Atomic Joe Blade

new games to be launched and discussed here
User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Atomic Joe Blade

Postby oss003 » Sun Feb 02, 2014 3:50 pm

Hi guys,

I just want to announce another new Acorn Atom conversion ..........

----====[ JOE BLADE!! ]====----

The original Acorn Electron version is converted for the Atom. This game has great graphics, 128 screens and 6 puzzles to solve. It's a nice little game.

I'll upload it soon to the RetroSoftware site, as soon as Samwise added a page .... :wink:
You can already preview the video at:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZF20Lc778Lo

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 6391
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby hoglet » Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:11 pm

Hi Kees,

I was wonder what you were up to as you have been so quiet recently. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Dave

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby oss003 » Sun Feb 02, 2014 4:18 pm

hoglet wrote:Hi Kees,

I was wonder what you were up to as you have been so quiet recently. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Dave
Yep, this proves I'm a real man ........ I can't do 2 things at the same time :lol:

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby oss003 » Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:45 pm

Can anyone confirm if the Youtube video is ok?

Sometimes when I call Youtube, it's blurry and sometimes it's ok??
Anyone knows why?

It is an AVI file.

Greetings
Kees

Prime
Posts: 2301
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby Prime » Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:50 pm

oss003 wrote:Can anyone confirm if the Youtube video is ok?

Sometimes when I call Youtube, it's blurry and sometimes it's ok??
Anyone knows why?


Looks fine to me Kees, running on Windows 7 & Firefox 26.0.

Cheers.

Phill.

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5540
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby CMcDougall » Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:52 pm

=D> =D> =D>

Great work again Kees 8)

PS the Atom master tapes are in the post to DaveM
PPS that means I have to make another #-o :lol:
ImageImageImage

User avatar
jms2
Posts: 1811
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 6:38 am
Location: Derby, UK

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby jms2 » Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:38 pm

Awesome work as ever Kees, well done!

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1183
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby Multiwizard » Mon Feb 03, 2014 6:40 pm

Looks great Kees, nice job =D> , can´t wait to play it on my real Atom... :D

User avatar
Dave Footitt
Posts: 773
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:31 am
Location: Abandoned Uranium Workings

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby Dave Footitt » Tue Feb 04, 2014 9:29 am

Great stuff Kees :)

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5148
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby danielj » Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:12 am

oss003 wrote:Can anyone confirm if the Youtube video is ok?

Sometimes when I call Youtube, it's blurry and sometimes it's ok??
Anyone knows why?


Looks fine to me too - it's probably your bandwidth on your internet connection.


d.

User avatar
sPhilMainwaring
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:57 pm
Location: Mid Wales
Contact:

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby sPhilMainwaring » Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:10 am

Hi Kees

I'm not familiar with this game but it looks good :)

As always very impressive =D>

Would you say that Atomic Elite (Phase 8 ) means that it is all done or are there still things to do / niggles?

Greetings

Phil

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby oss003 » Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:20 am

Hi Phil,

ok, you got me ..... you spotted my weak point ....... finishing things :oops:

The biggest (and only) thing to do is adding sound.
I did a little bit of testing a while ago but that didn't work and I stopped working on it. Have to pick it up sometime and finish it :wink:

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
sPhilMainwaring
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:57 pm
Location: Mid Wales
Contact:

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby sPhilMainwaring » Tue Feb 04, 2014 11:52 am

Hi Kees

I wouldn't think finishing things is your weak spot at all ... but then again I have things still unfinished after 20 plus years :/

The reason I asked was that it looks perfect in the phase 8 video ... I had noticed there was no sound but just assumed you didn't have sound "mic-ed up" for the YouTube video although I should have realised as the SID tune can be heard at the start of the video

Is there a tiny bit of space left for sound ... I seem to remember you have an interrupt / via driven sound in Atomic Chuckie Egg ?

I'll be meeting Sophie Wilson at Bletchley Park next week (Thursday) ... I'll have to ask her if she knows about / show her Atomic Chuckie Egg and Atomic Elite on the laptop :P

Greetings

Phil

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby oss003 » Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:26 pm

sPhilMainwaring wrote:Is there a tiny bit of space left for sound ... I seem to remember you have an interrupt / via driven sound in Atomic Chuckie Egg ?
Tiny bit of space ...... there's about 6 kB of RAM left. You're talking about The Atom, you know!! :wink:
I'll be meeting Sophie Wilson at Bletchley Park next week (Thursday) ... I'll have to ask her if she knows about / show her Atomic Chuckie Egg and Atomic Elite on the laptop :P
That would be nice, I did also send some mails to David Braben to have a look at the Youtube video's just out of curiousity but I did not get any respons :(

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
sPhilMainwaring
Posts: 239
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 7:57 pm
Location: Mid Wales
Contact:

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby sPhilMainwaring » Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:40 pm

oss003 wrote:Tiny bit of space ...... there's about 6 kB of RAM left. You're talking about The Atom, you know!! :wink:


Yes ... but I meant the system RAM, not the screen RAM :p

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby oss003 » Tue Feb 04, 2014 12:44 pm

sPhilMainwaring wrote:Yes ... but I meant the system RAM, not the screen RAM :p
Me too ..... :)

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
GroovyBee
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:24 am
Location: North, England

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby GroovyBee » Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:36 pm

Cool! Looks good!

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby oss003 » Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:48 pm

Hi guys,

Added joystick support and shortened the guard die-time by 3/4.

I found the C64 version which has SID music and FX sounds.
I'll have a look to see if I can implement the SID music/FX sounds.

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 6391
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby hoglet » Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:10 am

Just been playing this instead of getting ready to go to work :lol:

At 2x speed it's really awesome!

Here's a link to a map, which looks identical to the electron version:
ftp://ftp.worldofspectrum.org/pub/sincl ... lade_2.png

Well done Kees for an amazing conversion. =D> =D> =D> =D> =D>

Dave

User avatar
TheCorfiot
Posts: 646
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 5:22 pm

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby TheCorfiot » Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:26 am

That is an amazing piece of work.

Nice one Kees =D>

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5540
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby CMcDougall » Sun Feb 16, 2014 3:13 pm

Hi Kees,

Just wondered if you have made a .Wave of this yet? as I don't think I can make it myself on my Atom, as mine has 28k, as 4k missing for the space for the Disc Pack/DOS rom.
Then can get this onto a actual tape for more RetroSoft titles..... (why did I say yes to this #-o :lol: )

Cheers, Col.
ImageImageImage

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby oss003 » Sun Feb 16, 2014 3:28 pm

CMcDougall wrote:Hi Kees,

Just wondered if you have made a .Wave of this yet? as I don't think I can make it myself on my Atom, as mine has 28k, as 4k missing for the space for the Disc Pack/DOS rom.
Then can get this onto a actual tape for more RetroSoft titles..... (why did I say yes to this #-o :lol: )

Cheers, Col.
Hi Colin,

Not yet, but I'll make the usual .DSK, .TAP, .WAV, .CSW and .UEF images and upload them to the RetroSoftware site as soon as the Joe Blade page is available .... :wink:

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Atomic Joe Blade

Postby oss003 » Sun Aug 03, 2014 1:26 pm

Hi guys,

The Joe Blade page is finished at the Retrosoftware site (with download):

http://www.retrosoftware.co.uk/wiki/index.php/JoeBlade

Greetings
Kees


Return to “software: new games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest