Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

for bbc micro/electron hardware, peripherals & programming issues (NOT emulators!)
User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Sep 28, 2017 10:59 am

Hi,

I few weeks ago a received this nice Compudata Hard-drive (see pisc)... :D

I like to connect it to a Beeb, but I suppose I need drivers for this (or not)... :(

The only Compudata I found on *. was this:

viewtopic.php?f=41&t=5594&p=119930&hilit=compudata#p119930

Does anyone know how I get this hard-drive working on a Beeb?


Greetings, Wim... :-)
Attachments
P1220319 Compudata Front.JPG
P1220321 Compudata Rear.JPG
P1220323 Compudata  Label.JPG

User avatar
yellowpig
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 6:28 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby yellowpig » Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:17 am

I don't know about this model, but does it plug into the 1MHz bus? If so, what happens if you simply connect it and run SUPERFORM? (You will need ADFS, of course)

David

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:33 am

yellowpig wrote: does it plug into the 1MHz bus?

David

I don't know... :?


Greetings, Wim... :-)

rharper
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:19 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby rharper » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:08 pm

Multiwizard wrote:
yellowpig wrote: does it plug into the 1MHz bus?

David

I don't know... :?


Greetings, Wim... :-)

The plug will only be the right size for one socket under the beeb.
Just offer it up to see.
Ray
Raycomp

Boydie
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:25 am
Location: Sunny Wigan

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Boydie » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:20 pm

What's inside the case? I'm assuming that's a 34-way ribbon cable hanging out the back, in which case it ought to be connected to a 1 MHz -> scsi/sasi adapter board, which in turn connects either directly to the drive (if scsi/sasi) or to a sasi->st506 adapter board (if st506 drive).

If this is the configuration, it should plug into the 1MHz bus and ADFS should recognise it by default as drive 0 (ie floppies and HDs are opposite numbers to riscos). As already said, SUPERFORM should format it if not already done.

Boydie
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:25 am
Location: Sunny Wigan

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Boydie » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:22 pm

rharper wrote:
Multiwizard wrote:
yellowpig wrote: does it plug into the 1MHz bus?

David

I don't know... :?


Greetings, Wim... :-)

The plug will only be the right size for one socket under the beeb.
Just offer it up to see.
Ray


Both floppy and 1 MHz bus sockets are 34-pun, aren't they?

Boydie
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:25 am
Location: Sunny Wigan

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Boydie » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:24 pm

Boydie wrote:
Both floppy and 1 MHz bus sockets are 34-pun, aren't they?


Although there's something funny about a 34-pun socket.

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2515
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby oss003 » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:49 pm

I would be carefull with that because Compudata was an old company which became Tulip so it could be an external PC IDE harddisk.
Maybe if you open the case, you can wee if a controller is build in.

Greetings
Kees

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:52 pm

Yep,

the Disc Drive & 1 Mhz Bus have the same connector size...


Greetings, Wim... :-)

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:07 pm

It has a nice Bigfoot MFM SCSI hard drive... :-D

Sadly I can't (at the moment) get one of the screws loose to remove the drive to see how this SCSI board looks like... ;-(


Greetings, Wim... :-)
Attachments
P1220570.JPG
P1220572.JPG
P1220573.JPG

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1583
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby DutchAcorn » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:14 pm

Multiwizard wrote:Yep,

the Disc Drive & 1 Mhz Bus have the same connector size...


Greetings, Wim... :-)

Do you have any reason to believe this is an Acorn BBC harddisc?

Knowing Compudata it is very unlikely they ever made anything for Acorn computers. I'd advise not to connect it to the 1MHz bus. It is more likely to be an MFM hard disk that could be hooked up to an early PC (control cable is also 34 pins socket).
Paul

Boydie
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:25 am
Location: Sunny Wigan

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Boydie » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:34 pm

The hard drive is ST506 (you can tell by the connectors coming off the drive itself). This is confirmed if you say it's MFM (AFAIK this was only ever a subtype of ST506).

The scsi (likely actually sasi) connector you can see will be connecting the two boards which I described above. The upper board (which should be about the size of an arc podule) does 1 MHz to sasi, and the lower (about the same footprint as a 5.25" drive, or slightly bigger, and usually made by Adaptec for Acorn stuff) does sasi to ST506.

The photos look pretty much like the arrangement for real Acorn winchester systems. Ideally, I'd want to see the upper, smaller board to prove it.

Boydie
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:25 am
Location: Sunny Wigan

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Boydie » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:44 pm

There appears to be a booklet stuffed between the drive and the boards.

Don't suppose you'd be lucky enough for this to be relevant to the unit?

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:46 pm

Yes, I did manage to open it up... :-D

I did leave these pics in full size so you guys can zoom in close... 8)

So what is it, tell me tell me... :D


Greetings, Wim... :-)
Attachments
P1220574.JPG
P1220575.JPG
P1220576.JPG
P1220578.JPG

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:49 pm

Boydie wrote:There appears to be a booklet stuffed between the drive and the boards.

Don't suppose you'd be lucky enough for this to be relevant to the unit?

It's a part of a Dutch Vidimodem Manual...


Greetings, Wim... :-)

Boydie
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:25 am
Location: Sunny Wigan

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Boydie » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:54 pm

Take a look at http://cpu-ns32k.net/Acorn.html, figure 12. This shows the HD controllers for the Cambridge Workstation, which is are the same as Acorn used for their standalone winchester units.

I'll try to photograph and upload better pictures of Acorn controller boards, so you can compare components. But at first glance yours are looking rather familiar.

User avatar
oss003
Posts: 2515
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby oss003 » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:56 pm


User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:58 pm

Boydie wrote:Take a look at http://cpu-ns32k.net/Acorn.html, figure 12. This shows the HD controllers for the Cambridge Workstation, which is are the same as Acorn used for their standalone winchester units.

I'll try to photograph and upload better pictures of Acorn controller boards, so you can compare components. But at first glance yours are looking rather familiar.

Like this...


Greetings, Wim... :-)
Attachments
P1220579.JPG

Boydie
Posts: 108
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:25 am
Location: Sunny Wigan

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Boydie » Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:03 pm

Check out the Acorn Winchester 110 and 130 Service Manual on Chris's Acorns. The appendices contain the parts list (and layout) of the 1 MHz -> scsi adapter board, as well as saying which Adaptec board they used.

From what I can tell, the layout of all the ICs is the same, as are the ICs themselves. That's either a rip-off of the Acorn scsi board (or unbadged oem version) or one heck of a coincidental design!
Last edited by Boydie on Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1583
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby DutchAcorn » Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:14 pm

It looks very similar.
Paul

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Sep 28, 2017 4:25 pm

DutchAcorn wrote:It looks very similar.


Thanks for all this information guys... - =D>

Paul,

if I'm correct, I could put it all together again and connect it to my Master 512, which is already connected to a Winchester Disc 310

And see what happens?


Greetings, Wim... :-)
Last edited by Multiwizard on Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1583
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby DutchAcorn » Thu Sep 28, 2017 5:02 pm

Multiwizard wrote:
DutchAcorn wrote:It looks very similar.


Thanks for al this information guys... - =D>

Paul,

if I'm correct, I could put it all together again and connect it to my Master 512, which is already connected to a Winchester Disc 310

And see what happens?


Greetings, Wim... :-)

Yes! After you disconnect the other drive. :D
Paul

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Sep 28, 2017 5:09 pm

I couldn't wait,, I was too curious... :mrgreen:

It does do something... :D


Greetings, Wim... :-)
Attachments
P1220583 FileServer.JPG

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Sep 28, 2017 5:17 pm

I thought perhaps C: would do something,, it didn't... :(

But D: did... :-k


Greetings, Wim... ;-)
Attachments
P1220584.JPG

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1583
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby DutchAcorn » Thu Sep 28, 2017 5:20 pm

Multiwizard wrote:I thought perhaps C: would do something,, it didn't... :(

But D: did... :-k


Greetings, Wim... ;-)

Code: Select all

*configure noboot
<ctrl>-<break>
*cat
Paul

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Sep 28, 2017 5:24 pm

DutchAcorn wrote:
Multiwizard wrote:I thought perhaps C: would do something,, it didn't... :(

But D: did... :-k


Greetings, Wim... ;-)

Code: Select all

*configure noboot
<ctrl>-<break>
*cat

Let me guess,,, Shift+Break?


Greetings, Wim... :-)
Attachments
P1220585.JPG

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1179
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby Multiwizard » Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:14 pm

Nope, Shift+Break didn't do the trick... :-(


Greetings, Wim... :-)

KenLowe
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 4:35 pm

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby KenLowe » Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:42 pm

A bit of a guess, as I don't have a Master, but try

*CONFIGURE NOTUBE

and then try a CTRL-BREAK or CTRL-SHIFT-BREAK

If that doesn't work, enter:

*TYPE !BOOT

and post the results.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5118
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby danielj » Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:44 pm

It looks like a disc from a level 3 fileserver!

Someone should have an idea about how to get the stuff off it?

d.

johnkenyon
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:21 pm
Location: Coventry

Re: Compudata Hard-drive CS-1057

Postby johnkenyon » Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:54 pm

danielj wrote:It looks like a disc from a level 3 fileserver!

Someone should have an idea about how to get the stuff off it?

d.


Connect the ACB SCSI interface to a Linux PC with a SCSI card and image the drive?


Return to “hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests