Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

chat about arc/risc pc gaming & RISC OS software here (NOT the core OS!)

Related forum: adventures


User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2733
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby flaxcottage » Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:59 pm

Attached is a copy of the drivers for the Iomega ZIP100 parallel port external drive. I use these for backing up my A5000 and the Level 4 Econet storage on my A3020.

They will work on A3020, A4000, A5000 with certainty. I have not tested on other machines, though there is a folder with RISCOS 4 components :?: .

Once the !Zip application is loaded *help izipfs at the command prompt will list the low-level commands. *help <command name> will give info on that command.

Works very well on my A3020. The only problems I encountered are that some second-hand disks will not format to the Acorn ZIP format. Sometimes using *IzipErase at the command prompt will totally wipe the disc and then allow it to be formatted. Sometimes it trashes the disc. :(

The attached zip file should only be opened in RISCOS otherwise all the file types will be set to random values and the files renamed. !SparkFS was used to create the zip file. The read-only version can unzip it.
Attachments
zipdrive.zip
(76.92 KiB) Downloaded 172 times
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer

User avatar
Estrayk
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby Estrayk » Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:00 pm

(Sorry for up this old thread)
I have tested it and it works perfectly with a my parallel ZIP drive on my A3010, but it would be great if the disks I have formatted in ADFS could read them on my USB ZIP drive in Windows to transfer files. :cry:

Is there any way I can read ZIP disks in ADFS on Windows?
Or Is there any way to read FAT32 disks in RiscOS 3.10?

thanks

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2733
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby flaxcottage » Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:27 pm

Not that I have found. :(

I transfer files betwixt PC and Archimedes using PC-format floppy discs. They are old school but the A3010 can read 1.44Mb formatted PC discs. I use a USB floppy drive and that is just fine. File types can be a problem if transferring applications. The problem is alleviated by zipping on the Archimedes and transferring the zip file to PC for backing up. Data files transfer OK, eg. text files, wmf files, draw files, etc.
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer

steve3000
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby steve3000 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 11:21 pm

Estrayk wrote:Or Is there any way to read FAT32 disks in RiscOS 3.10?
thanks

Did I miss something, surely this is what everyone does?

Just 5 minutes ago tonight I finished transferring some files from my Windows 7 laptop (connected to a 250mb usb zip drive) using a PC format 100mb Zip disc, to my A5000 fitted with a parallel port Zip drive, running Iomega zip drivers, !Zip.

Is that what you're asking?

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2733
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby flaxcottage » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:18 am

Interesting that you have done that, Steve.

My version of Windows 7 does not recognise any PC-Format zip discs on my USB 250 Mb zip drive. The drive is recognised but discs will not read/write. The drive is recognised on my Vista laptop and read/write work OK. WinXP works perfectly, of course. :D

On my A5000 PC-format zip discs are reported as unformatted. :( :?
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer

User avatar
Estrayk
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby Estrayk » Thu Sep 21, 2017 12:43 pm

steve3000 wrote:
Estrayk wrote:Or Is there any way to read FAT32 disks in RiscOS 3.10?
thanks

Did I miss something, surely this is what everyone does?

Just 5 minutes ago tonight I finished transferring some files from my Windows 7 laptop (connected to a 250mb usb zip drive) using a PC format 100mb Zip disc, to my A5000 fitted with a parallel port Zip drive, running Iomega zip drivers, !Zip.

Is that what you're asking?


Hmmm....
If I format a 100mb ZIP-disk with my WIndows (FAT16) -Iomega ZIP100 USB-, RiscOS 3.10 in my Acorn A3010 dont recognize it. It says "unformatted"
I dont understand nothing. how is possible?

How do you format the zip disks in Windows 7? with RIGHT-BUTTON format option at icon or with "diskpart" command-line-prompt?

:-k :-k :-k

flaxcottage wrote:I
On my A5000 PC-format zip discs are reported as unformatted. :( :?


Same here. :(

User avatar
Estrayk
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby Estrayk » Thu Sep 21, 2017 1:45 pm

I made a video of the process:

https://youtu.be/nsDvl6rAlaY

steve3000
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby steve3000 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:13 pm

Estrayk wrote:Hmmm....
If I format a 100mb ZIP-disk with my WIndows (FAT16) -Iomega ZIP100 USB-, RiscOS 3.10 in my Acorn A3010 dont recognize it. It says "unformatted"
I dont understand nothing. how is possible?

Maybe my Iomega drivers are different (they came with the drive, not from here)? Do you have the option to format zip discs as PC format on your A3010? This is what I do (as I couldn't work out how to do this under win7...but the information above will be very useful :))

I'll download the drivers above and try tonight....

User avatar
Estrayk
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby Estrayk » Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:18 pm

steve3000 wrote:Do you have the option to format zip discs as PC format on your A3010?


Ermmm... nope. :(

I did not know that there were two kind of drivers for the zip drives. Can you share that driver? Or its is commercial?

Trapper
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby Trapper » Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:55 pm

I can format my Zip discs as FAT both on RISC OS (using !Zip and Partis drivers) and then read on my PC via a 250MB USB drive. I'm running the latest release of x64 Windows 10 so drivers aren't a problem.

I can also format the zip disc in Windows as FAT and it reads on my A3010 with a parallel zip drive.

Weird.

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2733
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby flaxcottage » Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:35 pm

Weird indeed. :?
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer

User avatar
Estrayk
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby Estrayk » Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:38 pm

Fixed. If I format the disk with A3010, it works in Windows. Now, I can transfer files easy!!! thanks to all.

steve3000
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby steve3000 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:21 pm

Estrayk wrote:Fixed. If I format the disk with A3010, it works in Windows. Now, I can transfer files easy!!! thanks to all.

Glad you sorted it. :)

FYI I've just tried the zip drivers attached at the top of the thread and they are identical to the drivers I'm using, so everyone should be able to use them to read/write/format DOS zip discs... But sounds like best practice is to format zip discs as DOS under RISC OS, to avoid compatibility issues.

crj
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 4:58 pm

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby crj » Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:59 pm

My guess: Windows by default treats a Zip drive as a hard drive and installs a partition table. RISC OS is intended to handle floppies, so expects a disc where the FAT32 filesystem begins right at the start of the disk.

In my experience, regardless of how Windows formats a disc, in practice it will accept discs both with and without a partition table, which would explain why it mattered which computer you used to do the formatting.

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 6676
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby 1024MAK » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:33 pm

Slightly off topic, but may still give an insight...

MO discs (Wikipedia page here) can be formatted as either a "floppy" format or a "HDD" format on a Windows PC using the MO application software. But I think Windows own dialog only does the "HDD" format (it does not give a "floppy" format option). Not that a low format is actually done. Given how quick it is, it can only be writing a high level file system"format".

Mark
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...

steve3000
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby steve3000 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:38 pm

crj wrote:My guess: Windows by default treats a Zip drive as a hard drive and installs a partition table.

Quite possibly that's why the discs don't work with the Iomega driver, although it's not because RISC OS was only "intended to handle floppies" (since RISC OS was intended to handle hard discs from the outset :)) but more because the author of the Argo ZIP drivers (the ones in the first post) chose only to support floppy implementation.

It is entirely up to the author of the driver as to what disc and partition formats they write their drivers to accept. Other ZIP drivers exist under RISC OS and accept different implementations - check out the drivers from Gary Partis here: http://www.partis.org/acorn/main.php - I believe these work with partitioned discs :) (although they are still commercial, but a read only demo is available :) )

The Argo Zip drivers from the first post can also be downloaded from here: http://downloads.orpheusweb.co.uk/pub/RISCOS/Argo/Zip/

steve3000
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby steve3000 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:47 pm

During experimenting with the different drivers tonight, I noticed an incredibly useful *command with the Argo Zip drivers which completely erases password-protected Zip discs: *IZipErase

This is useful because you cannot reformat password protected Zip discs unless you know the password... I know that in the past, I was able to erase password protected discs using the Iomega Zip tool under Windows 95/98 and possibly XP, but this hasn't worked in several versions of Windows - and I realised a year or two ago that I've accumulated a hand full of forgotten-password protected Zip discs and had no way to reformat them.

If you're ever in this situation, just load the Argo Zip driver, insert the protected disc, press f12, type *IZipErase, wait for the disc to spin up, then return to the desktop, and you'll see the Zip icon counting up in % from 0 to 100%. It takes about 10 minutes per disc, but once complete, you can reformat and use the disc again :)

crj
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 4:58 pm

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby crj » Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:43 am

steve3000 wrote:although it's not because RISC OS was only "intended to handle floppies" (since RISC OS was intended to handle hard discs from the outset :))

Sorry - I should have been more precise.

The DOS filesystem support in RISC OS 3 was only intended to handle floppies.

steve3000
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby steve3000 » Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:09 am

crj wrote:The DOS filesystem support in RISC OS 3 was only intended to handle floppies.

It handles CD-ROMs and single hard disc partitions too.

The big limit with DOSFS under RISCOS 3.1, is that it only supports single partitions and only up to FAT16 with no long filename support. (probably because FAT32 and NTFS and LFN didn't exist in 1991...although Acorn could have added this support in later versions of RO3 for the RiscPC, but they didn't, which was frustrating)

So if windows is laying down a FAT32 table or a second partition, then that will fail to read under RO3.

crj
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 4:58 pm

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby crj » Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:55 am

steve3000 wrote:It handles CD-ROMs and single hard disc partitions too.

Huh?

CD-ROMs don't contain a DOS filesystem. They use ISO 9660.

And if RISC OS 3 could handle a DOS filesystem on a hard drive with a partition table, that's news to me. Not that I ever tried. DOSFS was an image filesystem so it could dig into an image file that existed within an ADFS filesystem for the benefit of the PC emulator, though.

User avatar
Estrayk
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:24 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Archimedes Iomega ZIP drivers

Postby Estrayk » Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:48 pm

Hi, I made a video with the process of downloading, transfer via zip drive and running an ADFFS in my A3010.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QsWfd1i4TI0

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:


Return to “software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest