Castle Raider now available

new games to be launched and discussed here
User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 3631
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby daveejhitchins » Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:10 am

David, is Castle Raider a candidate for the MGC?

It would need to fit-in-to 16K or 32K. Preferably 16K, then it can be run from the ROM FS. If it needs 32K then there is a mechanism for the ROM FS, however, the ABR Utility doesn't support it. Although there are cartridge games that do so many we find out how to do it from them. A custom loader is also an option!

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

User avatar
davidb
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby davidb » Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:34 am

It could probably be made to fit into 16K, though I'd really like to tweak it a bit to perhaps include the character selection screen, in which case it might have to be 32K.

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 3631
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby daveejhitchins » Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:56 am

davidb wrote:It could probably be made to fit into 16K, though I'd really like to tweak it a bit to perhaps include the character selection screen, in which case it might have to be 32K.
:D [-o< =D> :D <- That's a BIG PLEASE in any language . . .

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

User avatar
davidb
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby davidb » Sat Mar 14, 2015 10:53 pm

Well, in the worst case scenario, a snapshot of the current game could be taken and put in a ROM because the code and data are, I think, a good few K less than 12K - the screen memory used is 20K. So, we'll see what can be done. I'll have to get back "into the zone" before I can do anything. :)

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 3631
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby daveejhitchins » Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:26 am

Could a 'simple' compression scheme work for the screen memory? Maybe this would be the answer for other games too!

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

User avatar
davidb
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby davidb » Sun Mar 15, 2015 4:54 pm

I meant that, since the game needs to use 20K of memory at run-time for the two screen banks, the code, data and sprites should all fit into 12K, so I won't need more than a 16K ROM. It all runs in MODE 5, if that makes a difference.

As for compressing other games into 16K ROMs, it may work for some games if they're not too much more than 16K to start with. I'm not too familiar with the decompression routines available for the 6502.

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 1823
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby tricky » Sun Mar 15, 2015 6:13 pm

RichTw describes the one he used for tape loading which seems small, fast and efficient.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5540
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby CMcDougall » Sun Mar 15, 2015 11:15 pm

^if you mean this:
http://www.retrosoftware.co.uk/forum/vi ... ding#p4693
then I can't get it to load on a real beeb, only see's 2nd block, then nothing :(

nice game though DavidB =D> =D> =D>
ImageImageImage

User avatar
Rich Talbot-Watkins
Posts: 1090
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 5:20 pm
Location: Palma, Mallorca

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby Rich Talbot-Watkins » Mon Mar 16, 2015 9:06 pm

Yeah I screwed up somewhere when generating that UEF. I think it works OK if you "Rewind Tape" in the emulator before running it.

User avatar
davidb
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby davidb » Thu Mar 19, 2015 8:52 pm

Thanks, Colin! :D

I've done a little experiment and transplanted my videos to their own page on the Internet Archive. I may well do the same for the Jungle Journey playthrough and subsequent videos.

User avatar
tricky
Posts: 1823
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby tricky » Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:18 pm

Great video, but didn't you miss the crown :lol:

User avatar
davidb
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby davidb » Thu Mar 19, 2015 11:31 pm

Yes. :lol: I was in a hurry to finish filming. Someone else can film a version in which they collect both the treasures. :D

User avatar
davidb
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby davidb » Mon May 18, 2015 3:41 pm

Just re-reading this thread, I should point out that the missing monster glitch can also strike when you're traversing the wasteland level from right to left. I thought I'd mention it before someone else does. ;)

User avatar
davidb
Posts: 1832
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Castle Raider now available

Postby davidb » Fri Oct 23, 2015 7:28 pm

I've made a "permanent" version of the Castle Raider site so that people can download the various versions of the game if they want.

Have fun! :D


Return to “software: new games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest