!HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

chat about arc/risc pc gaming & RISC OS software here (NOT the core OS!)

Related forum: adventures


Trapper
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am

!HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby Trapper » Sun Feb 05, 2017 9:18 pm

Righto I've tried every flavour of !HForm out there and I've noticed the same thing keeps happening.

I almost get a CF card to fully format under one version of !HForm, usually one from RISC OS 3.60 on wards, then it errors out.

When I next open *any* version of !HForm it always detects the parking cylinder at position 1. Always!

When I tried using !Form v2.51 and initializing all 4GB of card space when I next ran !HForm it showed the parking cylinder as 45!

This is really odd, and I think it is why !HForm is failing. I've checked the code for !HForm v2.56 and it refers to a PROC ParkingCylinder, but that procedure isn't in the code.

Any ideas?! This is the only combination of adapter and card that reports the correct drive geometry back. Another 512MB CF Card, another CF Card adapter, an IDE to SD adapter and an IDE to CF to SD adapter all of these report garbage when !HForm queries the drive.
Attachments
v2-56_too_large.jpg
v2-56_parking.jpg
v2-51_part_05.jpg
v2-51_part_04.jpg
v2-51_part_02.jpg
v2-51_part_01.jpg
v2-51_error.jpg
v2-23_error.jpg
hform_versions.jpg
cf_card.jpg

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5133
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby danielj » Sun Feb 05, 2017 9:55 pm

Hi Matt - I replied on facebook, but will re-iterate here:

I'm trying to remember how I did it, but I think I just made up the geometry to give a certain size. I don't remember asking HForm to work it out. You will struggle with CF cards - I never managed to get one to work. The adapter's a straight through thing, so changing CF adapter won't make any difference - the ide interface is on the card itself. Go back to the sd-cf-ide solution and just give it a geometry that would make 510MB or something..? If you have one of the sd-ide converters with 2 ICs on it, that will probably work. The single IC ones are a bit grumpy again with the RiscPC IDE interface.

d.

steve3000
Posts: 1690
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby steve3000 » Sun Feb 05, 2017 11:09 pm

Using the geometry I listed in this post might help... But as Daniel says, it is not easy to find CF cards which work on pre-RiscPC Acorns.

One solution which has been seen to work on a Castle IDE interface is to soft-load the Wizzo IDEFS ROM, which supports a much wider range of CF cards. However on the A3010, this requires you use a floppy disc to boot initially (takes about 5 seconds to load the ROM file), before IDEFS takes over. See my thread here: http://www.stardot.org.uk/forums/viewto ... 47#p140562

Trapper
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby Trapper » Mon Feb 06, 2017 4:17 pm

What?! I had no idea you could use IDEFS!

I thought if it wasn't on the card, then I doesn't support it!

The Castle IDE podule just has a custom build of ADFS ad IDE_Utilities!

Trapper
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby Trapper » Mon Feb 06, 2017 4:33 pm

Nah. Doesn't work. No IDE drives found.

RobC
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby RobC » Mon Feb 06, 2017 4:34 pm

I've got CF cards working with a Castle IDE mini-podule in my A3000.

However, I was only able to get it to work with Sandisk cards (the red/blue ones) and in a particular configuration. I think I ended up using 2 256MB cards in a dual CF card adapter like this one:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Sourcingmap-Dual-CF-to-44-Pin-2-5-Inch-IDE-Hard-Drive-Adapter-/122290621221?hash=item1c7916cb25:g:EtEAAOSwzJ5XeXCi

It didn't work with just one card installed (or using a single adapter) but was fine when both were in place in the dual one!

Also, I found that certain cards/combinations appeared to format okay but failed when loading large files (ISTR loading Pacmania being a good test!). It was only when I tried the 2 256MB cards in the dual adapter that all was well. I can dig out the A3000 and check the details for you if you want.

As Steve says, Wizzo IDEFS improves CF compatibility significantly. I use it in my A4 and A5000 and had no problems with any CF cards (IDE->SD was a different matter).
Last edited by RobC on Mon Feb 06, 2017 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RobC
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby RobC » Mon Feb 06, 2017 4:36 pm

Trapper wrote:Nah. Doesn't work. No IDE drives found.

Are you using the disk Steve posted? I had this working on my A3020 without any issues.

Trapper
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby Trapper » Mon Feb 06, 2017 5:14 pm

Indeed. The module does state for A5000/A4. I'm running an A3010 with ARM2
Attachments
idefs_error.jpg

RobC
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby RobC » Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:00 pm

Trapper wrote:Indeed. The module does state for A5000/A4. I'm running an A3010 with ARM2

I don't think that matters - I used the same one on my A3020 using the on-board IDE interface (which I think should be the same as the Castle mini-podule).

To format the card, try using the ICS utilities found here: http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org.uk/Software.html#I

Trapper
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby Trapper » Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:40 pm

Needs the ICS IDEFS module.

I almost got it done using a RISC OS 2 version of !HForm with the RISC Developments IDEFS tool. Almost!

RobC
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby RobC » Tue Feb 07, 2017 7:38 am

Trapper wrote:Needs the ICS IDEFS module.

Does it? I'm pretty sure I just used the Wizzo one when I formatted the card in my A4.

Trapper
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby Trapper » Tue Feb 07, 2017 5:13 pm

Sorry it needs AN IDEFS module. As it's a Castle interface it uses ADFS, so not IDEFS on controller.

Could someone rip it and send it over to me?!

Trapper
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby Trapper » Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:55 pm

*bump*!

RobC
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 9:41 pm

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby RobC » Thu Feb 09, 2017 8:41 pm

Can you not use the IDEFS ROM in the zip file that Steve posted in the Wizzo thread?

EDIT: Thinking about it, I had that working on the built-in IDE in an A3020 with the ICS formatter. (I was using a 2GB DOM rather than a CF card but the principle is the same.)

Trapper
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am

Re: !HForm errors - RISC OS 3.10, Castle IDE mini-podule on an A3010

Postby Trapper » Sat Mar 11, 2017 4:25 pm

Just to close this thread down I ended up buying a certain model of CF Card as recommended by other users. It seemed the easiest thing to do, and cheapest given how much I'd already spent on the project!

Still with a dual CF card adapter I have 2x 256MB IDE drives, and that is more than enough for a RISC OS 3.1x machine!


Return to “software”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests