RiscOS on RPi 3?

ask about 32-bit emulators like ArcEm, Red Squirrel, Arculator or RPCEmu here
User avatar
sweh
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby sweh » Wed Apr 13, 2016 1:50 am

This isn't really an emulator 'cos it runs native... but I'm not sure where else to put it :-)

Has anyone got RiscOS running on the Raspberry Pi 3? I bought one and have been playing with it; Raspbian, OpenElec etc all run fine. But the RC14 image (from https://www.riscosopen.org/content/down ... spberry-pi ) refuses to boot. I just get the rainbow screen.

From googling around it might be that this is because RC14 really only supports up to the PI-2 and hasn't yet been ported to PI-3. There are forum threads around talking about "update the kernel", "do glurblefarblebarglebarf", "waahhwaahwaah waah waah"... all assuming you know the language of RiscOS devs.

So has anyone here any hints how I can get this working?
Rgds
Stephen

User avatar
flibble
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby flibble » Wed Apr 13, 2016 2:00 am

RC14 is about a year old now, and was released to add raspberry pi 2 support. So yeah, no 3 support in it.

Basically those forum threads ... you need that :D

From memory, you need to take a copy of RC14, then take the bootloader and firmware files (the other files on the boot partition) from an up to date raspbian and copy them to the risc os card. Then copy in a nightly build kernel [1] over the one in the boot partition.

Then cross your fingers, personally I'm waiting for them to make an RC15 :)

Then realise that a recent change to the way that the OS handles writes to low memory addresses (a Seg fault in unix terms) breaks pretty much all the applications that used to run on risc os ... again. [2]

[1] https://www.riscosopen.org/content/down ... spberry-pi unzip the the "Beta RPi ROM" file
[2] A rant best saved for another occasion :lol:

User avatar
sweh
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby sweh » Wed Apr 13, 2016 2:13 am

OK, so the RiscOS boot partition has

Code: Select all

BOOTCODE.BIN  CONFIG.TXT  FIXUP.DAT  LICENCE.BROADCOM  RISCOS.IMG  START.ELF


I should replace bootcode.bin, fixup.dat and start.elf from a working raspbian image?

The boot partition of raspbian has a lot more files!

Code: Select all

COPYING.linux           bcm2709-rpi-2-b.dtb  fixup_cd.dat  overlays
LICENCE.broadcom        bcm2710-rpi-3-b.dtb  fixup_db.dat  start.elf
LICENSE.oracle          bootcode.bin         fixup_x.dat   start_cd.elf
bcm2708-rpi-b-plus.dtb  cmdline.txt          issue.txt     start_db.elf
bcm2708-rpi-b.dtb       config.txt           kernel.img    start_x.elf
bcm2708-rpi-cm.dtb      fixup.dat            kernel7.img


And from the nightly build, the ZeroPain stuff goes into this boot partition as well?

Code: Select all

  Length      Date    Time    Name
---------  ---------- -----   ----
    39166  10-25-2012 09:51   Licence_v1_1.pdf
     1336  06-27-2015 03:41   ReadMe.txt
  2695168  04-02-2016 11:50   riscos
        0  04-02-2016 11:50   ZeroPain/
        0  04-02-2016 11:50   ZeroPain/!Boot/
        0  04-02-2016 11:50   ZeroPain/!Boot/Choices/
        0  04-02-2016 11:50   ZeroPain/!Boot/Choices/Boot/
        0  04-02-2016 11:50   ZeroPain/!Boot/Choices/Boot/PreDesk/
        0  04-02-2016 11:50   ZeroPain/!Boot/Choices/Boot/PreDesk/!!ZeroPain/
      161  06-27-2015 03:41   ZeroPain/!Boot/Choices/Boot/PreDesk/!!ZeroPain/!Run
     6412  03-30-2016 06:38   ZeroPain/!Boot/Choices/Boot/PreDesk/!!ZeroPain/ZeroPain
    13273  03-30-2016 06:38   ZeroPain/ReadMe.txt
---------                     -------
  2755516                     12 files


I note this has "riscos" but the RC14 has 'riscos.img'...
Rgds
Stephen

User avatar
flibble
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby flibble » Wed Apr 13, 2016 2:22 am

sweh wrote:OK, so the RiscOS boot partition has

Code: Select all

BOOTCODE.BIN  CONFIG.TXT  FIXUP.DAT  LICENCE.BROADCOM  RISCOS.IMG  START.ELF


I should replace bootcode.bin, fixup.dat and start.elf from a working raspbian image?

The boot partition of raspbian has a lot more files!

Code: Select all

COPYING.linux           bcm2709-rpi-2-b.dtb  fixup_cd.dat  overlays
LICENCE.broadcom        bcm2710-rpi-3-b.dtb  fixup_db.dat  start.elf
LICENSE.oracle          bootcode.bin         fixup_x.dat   start_cd.elf
bcm2708-rpi-b-plus.dtb  cmdline.txt          issue.txt     start_db.elf
bcm2708-rpi-b.dtb       config.txt           kernel.img    start_x.elf
bcm2708-rpi-cm.dtb      fixup.dat            kernel7.img



Actually copy in all files that arn't on the RISC OS image as well. But you're right, I think config.txt is the one you don't copy over (open it up and if it's the one that mentions riscos.img, you need that version for risc os)

And from the nightly build, the ZeroPain stuff goes into this boot partition as well?

Code: Select all

  Length      Date    Time    Name
---------  ---------- -----   ----
    39166  10-25-2012 09:51   Licence_v1_1.pdf
     1336  06-27-2015 03:41   ReadMe.txt
  2695168  04-02-2016 11:50   riscos
        0  04-02-2016 11:50   ZeroPain/
        0  04-02-2016 11:50   ZeroPain/!Boot/
        0  04-02-2016 11:50   ZeroPain/!Boot/Choices/
        0  04-02-2016 11:50   ZeroPain/!Boot/Choices/Boot/
        0  04-02-2016 11:50   ZeroPain/!Boot/Choices/Boot/PreDesk/
        0  04-02-2016 11:50   ZeroPain/!Boot/Choices/Boot/PreDesk/!!ZeroPain/
      161  06-27-2015 03:41   ZeroPain/!Boot/Choices/Boot/PreDesk/!!ZeroPain/!Run
     6412  03-30-2016 06:38   ZeroPain/!Boot/Choices/Boot/PreDesk/!!ZeroPain/ZeroPain
    13273  03-30-2016 06:38   ZeroPain/ReadMe.txt
---------                     -------
  2755516                     12 files



The Zeropain stuff, well the !Boot inside that Zeropain directory should be copied over the !Boot on the risc os partition, once risc os has booted (this will merge it into the !Boot sequence)

I note this has "riscos" but the RC14 has 'riscos.img'...

[/quote]

Yep, you'll have to rename it to riscos.img

User avatar
sweh
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby sweh » Wed Apr 13, 2016 2:28 am

flibble wrote:Actually copy in all files that arn't on the RISC OS image as well. But you're right, I think config.txt is the one you don't copy over (open it up and if it's the one that mentions riscos.img, you need that version for risc os)

Yeah; I also see comments in the fora around adding

Code: Select all

avoid_warnings=2
force_turbo=1
arm_freq=1200
core_freq=450
sdram_freq=450

to config.txt

The Zeropain stuff, well the !Boot inside that Zeropain directory should be copied over the !Boot on the risc os partition, once risc os has booted (this will merge it into the !Boot sequence)

OK, now I'm gonna show nooob status; will the RiscOS image be able to see my network... or see the linux boot partition? Not sure how to get the data into the running OS otherwise!
Rgds
Stephen

User avatar
flibble
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby flibble » Wed Apr 13, 2016 2:32 am

sweh wrote:OK, now I'm gonna show nooob status; will the RiscOS image be able to see my network... or see the linux boot partition? Not sure how to get the data into the running OS otherwise!


Yep, the ethernet port is working on risc os (but the wireless doesn't). It also has a web browser on there by default, so downloading the file shouldn't be an issue.

User avatar
sweh
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby sweh » Wed Apr 13, 2016 2:36 am

Thanks; I'll give that a go (probably tomorrow, now)!
Rgds
Stephen

User avatar
sweh
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby sweh » Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:46 am

Well, that seems to mostly work. I don't have an ethernet cable plugged in, but the machine booted and got me to the desktop... where the busy hour glass icon and been "busy" for the past 20 minutes. Hmm...
Rgds
Stephen

User avatar
helpful
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:18 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby helpful » Thu Apr 14, 2016 3:32 am

IIRC that's because on first boot it pops up a local webpage of help, but the version of NetSurf in RC14 is not compatible with the Pi3 :-(

Press Alt-Break and you should get an option to kill it and it hopefully won't try to load again on next boot.

And your question about accessing the Pi boot (FAT) partition - shift-double-click on !Boot and then double-click Loader

Bryan.
RISC OS User Group Of London - http://www.rougol.jellybaby.net/
RISC OS London Show - http://www.riscoslondonshow.co.uk/

User avatar
sweh
Posts: 1833
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:05 pm
Location: New York, New York
Contact:

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby sweh » Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:22 pm

helpful wrote:Press Alt-Break and you should get an option to kill it and it hopefully won't try to load again on next boot.

And your question about accessing the Pi boot (FAT) partition - shift-double-click on !Boot and then double-click Loader

Thanks! I now have access to the desktop. Err Pinboard? Yay!

I don't know if I've copied ZeroPage properly; this OS is quite a bit different to every GUI I've used in the past :-) But I've got a starting place to play!
Rgds
Stephen

taoo
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:49 pm

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby taoo » Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:14 pm

Hello

Sorry but I'm really new to all this... I tried various ways to get risc os running on a RPi3 (as described above) but all I get is a rainbow screen and sometimes a blinking green light on the pi! Can anyone please tell me exactly what to do to get risc running on the pi (dummyproof, step by step)? I would be very much obliged! Thanks a lot!

User avatar
helpful
Posts: 391
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:18 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby helpful » Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:00 am

If all you are getting is the rainbow screen then it has not even got as far as trying to load RISC OS! That's a failure of the Pi boot loader so double check you have up to date versions of those files.

Bryan.
RISC OS User Group Of London - http://www.rougol.jellybaby.net/
RISC OS London Show - http://www.riscoslondonshow.co.uk/

User avatar
vanpeebles
Posts: 371
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:01 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby vanpeebles » Tue Feb 14, 2017 10:23 am

I think its a shame that Pi3 RISC OS set up is still iffy. It's a great opportunity for RISC OS with the huge numbers of Pis out there now.

User avatar
fordp
Posts: 866
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:08 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: RiscOS on RPi 3?

Postby fordp » Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:50 pm

sweh wrote:This isn't really an emulator 'cos it runs native... but I'm not sure where else to put it :-)


(https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 638b21d4e4)
FordP (Simon Ellwood)
Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so!


Return to “emulators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest