High resolution graphics on the Superbrain

Talk about non-Acorn classic computers/hardware/software here (including retro consoles)
User avatar
jonb
Posts: 2095
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 12:42 pm
Location: South Coast of England
Contact:

High resolution graphics on the Superbrain

Postby jonb » Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:54 pm

Today I thought I'd patch the "high resolution graphics" driver that is lying around on one of the archived Superbrain disks for 50hz machines.

I ran it and got some odd results.

IMG_0915.JPG
High resolution, ha ha!


There is a line of noise at the top of the screen, and there are additional underscores near the plotted points.

The graphics mode is a feature of the CRT8002 character generator chip, and I think the noise line indicates it may have a little problem. I expect the additional underscore things are program bugs. Anyway, I thought I'd post it - for a laugh - to show the kidz what real graphics were, BITD!

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2621
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: High resolution graphics on the Superbrain

Postby oss003 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:46 pm

IIRC MAME has a Superbrain emulator so you can test the program in MAME to see if it is correct.

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
Pernod
Posts: 1080
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:01 pm
Location: Croydon, UK
Contact:

Re: High resolution graphics on the Superbrain

Postby Pernod » Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:20 pm

oss003 wrote:IIRC MAME has a Superbrain emulator so you can test the program in MAME to see if it is correct.

Yeah but it's very preliminary and doesn't actually do anything yet.
- Nigel

BBC Model B, ATPL Sidewise, Acorn Speech, 2xWatford Floppy Drives, AMX Mouse, Viglen case, BeebZIF, etc.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests