Different versions of Zarch?

chat about arc/risc pc gaming & RISC OS software here (NOT the core OS!)

Related forum: adventures


User avatar
trixster
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Different versions of Zarch?

Postby trixster » Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:40 pm

Are there multiple different versions of Zarch?

I think I have two - the version from the Zarch/golf archive which has quite musical sound effects. The radars emit a quiet beep every-so-often.

I also have the original disk version which has quite sparse, harsh gunfire and explosion sound effects. There's no radar beep.

Any other different versions?
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

sirbod
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:44 am
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby sirbod » Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:56 pm

trixster wrote:Are there multiple different versions of Zarch?

There's only one version of Zarch, in two releases...the original and the Play It Again Sam release.

The "musical" effect is down to it relying on the WaveSynth, Percussion and StringLib Modules being in the same order they were in Arthur. I've posted the fix on here somewhere, or look at the ADFFS boot script.

EDIT: Here's the post, you need to swap the order of Percussion and StringLib
Last edited by sirbod on Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:50 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby trixster » Fri Feb 10, 2017 9:20 pm

Ah, great, thanks!
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

User avatar
Multiwizard
Posts: 1183
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby Multiwizard » Fri Feb 10, 2017 10:33 pm

Hi,

you mean Zarch versions for the Acorn?

A few weeks ago I was looking for nice games for my Atari 1040ST, the name of this game was VIRUS:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KHTD-gA5QZs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjVeZ9c9fLM


Greetings, Wim... :-)

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby trixster » Sun Feb 12, 2017 10:59 am

Yup, I was just thinking about the acorn Zarch, not Virus on the Amiga/ST.

What sirbod says makes sense now. I always did wonder why the Zarch I played as a kid in school on A3000s never sounded like the Zarch I've recently played on my A3020.
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

RichP
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:07 pm

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby RichP » Sat Apr 22, 2017 4:40 pm

I thought there was an updated version created when they upgraded the ARM processor in the Arhcimedes? I'm sure it was because the original version glitched or ran too fast on the new hardware. Is this true? I'm sure I read this somewhere

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby Zarchos » Sat Apr 22, 2017 5:36 pm

I also believe there's a wizzard who recently enhanced Zarch but he's too humble to say it ;-)

RichP
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:07 pm

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby RichP » Sat Apr 22, 2017 6:49 pm

Zarchos wrote:I also believe there's a wizzard who recently enhanced Zarch but he's too humble to say it ;-)


Pleased tell me about this! I am completely obsessed with this game. I find it strange there are no proper gameplay videos on Youtube. People will just be trying it out but no one will be playing very far into the game. I spoke to a guy on here who said he got to Wave 27 back when it was released. I want to see what techniques people use and learn from them.

User avatar
trixster
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 11:45 am
Location: York

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby trixster » Sat Apr 22, 2017 7:30 pm

Read this thread http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/viewto ... 29&t=10313 and prepare to be amazed
A3020 | A3000 | BBC B + 128K RAM/ROM + 20K Shadow + Pi0 + VideoNuLA
BBC Master Turbo + DC | Atom | A1200 060 | A500 | Jaguar | A420/1
A4000/040 060 | Atari Falcon 060 | Saturn | PS1 | SNES | CPC6128 | C64 | 3DO | MD

RichP
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:07 pm

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby RichP » Sat Apr 22, 2017 9:31 pm

Looks freaking amazing! Very strange for me because I was wondering last night if anyone would ever attempt to enhance and optimise Zarch - and today I found out they have. How many fps' does it run at on an A3010? Seriously thinking about buying an Archie again now.

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby Zarchos » Sat Apr 22, 2017 9:41 pm

RichP wrote:Looks freaking amazing! Very strange for me because I was wondering last night if anyone would ever attempt to enhance and optimise Zarch - and today I found out they have. How many fps' does it run at on an A3010? Seriously thinking about buying an Archie again now.


I'm sure you've also read the thread to overclock the A3010 to 26 Mhz ... and the videos on YT ...

;-)

People on this board are fantastic !

RichP
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:07 pm

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby RichP » Sun Apr 23, 2017 8:45 pm

Zarchos wrote:
I'm sure you've also read the thread to overclock the A3010 to 26 Mhz ... and the videos on YT ...

;-)

People on this board are fantastic !


I haven't read the whole thread in complete detail yet but I've skimmed through it twice. I thought it hadn't been finished yet? I couldn;t see any YT videos. I'll look again.

What is this version of Zarch https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9x3I9Szpr8 . Looks a lot faster and smoother than the version I play on Arculator!

sirbod
Posts: 619
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 8:44 am
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby sirbod » Mon Apr 24, 2017 10:20 am

RichP wrote:I thought there was an updated version created when they upgraded the ARM processor in the Archimedes? I'm sure it was because the original version glitched or ran too fast on the new hardware. Is this true?

Not true I'm afraid, only two versions were released. The original and the Play It Again Sam, which was identical code wise, but didn't include the loader and its disc protection.
RichP wrote:Looks freaking amazing! Very strange for me because I was wondering last night if anyone would ever attempt to enhance and optimise Zarch - and today I found out they have. How many fps' does it run at on an A3010? Seriously thinking about buying an Archie again now.

I've yet to implement any of the proposed optimizations, I'm still working on getting the original game stable enough to drop additional code in. It runs at 4 fps on an 8MHz and needs ~66MHz to run at 25 fps. This will improve once optimized as the new line fill is nearly 3 times quicker than the original.

I was planning on posting a video over the weekend on the JASPP YouTube channel, so spent a fair bit on time on it this past week to get it stable enough to demo. I didn't get a chance to record it though, as my son wasn't well.

RichP
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 4:07 pm

Re: Different versions of Zarch?

Postby RichP » Tue Apr 25, 2017 6:54 pm

sirbod wrote:I've yet to implement any of the proposed optimizations, I'm still working on getting the original game stable enough to drop additional code in. It runs at 4 fps on an 8MHz and needs ~66MHz to run at 25 fps. This will improve once optimized as the new line fill is nearly 3 times quicker than the original.

I was planning on posting a video over the weekend on the JASPP YouTube channel, so spent a fair bit on time on it this past week to get it stable enough to demo. I didn't get a chance to record it though, as my son wasn't well.


Thanks for the info on Zarch versions. Just watching the new video you posted showing the projects progress. Looks superb at the moment! Thank you for all your hard work and also to everyone who assisted along the way. Please keep going with the optimisations to get it running at 25fps on original Archimedes CPU or even 12Mhz CPU. Getting it running on a base model is the holy grail. If you set up a donations page I will definitely contribute. I know how hard it can be to finish projects like this.


Return to “software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests