Compukit UK101

Talk about non-Acorn classic computers/hardware/software here (including retro consoles)
richard_g
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:50 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby richard_g » Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:43 pm

Yep will do. I'll wait for the UK to arrive on Monday and post snaps of both.

User avatar
jonb
Posts: 2080
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: South Coast of England

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby jonb » Sat Nov 02, 2013 9:09 am

Well, it's about £500 in total plus postage which is a lot to me but it's an auction so we have to conclude that this is the value of the things. They don't come up very often at all. Congratulations!

What will you do with them? Got a project lined up?

richard_g
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:50 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby richard_g » Sat Nov 02, 2013 2:57 pm

Thanks Jon. Oh there's no doubt they are fetching good money now. I'm not rich but just an enthusiast and as I say, I've been on a serious look-out for one for quite some time now.

I recently found out that a Compukit sold on ebay last year for around £250. Thought I wouldn't see another but then three pop up at the same time.
I wasn't going to pass at least one of them up. Anyway, the 'boss' authorised the purchases. She'll get some nice shoes which will be next to worthless once worn :|.

Like MartinB , I had access to two UK101s back in the mid eighties at a company where I served an apprenticeship - both in their original 'pizza' boxes and unused. They were considered a bit old school even then so nobody but me was interested in them. I'm sure they would have let me have them if I'd thought to ask. Could of had a Nascom too. Meh.

I visited a guy who is selling up his dad's vintage computer collection just a few weeks ago. He showed me a Sinclair MK14, an Acorn System 1, and a Superboard. None of these were for sale but were being donated to a museum. Nice Superboard too - with the additional RAM board.
(BTW - He's selling the Atom on ebay atm with the bad screen output - he's got at least two more to sell).

What am I going to do with them? Good question. To start I'm going to do a slow and thorough restoration. Remove everything attached the the boards and get them working in their basic state. I'll add the additional ROM and RAM boards etc later as I see fit.

I've just got back into schematic and PCB design for a job at work. I haven't done this sort of work for maybe 10 years or more but I do quite enjoy it. I'm tempted to have a go at making a proper PCB to replace the guard band kit that is built on strip-board as instructed.

The guard band kit - I quote:
"This kit will upgrade an Ohio Superboard to the ultimate performance which can be reached without the addition of expensive extra chips.
It provides:
1. A full 32 x 32 display on the screen of an ordinary TV set with proper blanking during the synchronisation and flyback periods.
2. A choice of 300 or 1200 baud tape speeds.
3. A 50% increase in the microprocessor clock speed, so that programs run faster.
4. An ultra high precision pure digital 50Hz conversion with no adjustable parts."

Now what self respecting Superboard owner wouldn't want a piece of that?

I can provide a scan of this if anyone is interested - I had a load of documentation with this machine which I'm still looking through.
Hopefully there's something here that isn't already in the public domain.
Loads of receipts - the machine and BASIC ROM upgrades bought from Swanley Electronics in Kent in 1980.
Even have the instruction sheet for the 'Microcase' enclosure. This instructs you to use a bread knife to chop the polystyrene block upon which the board sits to obtain a comfortable typing angle - don't we forget just how good we have it these days?

It's all good stuff. These were always designed to be hobbyist machines and I shall continue with them in that vein.

Pics to follow.

richard_g
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:50 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby richard_g » Mon Nov 04, 2013 8:14 pm

OK everything is here in one piece. A few snaps before they get stripped down and cleaned...

Image
Image

Not sure what we've got in here altogether but it's all getting stripped out.
Anyone have details on the DRC board?
Image
Image
Image

iainjh
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 11:18 am

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby iainjh » Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:21 pm

Wow, beautiful. Great condition by the look of it. I must check my eBay watch lists as missed these listings. Too much for me but love to see them when they come up

Amazing case!

Thanks for posting :)

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2794
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby flaxcottage » Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:46 pm

:shock: :shock: :mrgreen:
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer, HP-16C programmer's calculator

User avatar
jonb
Posts: 2080
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: South Coast of England

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby jonb » Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:47 am

....gawp...

kengr1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:02 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby kengr1 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:49 pm

I have one of these if anyone is interested ? :D
Attachments
uk101.jpg

kengr1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:02 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby kengr1 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:49 pm

I also have a cased working UK101......

User avatar
jonb
Posts: 2080
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: South Coast of England

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby jonb » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:57 pm

Would love it. PM sent.

kengr1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:02 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby kengr1 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:29 pm

changes.jpg
keys.jpg
power.jpg
Attachments
compukit.jpg

User avatar
jonb
Posts: 2080
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: South Coast of England

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby jonb » Fri Nov 29, 2013 5:02 pm

Have you got the missing keycaps?

kengr1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:02 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby kengr1 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 8:52 pm

No sorry i dont

User avatar
jonb
Posts: 2080
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: South Coast of England

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby jonb » Sat Nov 30, 2013 11:32 am

Does anyone know what sort of key caps it uses?

I'm only interested if there's a possibility of making it complete...

richard_g
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:50 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby richard_g » Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:42 pm

Grab it Jon.

Otherwise I'd like to take a punt for spares.

richard_g
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:50 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby richard_g » Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:09 pm

To kengr1:

I don't think my PMs are working.

If Jon doesn't want your Compukit then I'm interested.

Let me know.
Last edited by richard_g on Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kengr1
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:02 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby kengr1 » Sun Dec 01, 2013 8:52 pm

sent a PM

User avatar
jonb
Posts: 2080
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: South Coast of England

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby jonb » Sun Dec 01, 2013 9:58 pm

Go for it, RG.. ;)

richard_g
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:50 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby richard_g » Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:09 pm

Ebay has them coming thick and fast now.

Two on right now.

This looks a nice one:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Vintage-compu ... 4acce3f182

I heartily recommend the red cased ones - they look stunning.

JonTr7
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:07 pm
Location: Teesside

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby JonTr7 » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:00 pm

Thank you for posting the link to the uk101 auction, I have a saved search set up but it was only looking for compukit in the title. I've now changed it to the description as well.

I'm watching it and the other one but only out of curiosity because I already own 2 UK101s. One of these is missing some keycaps, like the one offered by Kengr1 and that is the main reason why I have the searches saved on eBay, hoping some will come up for sale. In the mean time I have found that keycaps from a beeb fit.

Image

Not perfect but better than just the naked switches.

John

richard_g
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:50 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby richard_g » Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:21 pm

Hi John,

Mmm... the 'EPROM' marking on your PCB in the bottom left corner. Not noticed that on any UK101s I've seen before? Interesting.

Just bought a keyboard-less 101 from Ken. Will have to see if there are any other key switches that fill the holes. Remember reading somewhere that they were standard RS Component issue back in the day? Anyone know?

User avatar
jgharston
Posts: 2756
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Whitby/Sheffield

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby jgharston » Fri Dec 06, 2013 9:11 pm

Interesting. Looking through the technical documents, if you can modify the board to have 16K EPROM at 8000-BFFF you could run BBC BASIC!

Code: Select all

$ bbcbasic
PDP11 BBC BASIC IV Version 0.25
(C) Copyright J.G.Harston 1989,2005-2015
>_

JonTr7
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:07 pm
Location: Teesside

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby JonTr7 » Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:49 am

Hi Richard_g

Sorry, I can not help with sourcing new key switches but I have found this ( http://deskthority.net/wiki/MEI_WEAB ) which, apart from the key cap mount, are the same as the ones used on the 101. Might be a good reference if you ever want to take one apart.

I bought the EPROM 101 of eBay about 10 years ago and I've never seen another EPROM version since, to be honest I've not been looking all that much so there may have been others. My other 101 I've had a bit longer, bought new in 1979.

Now that they are both working I'm not sure what to do with them. jdharton idea of adding BBC BASIC sound interesting but is beyond my capabilities. I would like to add some sort of sound processor, UK101SID?

John

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2794
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby flaxcottage » Sat Dec 07, 2013 10:24 am

BITD when I had a UK101 I built a sound card using the information from Practical Electronics.

I have attached scans of the relevant articles if they are of any interest. They did use a proprietary board but I am sure a matrix board would work just as well. They interfaced through the 40-pin expansion socket.

uk101-1.zip
(3.8 MiB) Downloaded 114 times
uk101-2.zip
(3.84 MiB) Downloaded 108 times
uk101-3.zip
(3.89 MiB) Downloaded 101 times
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer, HP-16C programmer's calculator

richard_g
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:50 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby richard_g » Sat Dec 07, 2013 6:52 pm

Hi John,

Thanks for that. I've already inadvertently examined the inside of some of my switches as they came apart when I pulled the key caps off for cleaning. A little patience gets them back together without too much bother.

I'm sure I've got schematics for a stand alone sound card that came with my Superboard, together with the required AY.... sound chip (not at hand just at the mo to give exact part no.).
I might be wrong but don't think it was based upon the general purpose I/O card system that flaxcottage posted.
If you're interested then I can post the scans.

User avatar
KarateEd
Posts: 3046
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:15 pm
Location: Squamish, BC, Canada

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby KarateEd » Sat Dec 07, 2013 6:55 pm

flaxcottage wrote:
I have attached scans of the relevant articles if they are of any interest. They did use a proprietary board but I am sure a matrix board would work just as well. They interfaced through the 40-pin expansion socket.



I don't have a UK-101 but those look like fun......wow....nice find...

Ed......:-)

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2794
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby flaxcottage » Sat Dec 07, 2013 7:46 pm

They were fun. :D When I 'went over' to a BBC micro I re-jigged the UK101 interface card to run from the 1MHz bus on my Beeb. It wasn't hard, just a small piece of matrix board, I think, to decode the addresses and provide the clean signals.

The Beeb then had another 32 i/o ports, 8 ADC ports and two DAC ports and the sound generator to play with.

Re-building the set up is one of my jobs on my to-do list when I retire. I have nearly all the components. :)
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer, HP-16C programmer's calculator

baldwint
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 6:31 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby baldwint » Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:02 pm

Replacement keyboard switches - I'm pretty certain the originals were a standard RS part. Looks very much like these, which are still listed:
http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/products/335-794

Replacement keyboard caps are whole different problem though!

Prime
Posts: 2345
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 11:52 pm

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby Prime » Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:30 pm

baldwint wrote:Replacement keyboard switches - I'm pretty certain the originals were a standard RS part. Looks very much like these, which are still listed:
http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/products/335-794

Replacement keyboard caps are whole different problem though!


Those keyswitches are a little LOLPRICE mind :) (I kind of expect that from RS).

Is it just me but the caps look like the Atom ones.......

Cheers.

Phill.

User avatar
Seldon2k
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 3:19 am
Location: Redditch, UK
Contact:

Re: Compukit UK101

Postby Seldon2k » Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:04 am

Hi,

Looks like I joined too late to try and get the keyswitch-less UK101 from kengr1 :cry:

I made the mistake of giving my 101 away in 1994, the chap even made me repair the video fault before he would take it away.
He also had my PDP-11/23 with Hard Drives in a 2nd Rack and 23 Disk Packs.
I was having a BIG clear out after nearly achieving critical mass and forming an event horizon.

I have regretted letting it go, on and off, from about 2005.
I did find a fantastic emulator on Sourceforge and have used this to good effect over the last 12 months.
Some of my code was written for the Hi-Res Graphics board that used 6kB of Static Ram (3 x 6116's) to achieve 256x192 resolution. It used a 6847 CRTC IC and effectively turned the 101 into a Dragon 32 or Tandy CoCo.
This is not supported in the emulator of course, although I did approach the author with the specs of the card.

After reading the comments about the Technomatic Boards being transplanted to a BBC Micro I really wish that I had thought of doing that!

I still have all of the documentation and have recently been slowly scanning it.
I will post a list of doc's later.

I used to repair Microcomputers in the 1980's an early 90's so I still have a collection of spares for most machines.
Mainly Commodore machines but also Sinclair and Acorn.

Oh one tip on transferring old tapes to the PC there used to be an old DOS App called HamCom3 intended for Amateur Radio use. This includes a diagram of a simple interface to receive tones from a radio.
The software can be modified very slightly to accept the two tones used by the CUTS Kansas City Cassette Interface used on the UK101. I used this to transfer a lot of of my tapes in the late 90's.

I didn't see anyone comment on the missing CPU in the RED cased 101 in a previous posting. The 32kB memory board used in that machine sits in the CPU socket and the CPU is relocated to the top of the memory board.

I built one of those from a kit and even though it worked PERFECTLY in BASIC increasing my RAM size to 40kB, when I ran any MC program in it it crashed!
I never got to the bottom of WHY despite much testing both with S/W and H/W.
One test was to execute a MC prog in the lower 8kB SRAM and have it access a look up table in the 32kB DRAM. This WORKED!
If I then swapped the program and data around, (re-writing the code to point to the new start of the data), it crashed every time!

I wonder if anyone else had this problem with that memory system.
It made my floppy fail to boot, I have a recollection of patching it to boot lower but it still crashed when it loaded part of the OS into the DRAM. sigh...

More later,
Terry


Return to “other vintage computer hardware, software and games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest