RPCEmu 0.8.14

ask about 32-bit emulators like ArcEm, Red Squirrel, Arculator or RPCEmu here
User avatar
flibble
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:29 am
Contact:

RPCEmu 0.8.14

Postby flibble » Mon Feb 08, 2016 2:54 pm

A new version of RPCEmu is available, 0.8.14

http://www.marutan.net/rpcemu/

Changes in this version

* All Platforms

- RISC OS Select 4i2 to 6i1 (6.06 to 6.20) now boot 'out of the box' due to
clearing the *unplug bits in the distributed cmos.ram file.
If applying the upgrade to an existing install you must use the provided
cmos.ram file and then apply your changes to cmos settings afterwards.

If you have used the 'installer' version on Windows Vista, 7, 8, 10 then
you will probably need to delete the copy of cmos.ram that is in this
directory
C:\Users\<USERNAME>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\RPCEmu

- Add support for 8MB VRAM (via patching) on RISC OS 3.50/3.60/3.70/3.71/
4.04/4.29/4.33/4.37/4.39/6.02. This is in addition to the support for
RISC OS 4.02 (via patching) and RISC OS 5.2x and 6.10 to 6.20 via OS
autodetection.

- RISC OS 5.2x now works with 0MB VRAM as we now allow video data to be
stored in any part of Simm 0 Bank 0 of RAM.

- RISC OS Select 4i2 to 6i1 (6.06 to 6.20) now work with 0MB VRAM as we no
longer create TLB entries for VRAM when none is configured.

- Translate characters in HostFS paths that would be invalid on Windows,
using the same translations for ? < and > as used by LanMan. Contributed
by Alan Buckley.


Note: Using the windows install to upgrade from
previous versions may overwrite your cmos.ram
and rpc.cfg files.

Matthew Howkins
Peter Howkins

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: RPCEmu 0.8.14

Postby Zarchos » Mon Feb 08, 2016 3:34 pm

Congrats !
Thank you.

User avatar
pixelblip
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:19 pm

Re: RPCEmu 0.8.14

Postby pixelblip » Mon Jun 13, 2016 6:49 pm

Thanks a lot.
I've tried to get this working in OSX and Linux but no matter which RISC OS roms I drop in it always says it can't find any.
I gave up in the end.
Anyone got this working on OS X or Linux?

User avatar
dgrubb
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 8:36 pm

Re: RPCEmu 0.8.14

Postby dgrubb » Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:26 pm

pixelblip wrote:Anyone got this working on OS X or Linux?


It's working fine for me on Linux, no special steps required.

richw
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 9:54 pm

Re: RPCEmu 0.8.14

Postby richw » Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:37 pm

Is this any use? I found it worked for me, and I updated the pages a tad.

https://www.riscosopen.org/wiki/documen ... c%20OS%20X

User avatar
pixelblip
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:19 pm

Re: RPCEmu 0.8.14

Postby pixelblip » Sat Jun 18, 2016 5:58 am

Thanks Rich. That's very helpful. I will give it a go.

From memory on OS X it kept saying it could only use roms that added up to 2MB in size ( something to that effect ). I tried all kinds of Roms. I put them in the ROMS folder.

it seemed when I installed it I couldn't change the roms path no matter what I tried so I gave up......(even if I uninstalled it). I thought am I using the right Roms path / folder.....I wanted to set the path............manually....but it seemed to be hard coded after the first install.......( I am sure it's me!)

Anyway I will report back with your instructions

User avatar
pixelblip
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 7:19 pm

Re: RPCEmu 0.8.14

Postby pixelblip » Sat Jun 18, 2016 6:50 am

I foundout the roms path by default is in the Users/Library/Application Support/RPC Emu/Roms. I can't see a way of changing that but it's not a big deal.


Return to “emulators”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest