High resolution graphics on the Superbrain

Talk about non-Acorn classic computers/hardware/software here (including retro consoles)
User avatar
jonb
Posts: 2081
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: South Coast of England

High resolution graphics on the Superbrain

Postby jonb » Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:54 pm

Today I thought I'd patch the "high resolution graphics" driver that is lying around on one of the archived Superbrain disks for 50hz machines.

I ran it and got some odd results.

IMG_0915.JPG
High resolution, ha ha!


There is a line of noise at the top of the screen, and there are additional underscores near the plotted points.

The graphics mode is a feature of the CRT8002 character generator chip, and I think the noise line indicates it may have a little problem. I expect the additional underscore things are program bugs. Anyway, I thought I'd post it - for a laugh - to show the kidz what real graphics were, BITD!

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2550
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: High resolution graphics on the Superbrain

Postby oss003 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:46 pm

IIRC MAME has a Superbrain emulator so you can test the program in MAME to see if it is correct.

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
Pernod
Posts: 997
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:01 pm
Location: Croydon, UK

Re: High resolution graphics on the Superbrain

Postby Pernod » Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:20 pm

oss003 wrote:IIRC MAME has a Superbrain emulator so you can test the program in MAME to see if it is correct.

Yeah but it's very preliminary and doesn't actually do anything yet.
- Nigel

BBC Model B, ATPL Sidewise, Acorn Speech, 2xWatford Floppy Drives, AMX Mouse, Viglen case, etc.


Return to “other vintage computer hardware, software and games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests