Page 1 of 1

How to get ADPL games to run on my A3010 - solved!

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:25 pm
by KarateEd
Hi Folks,

I've downloaded a fair bunch of ADPL programs for their site. I think I understood the way to get these unzipped on the A3010 and then get them running. I've had success with a couple of the downloads but the next two I tried I just get programs that are 'white' and don't run. They probably have the wrong Set type. These files are Set type &0D7.

I extracted the Zip file using !SpartFS then copied the files into a reachable folder (in this case it was IDFFS::Part2.$

At the moment you are just looking at the Games3 folder and it's contents. I have tried moving them to the aforementioned folder with no good results so...... am I doing something wrong or is it likely these need a different Set type? I've tried all the Set types I can find and nothing seems to allow them to run.

Thanks for any help given.

Ed...... :-)

DSCF1395.JPG

Re: How to get ADPL games to run on my A3010

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 5:56 pm
by dhg2
Hi,

I think they're ArcFS archives, which you need ArcFS to open.

ArcFS used to be available from a site called 'the ARM club' (armclub.org.uk) but now that site seems to be down. So I've uploaded ArcFS to my personal webserver: http://dusthillguy.ddns.net/folder/file ... /arcfs.zip

Re: How to get ADPL games to run on my A3010

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 6:19 pm
by KarateEd
dhg2 wrote:Hi,

I think they're ArcFS archives, which you need ArcFS to open.

ArcFS used to be available from a site called 'the ARM club' (armclub.org.uk) but now that site seems to be down. So I've uploaded ArcFS to my personal webserver: http://dusthillguy.ddns.net/folder/file ... /arcfs.zip


Thanks for your response.....

Yes and No..... !SparkFS opens these files just fine and converts them. !SparkFS is newer and well developed.

I found the problem...... the files in this particular archive are gameboy emulated files, that's why they show the way they do.

I wasn't sure how to load these but I see once I open the folder that has some working GB games in it with the emulator there as well, the files now take on their correct properties and therefore are now running. These are on disks 177-1 to 177-9 for the ADPL games archives. Hope this helps someone else having the same issues.

Ed...... :-)

Re: How to get ADPL games to run on my A3010 - solved!

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 8:58 pm
by KarateEd
Well, for now this is all a moot point as my H/D just died......

Oh well, I think I have a couple more around, best be finding them.

Ed...... :-)

Re: How to get ADPL games to run on my A3010 - solved!

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:06 am
by vanpeebles
They look like rom files for an emulator.

Re: How to get ADPL games to run on my A3010

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:35 pm
by matt_nottm
dhg2 wrote:Hi,

I think they're ArcFS archives, which you need ArcFS to open.

ArcFS used to be available from a site called 'the ARM club' (armclub.org.uk) but now that site seems to be down. So I've uploaded ArcFS to my personal webserver: http://dusthillguy.ddns.net/folder/file ... /arcfs.zip


It is back up now, thanks for flagging the issue.

https://armclub.org.uk/products/arcfs/

Re: How to get ADPL games to run on my A3010 - solved!

Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 5:04 pm
by KarateEd
Found another H/D, now have 8 partitions.... a ton of space. Took me a while to get my OS up and running properly as I hadn't considered backing up certain things from an A3010 point of view. I'll be making backups of certain things like the 2 application diskettes but.... I'll be doing that with all the Set types attached so that it's only a copy to h/d should this happen again.

It was fun figuring it all out all over again..... in my older mind, it's what helps things stick more permanently.

Ed...... :-)