" games. Sometimes would crash for no reason, other times would work perfectly. I found it more reliable when run from a cold-boot.

Spot on Stephen =D> , sounds about right here too, on BeebEm414

just done 20 matching cards (with Nigel's), then it 'haulted' [-( ](*,)
EDIT2: sweh, haults aswell :|

*maybe* needs a ?&800=&80 in the loader to do a 'cold-boot' like EagleEmpire game...
EDIT1... still does it :-s

below is a save state IF any use... :?:
Attachments
FlipSTUCK.zip
BeebEm414 saveState MusicWonky
(56.83 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
ImageImageImage

User avatar
ctr
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby ctr » Sun Dec 31, 2017 9:51 pm

This is the conversion I did bitd. I was able to complete a game using beebem (and 46 tries :oops:).
Attachments
flip.zip
(9.17 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5993
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby CMcDougall » Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:15 pm

ctr wrote:This is the conversion I did bitd

:^o it says 2011 CTR in the !Boot :-s
weird, it crashed on mine after 8 cards :x

maybe this never worked properly BITD 1985, and it was just a fluke that it 'sometimes' worked from tape :-k
ImageImageImage

User avatar
ctr
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby ctr » Tue Jan 02, 2018 5:27 pm

CMcDougall wrote:
ctr wrote:This is the conversion I did bitd

:^o it says 2011 CTR in the !Boot :-s


Caught red-handed! I did the disk conversion back in the 80s with multiple games per disk. In 2004 I transferred all the disks to ssd files and in 2011 I rearranged them with one ssd per game, but whatever butchery I did to the games themselves is unchanged. I used the same boot file for all the new ssds and that was new in 2011.

But back to Flip! I just played through another single player game and it worked fine though I've never tried a two player game. I don't know what's up.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5993
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby CMcDougall » Tue Jan 02, 2018 6:53 pm

^Maybe you have hit the nail on the head, as BITD (1986ish :wink: ) I always played with myself... :shock: :lol:

Recently after my daughter finished Grannys Garden 8) she then found Flip! , so have been using the two player version of it, & hence the music wonky freezing :x

So, maybe the single player is more reliable, so when it asks for 2nd name entry press Return (says practice at bottom) & that *should* make it work...

cheers!!
ImageImageImage

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5993
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby CMcDougall » Wed Jan 03, 2018 11:05 pm

me wrote:maybe the single player is more reliable

still fails :-&
Attachments
flipCrash.jpg
ImageImageImage

User avatar
vanekp
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2000 7:09 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby vanekp » Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:54 am

Odd as as I played it the other day to completion on Beebem with no problems, it was with the tape version of the game.
Last edited by vanekp on Wed Jan 10, 2018 9:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
ctr
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2014 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby ctr » Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:01 pm

CMcDougall wrote:just tried both on emulator (BeebEm414 1770 2.26DFS &bEm22)

I hadn't noticed this detail previously. I'm using beebem with the 8271 and DFS 1.20.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5993
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby CMcDougall » Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:31 pm

my daughter had another go today, straight on from cold switch on,
using one player, & when two match, use full length of guess, ie "ABCDE" not just "Z"
and, she completed it :D
Attachments
pears.jpg
guess : PEARS
ImageImageImage

Michael Brown
Posts: 1981
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby Michael Brown » Mon Jan 22, 2018 4:50 pm

Ran my copy of Flip, the Icon original from Disc013.
Ran the game from cold start.
Had no extra chips like Disc Doctor or Exmon II running.

Set it up for 1 player game with normal and user words.
Selected a 1 letter word "M".
Went to guess wrong on purpose and put in "A" on its own and it crashed.
Found that it was OK if you guess a single letter word right, but crashed if your guess was a single letter word and was wrong.

Found that you can press ESCAPE and start again.

I had a brief look through the code and I could not find any obvious routines to break the game.

I did run it under BeebEm14 with DFS1.20
Also loaded the Audiogenic tape copy in from cold and the same thing happened there too.

Anyone else got any ideas?

Mick.

Michael Brown
Posts: 1981
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby Michael Brown » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:43 pm

Using Exmon II, found the following

In 1 player mode...
Typing the word as WORDA
this gets stored at &45 and &4F
the &45 word gets scrambled if you select scrambled.

In 2 player mode...
Typing word1 as WORDA
this gets stored at &4A and &54
the &4A word gets scrambled if you select that option.
and word2 as LINEB
this gets stored at &45 and &4F
the &45 word gets scrambled if you select that option.

One interesting thing here is that the 1 player word gets stored at &45 and &4F, but gets stored at &4A &4B in 2 player mode.

Also if you type a single letter word such as "A", then it is stored at &45 and &4F etc followed by four &20s for the four blank spaces, so that doesn't look like it is causing any problem as that seems the correct thing to do.

I will look again soon.
Mick.

Michael Brown
Posts: 1981
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:54 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Flip! - Icon

Postby Michael Brown » Wed Jan 24, 2018 9:19 am

Taken another look today.
This time under Bem, just in case it was a emulator thing.
However, in 1 player mode and using a word with just 1 letter, it crashed.
It also crashed under 1 letter with scrambled selected as well.

Reloaded BeebEm and Exmon II.

In the FLIP2 file after downloading I found the following code...

A96 LDX#&04
A98 LDA&4F,X
A9A STA&54,X
A9C LDA&45,X
A9E STA&4A,X

It looks like this may be what moved the text (from player 1 mode) at &45 (scrambled) and &4F to &4A (scrambled) and &54 (where it is stored in 2 player mode).

Also found code...

B10 LDX#&04
B12 LDA&3C,X
B14 STA&4F,X

The guessed word is stored at &3C when inputted.

Also your names are stored at...
&1795 (player 1's name)
&179D (player 2's name)

Also...
code for "NO WAY SUCKER" at &1735
code for "OK PUNK" at &1749

Anyone else want to have a look?