Post pictures of your beeb setup

on-topic Acorn-related news and discussions not covered by the other forums
User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby martinw » Mon Jul 31, 2017 7:18 pm

Elminster wrote:Like Mark I rate energiser better than Duracell. I think the last which? Survey did as well. Recharable duracell are even worse. Don't hold charge at all.


:D

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby martinw » Mon Jul 31, 2017 7:21 pm

Turning into my favourite table (possibly ... :?) ... mainly due to the flexibility of the MIST FPGA.

IMG_5157.JPG

IMG_5160.JPG


https://youtu.be/ctNGzp6_h20

Not strictly a Beeb setup although the MIST can run a BBC Model B :oops:

Martin

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2797
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby flaxcottage » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:28 am

martinw wrote:Out of interest how do you get the valves out, I didn't want to prise them and break them?


These have B8A valve bases. The pins are symmetrical and oriented by the glass 'pip' on the side which clicks into the valve holder base. They are removed from the base by a steady vertical pull. It will take some force to overcome the valve holder's clip.

Replacement is by orienting correctly and using a firm push to 'click' the valve into place.

These valves are pretty reliable, generally. Their heaters are series fed from the mains supply through the big green dropper resistor and take 100mA. If a heater blows in one valve then the whole valve chain will be dead. The heater voltages can be quite high, the UY41, for instance, takes 31v at 100mA.

This set also has a live chassis so care should be taken when servicing it. Although it does not matter to the radio which way around the mains are connected it will matter to you. Always make sure that the neutral wire connects to the chassis. The mains switch may only be a single pole switch in the live lead so if the set is wired with live to chassis it will always be live even when switched off. Having said that running it in its case with the back protected from prying fingers it will be reasonably safe (assuming all components are within their initial tolerances). It will smell hot in use as that dropper resistor will be dissipating tens of watts and the valve chain will get very hot too.
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer, HP-16C programmer's calculator

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby martinw » Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:33 am

Cheers John, that's all excellent information =D>

Martin

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2797
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby flaxcottage » Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:34 am

Elminster wrote:Like Mark I rate energiser better than Duracell. I think the last which? Survey did as well. Recharable duracell are even worse. Don't hold charge at all.


I have recently needed some AA and AAA rechargeable batteries for our wireless house phone and some retro calculator projects. I looked into several different brands and chose Eneloop from Maplin (these I think are by Samsung) and some Duracell ones. Both are guaranteed to hold 85% of their charge for a year.

So far these have proved to be really effective with very low self-discharge, as stated in their specification. Not only that but they have very large capacities for their size (AAA 900mAH, AA 2500mAH). Mind you they are NOT cheap. :(
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer, HP-16C programmer's calculator

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 6790
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby 1024MAK » Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:51 am

Just to make it very clear: in my posts above about Duracell, I am talking about normal alkaline cells and batteries.

I have no specific information about general purpose NiMh cells and batteries from Duracell (or any other big brand name) as I don't use them...

Mark
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...

User avatar
Elminster
Posts: 1632
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:09 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby Elminster » Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:05 am

1024MAK wrote:Just to make it very clear: in my posts above about Duracell, I am talking about normal alkaline cells and batteries.

I have no specific information about general purpose NiMh cells and batteries from Duracell (or any other big brand name) as I don't use them...

Mark


Just to make it clear. I am talking about both and Duracell are not great at either. And I no longer use them.

Duracell standard rechargeable are dire (I have about 20 of them, gradually replacing with energizer, but even new duracell rechargable are no better). Ever time I go to put them in anything they are discharged, Energizer will be around 75%. And they dont last very long.

I test in wireless wii u scanner bar, wii u controllers, mighty mouse (recharables) for AAs.

Edit: I used to be a Duracell Fan boy and used them exclussively for 20 years, but I found even tessco own brand lasts longer at half the price!

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby martinw » Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:49 pm

I'm thinking a mega games cartridge for my Electron Turbo
might finish this setup off nicely ...

IMG_5178.JPG

IMG_5179.JPG


Martin

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 3691
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby daveejhitchins » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:36 pm

martinw wrote:I'm thinking a mega games cartridge for my Electron Turbo
might finish this setup off nicely ...
Just send me your games list and I'll organise it :D

See here: here.

