Optimal co-pro config and speed for Elite

post your own high scores or enter our challenge competitions
User avatar
trixster
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Optimal co-pro config and speed for Elite

Postby trixster » Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:13 pm

A 3mhz core for the RPi would be ideal!

hoglet wrote:(crossed posts with Ed....)
sydney wrote:Was the original 6502 second processor 3 mhz? If so 4mhz is 33% faster and it may be giving the pirates the upper hand.

The cheese wedge 65C02 Co Pro was 3MHz.

The Master Turbo 65C102 Co Pro was 4MHz.

Are you using the Matchbox Co Pro? At the moment that's running at 4, 8, 16 or 32 MHz. We have a new version in the works that uses a different core and does 4, 8, 16 and 64MHz. I'm wondering whether a different mix of speeds might be useful, e.g. 3, 4, 8 and 64 MHz.

What does everyone else think?

Dave
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 6604
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby hoglet » Sat Sep 17, 2016 3:02 pm

trixster wrote:A 3mhz core for the RPi would be ideal!

You can slow it down a bit more by increasing the constant on this line:

Code: Select all

waste_time:
        mov     r0, #776                  // 776=4MHz on a Pi 3
waste_time_loop:
        subs    r0, r0, #1
        bne     waste_time_loop

https://github.com/hoglet67/PiTubeDirec ... asm.S#L734

I would guess a value of about 1050 would slow things down to 3MHz.

Dave

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby trixster » Sat Sep 17, 2016 6:39 pm

Hi Dave, changing that file to:

Code: Select all

waste_time:
        mov     r0, #1050                  // 776=4MHz on a Pi 3
waste_time_loop:
        subs    r0, r0, #1
        bne     waste_time_loop


throws up the following error:

Code: Select all

[ 46%] Building ASM object CMakeFiles/tube-client.dir/copro-65tubeasm.S.obj
/home/pi/PiTubeDirect/src/copro-65tubeasm.S: Assembler messages:
/home/pi/PiTubeDirect/src/copro-65tubeasm.S:734: Error: invalid constant (41a) after fixup
CMakeFiles/tube-client.dir/build.make:429: recipe for target 'CMakeFiles/tube-client.dir/copro-65tubeasm.S.obj' failed
make[2]: *** [CMakeFiles/tube-client.dir/copro-65tubeasm.S.obj] Error 1
CMakeFiles/Makefile2:60: recipe for target 'CMakeFiles/tube-client.dir/all' failed
make[1]: *** [CMakeFiles/tube-client.dir/all] Error 2
Makefile:76: recipe for target 'all' failed
make: *** [all] Error 2

i guess I'm doing something wrong? Permissions etc have not been changed.

Andy
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

User avatar
BigEd
Posts: 1482
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:24 am
Location: West
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby BigEd » Sat Sep 17, 2016 6:43 pm

Maybe 1048 will do it? Constants on ARM are limited in a clever way.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby trixster » Sat Sep 17, 2016 6:52 pm

I'm afraid 1048 throws up a similar error. going back to 776 works fine.
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

User avatar
BigEd
Posts: 1482
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:24 am
Location: West
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby BigEd » Sat Sep 17, 2016 6:57 pm

Oops. 1056 should work. Or, it might. I no longer trust myself.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby trixster » Sat Sep 17, 2016 7:03 pm

Well I trust you - 1056 works. Just running the timing program and it returns a combined average of 3.06mhz!
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

User avatar
BigEd
Posts: 1482
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:24 am
Location: West
Contact:

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby BigEd » Sat Sep 17, 2016 7:21 pm

Very nice - it was Dave wot done it.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby trixster » Sat Sep 17, 2016 7:42 pm

The game handles better now - there's more obvious slowdown but combat is less 'fly-away' and it plays more like the Beeb original.
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 6604
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby hoglet » Sat Sep 17, 2016 7:56 pm

Well done Guys =D> =D> =D> =D> =D>

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 670
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby Lardo Boffin » Sun Sep 18, 2016 2:30 pm

Edit -I think this should have been in the main 'Quest to become Elite' thread.

At the risk of being controversial I run my matchbox co-proc at 8mhz for Elite.

I find that on the quiet runs you do to get cash you can do these significantly quicker at this speed (especially if you use the camera that is pointing out at empty space - e.g. rear view when flying towards the planet) thus building up the credits quickly. In my defence I don't get a lot of time to play Elite and therefore have to maximise the time available.

As far as combat goes you have to adjust your tactics:-

Anarchy planets are a no go. Certainly not with my reaction speeds anyway! If you have to go there slow down the co proc.

Use missiles - they are cheap and can save a lot of trouble.

If you see a Fer De Lance concentrate on it or leave quickly. They are a nightmare at this speed. And have ECM I believe.

Always have a missile armed and ready. If nothing else you can use the beep when it gets a target to know when to shoot at a distance.

When looking for a fight jump forward but at zero speed. That way you get a few seconds when enemy appear to blast them. You can typically get 2 or 3 straight off.

I look for fights at the fundal planet I mentioned in an earlier post. Plenty of pirates but rarely a load in one go.

Be ready to leave (have the next planet lined up ready to jump to).

Use you energy bomb when necssary. I believe you don't get kills from this but if you have racked up a load it is better than dying!

Use your escape pod where necessary as above. Credits are easier to come by than kills! Especially when flying quiet missions quicker.

If you see thargroids leg it. You will have your 'iron ass' handed to you in a pile of smouldering rubble.

Lardo
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, matchbox co-proc, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc, Acorn 6502 coproc


Return to “software: games - high scores”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest