Quest to become ELITE!

post your own high scores or enter our challenge competitions
User avatar
richardtoohey
Posts: 3378
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:13 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby richardtoohey » Fri Sep 16, 2016 5:16 am

By the time I get to join in, you'll be Elite. =D>

Is there a scan anywhere of The Micro User Elite supplement? Not sure if was of any use, just remember the pullout (?) supplement and spotted it in a pile of my BITD Beeb stuff ... somewhere. Might just have been a cut-out rather than a real supplement so 8bs have probably got it as a magazine scan somewhere.

User avatar
sydney
Posts: 1987
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 9:09 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby sydney » Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:24 am

The elite suppliment is in the magazine pdf on 8bs but it seems to be down right now. I've uploaded my copy to my dropbox but it might take a while to upload.
micro user
EDIT: it's currently claiming 18 minutes left so don't bother trying to download it until after 9am UK time.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 527
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby trixster » Fri Sep 16, 2016 1:16 pm

I still have an original copy of that Micro User part 1 supplement in my dad's old tape version of Elite.
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

User avatar
sydney
Posts: 1987
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 9:09 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby sydney » Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:10 pm

Not much to report from my past couple of sessions. I decided to strike out and explore whilst looking for a decent trade route. I headed down towards the centre of galaxy 2 through Errius, Xeabiti, Quaen to Onenla. I then went back and forth a few times between Onenla and Beanen and made around 1500 credits per round trip! After a while I decided that since Beanen was a Feudal system it might be interesting to engage in a bit of bounty hunting so launched from the station and headed off towards the star. It was a disappointingly quiet! I spent 20 minutes or so looking for some prey but not much came my way so I headed back to the station and sold off my captured cargo which gave me a tidy profit of 600 credits.

Progress update:
Commander Sydney
System: Gema
Credits: 15133.7 (DOUBLED!)
Legal Status: Clean
Rating: Dangerous
Kills: 863 +57

Just before the end of the final session I felt like testing out the Master 128 version again so loaded it up with commander Sydney and jumped to a nearby anarchy system called Gema and waited to be attacked. There was plenty of action here but it was a lot easier than the tube version, I shot up a group of 4 pirates while they were barely visible! For the first time in my quest I docked in an anarchy system!

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby Lardo Boffin » Fri Sep 16, 2016 8:17 pm

Hi Sydney

I find that if you 'jump' away from the station after exiting the safe zone you are often beset by pirates. Just flying doesn't seem to attract them so much.

I also found that accidentally running the coproc at 16 is a bad thing!... As is having a beer or two before flying. They warn you about drink driving but does anyone tell you about the effect it has on your ability to pilot a cobra mk 3? No they don't! Yesterday I had 1081 kills. Today I only have 1086 and have switched it off...

Lardo
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, matchbox co-proc, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc, Acorn 6502 coproc

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 527
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby trixster » Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:22 pm

I've had a chance to play some Elite today so i've started making my way across to Reesdice to begin the first mission. A few more jumps and i'll be there.

Progress update:
Commander Andy
System: Zadies
Credits: 8725.3
Legal Status: Clean
Rating: Competent
Kills: 326
Ship fully tricked out

The 4mhz tube elite version is certainly a lot more difficult than the old stock beeb version!
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby Lardo Boffin » Mon Sep 19, 2016 9:51 pm

Does anyone know for certain whether energy bomb kills count as kills towards Elite status? I have read somewhere that they don't but a quick (and unethical) experiment suggests that they do. I am running the Executive Edition (which came with my datacentre HD).
My experiment was to launch, shoot the space station a bit and then wait until a load of vipers launched, energy bomb, dock (well, press escape anyway), save and compare the number of kills. The count went up by 7 which was about the number of dots on the radar.

Lardo
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, matchbox co-proc, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc, Acorn 6502 coproc

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby Lardo Boffin » Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:19 pm

1290 kills and the second mission started. I won't post any details as I don't want to spoil Sydneys fun and surprises!

Lardo
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, matchbox co-proc, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc, Acorn 6502 coproc

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby Lardo Boffin » Sat Sep 24, 2016 9:16 pm

1437 kills and my voltmace joystick just died on me. When plugged in it now just spins me around endlessly.
When I waggle the wire it stops but then fire doesn't work. I guess the cable has had it.

Just tried playing with the keyboard (which I used to be quite good at never having had a joystick for the Beeb before). Argh it's impossible! So much more difficult!

I guess that's me stopped unless I can fix the voltmace or buy another one!

Lardo
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, matchbox co-proc, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc, Acorn 6502 coproc

paulb
Posts: 784
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby paulb » Sat Sep 24, 2016 10:31 pm

Lardo Boffin wrote:I guess that's me stopped unless I can fix the voltmace or buy another one!


It wouldn't be Stardot if every thread didn't ultimately become a repair thread. :wink:

User avatar
ask_nz
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby ask_nz » Sat Sep 24, 2016 11:30 pm

A Bitstick's the answer - nothing quite as good as a Bitstick for playing Elite in my opinion. The joystick potentiometer controls speed - it's great.

Ade
Ade

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby Lardo Boffin » Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:50 am

ask_nz wrote:A Bitstick's the answer - nothing quite as good as a Bitstick for playing Elite in my opinion. The joystick potentiometer controls speed - it's great.

Ade


I did buy a Bitstik for playing Elite but eventually got rid. I didn't really get on with it!

It was brilliant for flying but it clashed with the docking computers - if I came in to the station at half speed for example and engaged the docking computer it didn't take control fully and crashed into the space station. It was almost like the twist speed control took priority.

I also got irritated by the dead spot in the middle of travel in the navigation chart - on mine you had to move it a fair way before the cursor moved and by then it was moving too fast to control and select the correct planet. Another star dotter had the same issues as me with the 'dead spot'.

But my main concern was breaking it while vigorously fighting off pirates!

Lardo
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, matchbox co-proc, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc, Acorn 6502 coproc

User avatar
sydney
Posts: 1987
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 9:09 am
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby sydney » Sun Sep 25, 2016 1:20 pm

It's been a while since my last update and I can't go into much detail as I've lost some notes!
I meandered around Galaxy 2 for a while looking for a nice trade route but none could be found so I decided that a jump to Galaxy 3 was in order. Mission 2 depends on you being in Galaxy 3 when you reach 1280 (&0500 - halfway to Deadly, I think) kills so now seems to be a sensible time to get there.
I've not done much in G3 other than trade. I found a Poor Agricultural Feudal system called Anreer with a Rich Industrial Confedaracy called Bezaed only 6 ly apart and have been travelling between the two increasing my bank balance and kill balance as I go. Anreer is relatively safe if you hyperspace in and head straight for the space station. You'll get jumped by the occaisional group of 3 pirates twice per trip but they are no match for a decent Cobra pilot. If you head off the beaten track things are very different and you'll be constantly harassed by hordes of pirates - almost as bad as an anarchy! I've found that a jump towards a planet is about half the distance covered than a jump away from a planet so if you jump away three times it will take six jumps to get you back to the planet! A couple of times I've launched and gone looking for a fight and my tactic is to jump away once then jump back twice and repeat. This ensures I don't end up too far from the safety of the space station.
I've noticed that Gold, Platinum and Gem Stones seem to be cheaper at poor systems than rich so I've started trading them too. Piracy can be MUCH more profitable - per trip - than trading but you could spend hours destroying enough ships to fill your hold. A quick 15 minute test showed I scored 17 kills but only captured 4 tonnes of booty!

Progress update:
Commander Sydney
Galaxy: 3
System: Anreer
Credits: 23385.4
Legal Status: Clean
Rating: Dangerous
Kills: 989 +126

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby Lardo Boffin » Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:42 pm

paulb wrote:
Lardo Boffin wrote:I guess that's me stopped unless I can fix the voltmace or buy another one!


It wouldn't be Stardot if every thread didn't ultimately become a repair thread. :wink:


More of a botch than a repair. I took it apart and working on the assumption that the wire at the point where it entered the box was at fault I moved the wire further in so the weak spot was insulated from my pirate dodging gyrations.
Amazingly it seems to have worked!

For how long remains to be seen.

Lardo
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, matchbox co-proc, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc, Acorn 6502 coproc

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 527
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby trixster » Mon Sep 26, 2016 7:59 pm

I've just finished the first mission. The Constrictor went down pretty easily really - I softened him up and then finished him off with a missile which he failed to ECM in time. I'm now dangerous and thinking what to do next. Kills is hovering around 1000ish.
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

User avatar
Lardo Boffin
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:47 am

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby Lardo Boffin » Tue Sep 27, 2016 8:41 pm

1841 kills and mission two complete. Only around 4.5k more kills to get I guess!

Lardo
BBC model B 32k issue 4, 16k sideways RAM, Watford 12 ROM board, Retroclinic Datacentre + HDD, matchbox co-proc, Viglen twin 40/80 5.25" discs, acorn cassette
BBC model B 32k issue 7, turboMMC, Opus Challenger 3 512k, Pi 3 coproc, Acorn 6502 coproc

ThomasHarte
Posts: 367
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2000 5:56 pm

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby ThomasHarte » Wed Sep 28, 2016 1:25 pm

Lardo Boffin wrote:1841 kills and mission two complete. Only around 4.5k more kills to get I guess!

Lardo

Time to start forcing some hyperspace misjumps?

User avatar
richardtoohey
Posts: 3378
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 5:13 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby richardtoohey » Sun Oct 16, 2016 4:04 am

Just had a quick blast ... but the Atari ST version :oops: (Trying to find something to run Oids and got side-tracked.)

Amazing how many of the keys just slid under my fingers as the old grey cells remembered (T target M missile fire etc.)

That didn't help me lining up my first space station docking properly ... :-({|= :-? :lol:

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 527
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby trixster » Thu Oct 27, 2016 12:29 pm

I've not had chance to play much tube elite recently but I did manage to add another version of it to my collection.

IMG_3331.JPG


I'm no where near getting a full set (and never will) but I'm going to keep looking for a decent BBC 5 1/4 disk version and a master compact one too. I'd like to get hold of the c64 disk version as well at some point but they're not cheap.
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

User avatar
topcat96
Posts: 121
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:17 am
Location: Somewhere wonderful!

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby topcat96 » Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:51 pm

Getting there ... slowly but surely! Real life keeps interfering with my quality game playing time #-o

Current Elite status is in my signature below.
Image

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 527
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby trixster » Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:48 am

Arrgh! I thought I'd boot up TubeElite this morning for a quick blast but it seems like the disk file on my mmc with my Elite save has become corrupt somehow. When I try and cat the disc the machine seems to stop. All progress seemingly lost :(

Is there a way to fix the ssd or salvage data from it?
IMG_6356.JPG
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 527
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Quest to become ELITE!

Postby trixster » Sun Nov 05, 2017 12:30 pm

Luckily I've found a backup of my bootmmc file from august so all is ok, phew!
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD


Return to “software: games - high scores”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests