Initialising PiTubeDirect

for bbc micro/electron hardware, peripherals & programming issues (NOT emulators!)
User avatar
Galaxy High
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:24 pm
Location: Wakefield

Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby Galaxy High » Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:59 pm

Hello everyone,

Is anyone out there using the PiTubeDirect internal version?

Bit of a noob at this but tried using *fx151,230,# to try different cores but I can't seem to get it working.

I read I have to *CONFIGURE EXTUBE for internal tube but that doesn't seem to do anything.

Here's what the ST. is spitting out:

Code: Select all

Baud 4
No Boot
Caps
Data 4
Delay 50
No Directory
Internal Tube
FDrive 0
File 9
Hard
Ignore 10
Lang 12
Mode 7
No Tube
Loud
Print
Repeat 1
Scroll
TV 0,1

...and the *ROMS *all unplugged apart from 11

Code: Select all

F Terminal
E VIEW
D ADFS
C BASIC
B DFS 5A
A ViewSheet
9 DFS 79
8 DFS 5A


Thanks for looking,
Sam
BBC Masters 128
MMC Rom
OS Switch 1.20, 3.20 and 3.50
PiTubeDirect (Internal)

dp11
Posts: 702
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:47 pm

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby dp11 » Sun Oct 01, 2017 6:02 pm

*con. tube

Then ctrl break

To enable tube

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5334
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby danielj » Sun Oct 01, 2017 6:03 pm

*configure intube for the internal tube, then, as dp11 says, *configure tube to turn it on :)

d

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 6604
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby hoglet » Sun Oct 01, 2017 9:45 pm

danielj wrote:*configure intube for the internal tube, then, as dp11 says, *configure tube to turn it on :)

If you only have an internal Co Pro, and nothing external, it's actually more reliable to *CONFIGURE EXTUBE - see this post for why:
http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/viewto ... 07#p146507

But as Dominic said earlier, *CONFIGURE TUBE is what's needed here.

Dave

crj
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 4:58 pm

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby crj » Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:04 am

Also, where is the Tube Host System hiding on the Master? On the BBC Micro it was sneaked into the DNFS ROM, but that doesn't exist on the Master.

I'm wondering if anything needs to be *INSERTed.

User avatar
jgharston
Posts: 2756
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Whitby/Sheffield

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby jgharston » Mon Oct 02, 2017 2:20 am

crj wrote:Also, where is the Tube Host System hiding on the Master? On the BBC Micro it was sneaked into the DNFS ROM, but that doesn't exist on the Master.
I'm wondering if anything needs to be *INSERTed.

It's in the MOS, nothing needs to be INSERTed, as you can't UNPLUG the MOS.

Code: Select all

$ bbcbasic
PDP11 BBC BASIC IV Version 0.25
(C) Copyright J.G.Harston 1989,2005-2015
>_

User avatar
Galaxy High
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:24 pm
Location: Wakefield

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby Galaxy High » Sat Oct 07, 2017 1:58 pm

Sorry I've been late responding, it's been a busy week.

Thanks for all your replies.

Still not getting any joy. Going to open up the beeb and have a look at the PiZero.

I'll let you know what happens.
BBC Masters 128
MMC Rom
OS Switch 1.20, 3.20 and 3.50
PiTubeDirect (Internal)

User avatar
Galaxy High
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:24 pm
Location: Wakefield

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby Galaxy High » Thu Oct 12, 2017 4:30 pm

Hello everyone.

Another busy week and only just got round to looking inside the beeb.

While trying to use *con.(figure) extube and *con. tube I noticed the pizero getting rather warm.

I saw a blob of solder on the pitubedirect pcb and removed it. Forgot to turn the beeb off and plugged it back in. :oops:

Burnt one of the tracers out so I've used a bit of ethernet to bridge it. (SK2 Pin 4 to JP1 Pin 2)

Still got the same problem though. PiZero still getting warm without initialisation.

Any help very much appreciated.

Thanx,
Sam
BBC Masters 128
MMC Rom
OS Switch 1.20, 3.20 and 3.50
PiTubeDirect (Internal)

dp11
Posts: 702
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:47 pm

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby dp11 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:03 pm

Can you post lots of photos of the setup?

dp11
Posts: 702
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:47 pm

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby dp11 » Sat Oct 14, 2017 3:59 pm

Can you tell us about how the sdcard is setup ? You did unzip the PiTubeDirect files and put them all on a blank SDCard ?

User avatar
Galaxy High
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:24 pm
Location: Wakefield

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby Galaxy High » Sun Oct 22, 2017 1:37 pm

Hello again,

Thanks for all your replies.

The SD card setup (from PiTubeDirect_Anaconda.zip)
bootcode.bin
config.txt
fixup_cd.dat
kernelrpi.img
kernelrpi2.img
kernelrpi3.img
kernelpibplus.img
kernelrpizero.img
LICENCE.braodcom.txt
README.txt
start_cd.elf

Here are my roms
Image

This is the jungle
Image

PiTubeDirect v1.3 with PiZero attached and bridge
Image

Burnt out tracer :oops:
Image

PiZero is still getting hot when plugged in and I can't initialise it.

This the method I'm using to test:

Acorn MOS
Turbo MMC
BASIC
>*CON. TUBE
>*CON EXTUBE
>*FX151,230,0
>*DIN45
>*TUBEELT

This program needs a 6502 Second Processor

>_

I'm completely at a loss with this. Is it the way I have the SD card setup?

Thanx again for your help,
Sam
BBC Masters 128
MMC Rom
OS Switch 1.20, 3.20 and 3.50
PiTubeDirect (Internal)

dp11
Posts: 702
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:47 pm

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby dp11 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 1:55 pm

After the *con. tube command you need Ctrl-Break.

I would also try the Dimondback release.

PiZero shouldn't be getting warm I wonder if it damaged some way.

User avatar
Galaxy High
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:24 pm
Location: Wakefield

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby Galaxy High » Sun Oct 22, 2017 2:27 pm

Thanks for your reply.

Still no joy with the Diamondback release (or CTRL Break)

Think I'm going to order the parts myself and build from scratch. I paid someone for the complete package before so there could be a number of variables concerning problems.

Thanks for you help.
BBC Masters 128
MMC Rom
OS Switch 1.20, 3.20 and 3.50
PiTubeDirect (Internal)

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5334
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby danielj » Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:08 pm

What does it display after ctrl break?

User avatar
Galaxy High
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:24 pm
Location: Wakefield

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby Galaxy High » Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:10 pm

Just the same screen as without CTRL Break

Acorn MOS
Turbo MMC
BASIC
>_
BBC Masters 128
MMC Rom
OS Switch 1.20, 3.20 and 3.50
PiTubeDirect (Internal)

User avatar
vanekp
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2000 7:09 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby vanekp » Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:26 pm

What happened to the track that got replaced by a wire did you short circuit something, may be permanent damage to your Pi or the level converter board.
Can you try the Pi on its own to see if that works with Pi software.

Peter.

User avatar
Galaxy High
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 3:24 pm
Location: Wakefield

Re: Initialising PiTubeDirect

Postby Galaxy High » Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:30 pm

vanekp wrote:What happened to the track that got replaced by a wire did you short circuit something, may be permanent damage to your Pi or the level converter board.
Can you try the Pi on its own to see if that works with Pi software.

Peter.

Hi Peter,

I have no means of testing the PiZero at the moment. I'll order a micro-HDMI adapter.

I stupidly plugged the PiTubeDirect back into the machine not realising it was powered on.

The device wasn't working before I burnt the tracer out though but it another factor I have to consider now.

Sam.
BBC Masters 128
MMC Rom
OS Switch 1.20, 3.20 and 3.50
PiTubeDirect (Internal)


Return to “hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests