Alright.. who's got an Intertech Superbrain?

Talk about non-Acorn classic computers/hardware/software here (including retro consoles)
User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1587
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: Alright.. who's got an Intertech Superbrain?

Postby DutchAcorn » Wed May 04, 2016 11:04 am

There's a Superbrain for sale on Dutch Marktplaats. It's a version without integrated disc drives. To compensate it has an external dual 8" disc drive unit :shock:

Is the Superbrain enough fun to justify the space it needs?

The seller posted a video of it's current operational state.
Paul

StephenM
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: Alright.. who's got an Intertech Superbrain?

Postby StephenM » Tue Jun 28, 2016 5:07 pm

richard_g wrote:Yep both are QD.

A little more on the boards from the 'Superletter - Serving SuperBrain® Owners and Users Around the World', April/May 1981 - new products:

MICROAGE CONSULTANTS
53, Acton Road, Long Eaton
Nottingham NGI0 IFR
England
(06076) 64264
Contact: Andrew Billson
HARDWARE: SUPERBIOS is a
strong product from these English
SuperBrain experts. It contains a
real-time clock, XON/XOFF or
ETX/ACK protocols, repeat and
type-ahead keyboard functions,
compatible with their own designed
8" hard-disk system with the
Decitek 8000/S. Also, the product
makes W ordstar workable.
S UPERVID is a product of their
MicroMod division. It permits dim
video, reverse video, blinking and
underline, line drawing and graphics,
lower-case descended, attributes
mixed on the screen and three alternative
character ROM sockets so
that you can use chess symbols,
APL, etc. Distribution of their products
will be handled by special
dealers on both American coasts.
They'll be introducing a new
INTERFACE CARD for Seagate
Technology'S ST-506 5" Winchester
Disk providing 5 Meg storage inside
the cabinet.


I'll make a copy of the standard ROM (It has the Intertec label on it so should be original) and the MM SuperBios.

Meh - no Winchester disk interface unfortunately.



Hello Richard,
I wouldn't suppose you have copies of the EPROM'S that work to hand as I'm restoring a Superbrain QD at the moment. I rewired the board to take INTEL EPROM's instead of the installed Texas Instruments type with a ZIF socket for easy access. Here is a link to where I am with mine.

https://goo.gl/photos/Hr5WYYmuXBXXyP8j6

Best regards
Stephen

User avatar
jonb
Posts: 2049
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: South Coast of England

Re: Alright.. who's got an Intertech Superbrain?

Postby jonb » Thu Apr 06, 2017 6:47 am

Apologies for the thread necromancy.

The original sale fell through, but I have just acquired a non working Superbrain from "a well known auction site" for similar money. It's a normal (non QD) model with a single floppy and an odd blanking plate over the B: drive, which may (or may not) be a Winchester. Knowing my luck, probably not but I will find out on Saturday when I collect it.

All rather exciting...

Superbrain
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 25, 2017 6:27 pm

Re: Alright.. who's got an Intertech Superbrain?

Postby Superbrain » Thu May 25, 2017 6:56 pm

[img]
image.jpeg


Anybody who could help with the rs232 interface , the serial has blown!

User avatar
jonb
Posts: 2049
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: South Coast of England

Re: Alright.. who's got an Intertech Superbrain?

Postby jonb » Fri May 26, 2017 10:00 am

Hi Superbrain

Start a new thread please.

We can sort it! :)


Return to “other vintage computer hardware, software and games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jonb and 1 guest