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby martinw » Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:05 pm

Cheers Dave, sounds like a plan :D

Martin

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby martinw » Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:23 pm

My Electron Turbo is now crying out for an MGC or two, my Atom is showing it up currently :lol:

IMG_5250.JPG


Martin

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby martinw » Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:44 pm

You deleted your post Wim as I was replying too it ...

I understood your sentiment :)

Martin

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby Multiwizard » Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:47 pm

martinw wrote:You deleted your post Wim as I was replying too it ...

I understood your sentiment :)

Martin

I know, but then I saw you posted the (almost) same pic 2 times before, so it had no accurate point... LOL


Greetings, Wim... :-)

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby martinw » Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:49 pm

Multiwizard wrote:
martinw wrote:You deleted your post Wim as I was replying too it ...

I understood your sentiment :)

Martin

I know, but then I saw you posted the (almost) same pic 2 times before, so it had no accurate point... LOL


Greetings, Wim... :-)


Understood :D

I like posting pictures 8) :lol:

IMG_5252.JPG


Martin
Last edited by martinw on Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby Multiwizard » Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:50 pm

martinw wrote:
Multiwizard wrote:
martinw wrote:You deleted your post Wim as I was replying too it ...

I understood your sentiment :)

Martin

I know, but then I saw you posted the (almost) same pic 2 times before, so it had no accurate point... LOL


Greetings, Wim... :-)


Understood :D

Martin

But still, nice setup :D ,,, apart of the you know what... :lol:


Greetings, Wim... :-)

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby martinw » Tue Aug 08, 2017 6:54 pm

Cheers Wim :D

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby Multiwizard » Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:04 pm

martinw wrote:
Understood :D

I like posting pictures 8) :lol:

IMG_5252.JPG


Yep, I've seen that one before too... :lol:

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=8148&start=150#p176563


Greetings, Wim... :-)

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby martinw » Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:13 pm

:oops: :lol:

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1215
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby Multiwizard » Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:35 pm

martinw wrote::oops: :lol:

I use my FB page as a sort of picture diary... :D

If you have a FB account too you can see them if you like...


Greetings, Wim... :-)

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby martinw » Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:44 pm

Cheers I'll check it out Wim.

Martin

markdryan
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby markdryan » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:13 pm

Apologies for the poor picture quality and mess of wires which I'll have to do something about.

beebsetup.jpg


On the right we have a magnificient BBC master with an internal datacentre and external PI zero co-processor. On the left, and connected to the monitor, is an A3000 with RO 3.11 and 2MB (hopefully 4MB very soon) of RAM. Underneath the BenQ912 is a StrongARM RiscPC with 128MB of RAM. I still need to find somewhere to squeeze in the Atom.

Commie_User
Posts: 916
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 12:50 am

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby Commie_User » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:42 pm

All this makes me wonder if you guys ever considered making an arcade cabinet for your gaming, as certain flash harry computers were suited for. I kind-of don't need one with my wallmounted CUB and BBC below it.

In a cabinet, a trackball's just PERFECT for the first bloom arcade games the BBC was surprisingly sprightly at.

C64[1].jpg

User avatar
martinw
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 10:31 am
Location: Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby martinw » Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:08 am

markdryan wrote:Apologies for the poor picture quality and mess of wires which I'll have to do something about.

beebsetup.jpg

On the right we have a magnificient BBC master with an internal datacentre and external PI zero co-processor. On the left, and connected to the monitor, is an A3000 with RO 3.11 and 2MB (hopefully 4MB very soon) of RAM. Underneath the BenQ912 is a StrongARM RiscPC with 128MB of RAM. I still need to find somewhere to squeeze in the Atom.


Looking good =D>

User avatar
BigEd
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:24 am
Location: West
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby BigEd » Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:31 pm

An update on my world, which is in the process of relocation ... you can just about see the PiTubeDirect. My desk has never been so tidy.

Image

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2797
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby flaxcottage » Wed Sep 27, 2017 10:03 am

A slide rule? :shock: Awesome! :D
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer, HP-16C programmer's calculator

User avatar
BigEd
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:24 am
Location: West
Contact:

Re: Post pictures of your beeb setup

Postby BigEd » Wed Sep 27, 2017 11:43 am

That's right! Slightly better than 8 bits of accuracy.


Return to “general”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest