BeeGOL - Beeb Game Oriented Language

Got a programming project in mind? Tell everyone about it!
sydney

BeeGOL - Beeb Game Oriented Language

Postby sydney » Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:49 pm

A while back Tricky posted about a sprite display routine which can be used from BBC Basic. Discussion moved on and AGD on the spectrum was mentioned, even the creator of AGD contributed, and seemed to come to an end with me writing:

sydney wrote:I'd thought about doing something like this last year but decided not to as I'm a bit of a novice myself. However, with some guidance from both Jonathan and Richard maybe it'd be doable.

The idea I had last year was inspired by reading some articles about writing a compiler and I thought I'd be able to follow the articles and produce something for the beeb that would give a subset of BASIC with easy access to some fast sprite plotting routines. In the end I read two or three of the articles then went ahead and started so - as usual with me - its a bit of a bodge job.

I'm writing it in C as, at first, it's going to be a cross compiler where code is written and compiled on a pc then transferred and ran on a beeb. My C skills are pretty limited as I've not touched it in over 15 years and even then my only experience of it was college and Uni courses. Don't expect nice structured tidily formatted code.

How it works
The source code is read a line at a time and converted to beebasm compatible assembly language. Three files are needed at the assembly stage, acornconstants.asm, the .asm file produced by the compiler and the .sub file produced by the compiler. The asm file contains the main program and any variables, strings and other data. The sub file contains subroutines for any commands used in the program. Subroutines will only be added here if the command is used in the program so as to keep the code as small as possible .

What I've done so far:

Not much!
At the moment the following commands can be compilied: