NuLA demos

for bbc micro/electron hardware, peripherals & programming issues (NOT emulators!)
User avatar
trixster
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: NuLA demos

Postby trixster » Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:48 pm

Disregard all of the above, sorted it!

the sotbrom needed to be in bank1 which does not offer self-write protection. It works now. and it's amazing! It's a shame the gbs8200 outputs at 60hz as i get a slight stutter so it's not completely smooth, but it still looks great!
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + RPi2 CoPro + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO

RobC
Posts: 1724
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm

Re: NuLA demos

Postby RobC » Sat Sep 30, 2017 3:27 pm

Glad you got it working.

The sideways RAM code is self-modifying (for the graphics relocation code and for pointer storage) so needs to be in a bank that allows this. I can't use any main memory for this as it's all being used for the display!

sbadger
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 1:12 pm
Location: Farnham, Surrey

Re: NuLA demos

Postby sbadger » Sat Sep 30, 2017 4:56 pm

hoglet wrote:
sbadger wrote:I still get Card? though :-({|= )

Can you do *HELP and *ROMS and report back with the exact output? (a photo would be ideal).

Dave

hey hoglet,

not ignoring you.
I just don't know what's up with my master. The swram seems to work fine untill I load the mammfs rom. I thought i'd cracked it with the bad jumper but apparently not. I can load other roms (i tried the master welcome disk spriter rom and it's works fine) and loading mammfs presented itseld after the crtl.brk once, (and gave 'card?') but tried again and it just kills the swram until i power off for a bit. it's really strange. I'm back on the acorn vid ULA so don't think it's anything to do with that.

cheers
stew
A3020 | BBC B x2 | Electrn | Master | RPi x3
A600 | C64 "breadbox"| C64 C | XB360 | GB | GBC | GBA | GBASP | DS | 3DS XL & new | MD | MS
Atari 7600 | PS1-2-3-4 | PSP | Vita | SNES | GC | N64 | Wii & U | Switch | Jamma Cab | Sony PVMx2

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: NuLA demos

Postby trixster » Sat Sep 30, 2017 8:30 pm

RobC wrote:Glad you got it working.

The sideways RAM code is self-modifying (for the graphics relocation code and for pointer storage) so needs to be in a bank that allows this. I can't use any main memory for this as it's all being used for the display!


I've found that after I load the sotbrom into slot 1 if i press break to refresh the roms the demo then works fine, but if i ctrl-break then i get the following issue

Image
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + RPi2 CoPro + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO

RobC
Posts: 1724
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm

Re: NuLA demos

Postby RobC » Sat Sep 30, 2017 8:49 pm

trixster wrote:I've found that after I load the sotbrom into slot 1 if i press break to refresh the roms the demo then works fine, but if i ctrl-break then i get the following issue

I'll take a look at it when I have a chance. Out of interest, which ROM board is this with?

Thanks,

Rob

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: NuLA demos

Postby trixster » Sun Oct 01, 2017 7:02 am

A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + RPi2 CoPro + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO

RobC
Posts: 1724
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm

Re: NuLA demos

Postby RobC » Sun Oct 01, 2017 7:41 am

trixster wrote:The ifel rom/ram board

Thanks - pretty sure I have one of those somewhere (although unfitted) so I should be able to replicate the problem.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: NuLA demos

Postby trixster » Sun Oct 01, 2017 10:43 am

Cool, I'm assuming there's a clash between the turbommc rom and the sotbrom. This is how I have the roms set up:

IMG_6037.JPG
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + RPi2 CoPro + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO

RobC
Posts: 1724
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm

Re: NuLA demos

Postby RobC » Sun Oct 01, 2017 2:31 pm

It's probably something dodgy on my part - the sideways ROM code was a very rushed job as I concentrated on the relocation code and getting the display stuff running from main RAM.


Return to “hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests