with little shame update smartest1613

discussion of beeb/electron applications, languages, utils and educational s/w
duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

with little shame update smartest1613

Postby duikkie » Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:14 am

edit on end of item : latest smart rom version


oke in zip a totally not useable program :)

it is from 3-drv

i have changed the user-via setup rountine
and the mmc-init routine

it runs from page=&1100
and assemble program at 6180 ... in rom mmc part A180 and further

PROCzoekpblines is called
it looks voor the mmc cardholder with card

mmc-init checks if the card is SDHC=1 need 1 for block transfer
if not mmc/sd=2 2 is for byte transfer
if not 0 is no card , then also pblines =0

i have not tested other pblines ( i have to solder pb0/pb1 to pb2/pb3 or so)
but the most will have the SUPERMMC with pb0/pb1 what will give
pblineskoppel=1

what i need is other cards like MMC , give it the result 1 ??
are there SDHC or other cards out there ??
try it in the mmc holder

run the program with sd/mmc card
take out the card
put in the SDHC or other card
type old<return>
type run<return>

and if it hangs or don't give 2 or 1 at card sort tell me :)
if so have a pb2/3 or pb4/5 mmc cardholder ( why ??? )
report if the program hangs , or do something else
Attachments
WORKMMC10021.zip
(8 KiB) Downloaded 84 times
Last edited by duikkie on Sat Jan 16, 2016 1:41 pm, edited 17 times in total.

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom how has mmc card ?

Postby duikkie » Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:29 pm

according too AN11070 file mmc card will fail the ACMD41 command :(
and

sd card cmd8 and acmd41 can pass and still be a sd card :(

back to the programing init :(

if acmd41 fail than cmd1
if SDHC good check with cmd58 ccs bit in ocr ?? 0 is SD 1 is SDHC with block adress)

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom who has mmc card ?

Postby duikkie » Wed Feb 11, 2015 9:18 pm

really hopeless :(

i can't find if a SD card version 2 will accept the CMD1 command ?

the problem is by the beeb and other not pc's is there is a difference

between block address and byte adress.

i can't find on internet if there are SDHC cards with byte adress ?? if this is impossible then only SDHC cards need different calculations

i can't find if there are SD cards ver2,3,4 ?? that have block adress

or can all SD cards which version does not matter handle CMD1 command and so byte adress ?


all the flow charts of init sd/mmc/sdhc are like this

if cmd8 is illigal then card is mmc/sd
if cmd8 is accepted it can still be sd card byte adress (ver 2)

why not :

if cmd1 is not accepted then card must be block address (sdhc and more) ??

simple question are there sd cards that do not work on beeb mmc , that are fat16 formatted without HC that still not work ?????

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom who has SD card ver. 2

Postby duikkie » Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:33 pm

work from 12 feb 2015

an alter drv file

to init a card i now use a flowchart no one discripe :)

i use CMD0 and CMD1 this is good for , mmc ver3 card, and SD card
not useing CMD8 to detect if is it MCC or SD

a SDHC card will not responce to a cmd1 command gives 001 code all the time (idle state from cmd0) , i use a timeout loop
if 254 times the card will not responce correct to cmd 1 command it must be something else then a mmc/sd card
it then gets cmd8 , cmd 55,acmd41 and all get
cmd16 command even a SDHC card is fixed for that

i hope the result is that all SD cards even version 2 cards ??? with bytes accesse wil give you card sort 2 and all other cards like SDHC will give 1 ( the block access cards.
Attachments
WORKMMC12021.zip
(10.37 KiB) Downloaded 47 times

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom who has mmc card ?

Postby duikkie » Fri Feb 13, 2015 3:15 pm

no output to day , the pblines koppel is not right, because on asl and rol it sends pb0 as output so if you have pb2,3 the rol a is not good have have to rol two more times (pb0=1 then for the same result you must rol a , rol a then pb2=1 rol a and rol a again it is pb4, rol a rol a is pb6=1)

so to start like sending number 81 to out on pb0 is asl ,rol a ( bit 7 in pb0)
if you want the same with pb2 it is , asl ,rol a , rol a, rol a (bit 7 in pb 2)

so sending bytes must be new caluclation :(

User avatar
hoglet
Posts: 6390
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: working on new MMC rom who has mmc card ?

Postby hoglet » Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:19 pm

I may regret asking this, but what's a pblines koppel? :lol:

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom who has mmc card ?

Postby duikkie » Sat Feb 14, 2015 8:22 am

the pblines koppel is the two lines (koppel in dutch) that the mmc card holder need to send the clock and data out from the card. the most build the mmc card holder at lines pb0,pb1, cb1,cb2. the pb0 and pb1 are very much the simple lines allso used by stl sideway (pb0,pb1,pb2) . maybe other device need allso this lines. because it is the easy way to shift data out.

pblines koppels are for mmc card holder pb0,pb1 ... pb2,pb3 ... pb4,pb5.. pb6,pb7
at the user port.

but it is not working i forgot to rol a rol a for next couple of lines :)

a few of use will use pb4,pb5 (stl sideway users)
all other will use pb0,pb1. but you never know
then soldering line pb0,pb1 will be possible :)


hoglet wrote:I may regret asking this, but what's a pblines koppel? :lol:

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom who has mmc card ?

Postby duikkie » Mon Feb 16, 2015 4:30 pm

found all the fixed pb0/pb1 routines and changed them in variable ones

the cdrv1 program , can now detect every card you put in the mmc holder
allso the right pb lines if you have problems with fixed pb0/pb1 ( stl sideway)

allso fixed the cmd 8 and cmd58 problem these commands have longer report bytes from card and if you only read result 1 , then the next cmd is wrong

so no altdrv

i have know cmd 0 , cmd 8 if iligal then cmd 1 for mmc/sd standaard ver 1
if cmd 8 then with cmd 55 and adcm41 and cmd 58 looking for ccc=0 or ccc=1
setting cardsort=2 for SD ver.2 with byte access that knows cmd 8 and not cmd1
and cardsort=1 for all SDXX= SDHC SDXC cards

the hole SUPER rom mmc is changing :)

next to do

fat16/32 access

and more
Attachments
WORKMMC16021.zip
(7.97 KiB) Downloaded 43 times

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1587
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: working on new MMC rom who has mmc card ?

Postby DutchAcorn » Mon Feb 16, 2015 4:55 pm

It looks like you are making progress Duikkie! =D>
I can't follow everything that you are posting but if I can help doing some tests, please let me know.
I have the TurboMMC as well as the SuperMMC with SD cards <4MB and >4MB (FAT16 and FAT32) and MMC (2MB).
Paul

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom who has mmc card ?

Postby duikkie » Mon Feb 16, 2015 6:54 pm

i am not at the part 4 :)

all i am working on is the 3-drv part on the SUPER rom disk
part 4 is the fat :) ,

the part 3 a lot have change. now i have to make it so that is assembles in the rom making thing :)

but first i have to understand all the vars the SUPER rom maker use, lots of reading the protocol of SPI and SD cards.

first it looks very difficult , but reading it now for the 100 times, it becomes clearer :)

the fat16/fat32 is not that difficult a few bytes in the header changed.

i need to make a hole new calculation because the superrom maker did very difficult calculation by 2 , that why my MMC/SD cardsort =2 and SDHC=1 , SDHC cards use block access, and mmc/sd use byte access.

you can test you MMC card , the CDRV1 program loads at &1100 and the result must be cardsort=2 and pbkoppel=1

if you solder your MMC cardholder PB0/PB1 to PB4/PB5 you get cardsort=2: pbkoppel=3 :)




DutchAcorn wrote:It looks like you are making progress Duikkie! =D>
I can't follow everything that you are posting but if I can help doing some tests, please let me know.
I have the TurboMMC as well as the SuperMMC with SD cards <4MB and >4MB (FAT16 and FAT32) and MMC (2MB).

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom who has mmc card ?

Postby duikkie » Tue Feb 24, 2015 9:52 am

in makenrom file there is j.3-drv that i continue change because all the calculations are byte acess mode for mmc/sd ver.1 cards.


in j.4-fat i have changed a lot because of the different card today
it can now init not only mmc/sd ver1 cards in fat16 but allso in fat32 . SDHC cards allso init but these card are block access and allso fat16 and fat 32

i have changed the fix BEEB.MMB to load in ram &D70 , so it can be changed in beebxxxx.mmb.

changed the rountine to look for beeb.mmb only 8 files in 512 files :)
i think that is more then we need beeb0001.mmb to beeb0512.mmb

512*200mb= 100 gb to store on sd card (is there 100gb of acorn stuff ???)

to do : changed j.3-drv every time the new calculation give a problem :)
( to go next din or next sector in din ??)

up too 5-file :)
Attachments
MAKENROM.zip
(19.19 KiB) Downloaded 55 times

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom who has mmc card ?

Postby duikkie » Tue Mar 03, 2015 1:57 pm

next step :)

i have changed almost every file
2-tube : changed the bug by *dmmc / *card
3-drv : changed things :) , remove the beeb mmb memory at &d70 to file 2-tube
4-fat : changed again
5-code : the byte acess calc for *din = din*800+32 in 400 +16
i don't understand the calc they use . simple div everything in 2 by
ROR sec, ROR sec+1 , ROR sec+2, ROR sec+3

there is a N.SMART this is a rom version for EEPROM users , because i don't know if it works at all . maybe lots of errors , but i can only test it in rom version now
there are still thinks to do

all so make a command *beeb xxxx
maybe a remove things like *dswitch *dmode *drom and further
Last edited by duikkie on Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom who has mmc card ?

Postby duikkie » Tue Mar 03, 2015 6:26 pm

i am the stupid one :shock:
do i make a subroutine to detect the mmc card from the port. do i forgot it in the program/rom to call the subroutine :cry:

so you get card ??

tomorrow a new version of eeprom and smart spi rom

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom who has mmc card ?

Postby duikkie » Fri Mar 06, 2015 6:14 pm

a few days later the smart spi test rom
N.smart

it can only give you the *din
*dcat 0 ... till 280 ?? next list wrong ???

can't load files from sd card yet :shock: ,

what can it do

know whiths pb port you are using
mmc/sd card ver.1
SDSH card
in fat16 and fat 32

change a lot in files

only used for EEPROM users :)
because it is not a useble rom yet

TESTING ONLY
Attachments
SMARTTESTROM.zip
(67.01 KiB) Downloaded 46 times

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom EEPROM TEST

Postby duikkie » Thu Mar 12, 2015 10:16 am

a little update and file backup here :)

i think no one here has a eeprom to test ?

but the n.smart rom CAN't load or save files yet ???

i had a lot of troubles with *dcat and *dfree
the *din worked from the beginning ??
*ddisks works i think

before i test it more first backup my beeb.mmc :)

because writing i there are still errors is very dangerious.

in the file there are all j. files

if !boot runs it make patch files
with make you combine to N.smart

i have allso change a lot in almost every file
*dabout is modified by duikkie :)
*help dutils starts with SPI 0.01 and not DFS 0.9
super rom is now called SMART SPI

not all tested yet because i have 4 options of cards
(mmc fat16//sd ver 1 fat16/fat32 /// SDHC ver 3 fat 16/fat 32)
and maybe i can't sum it up :)

to do test if all commands (writing) is working

puzzle why i can't load or save files from MMC/sd card
which subrountine blocks that ??

if every everthing is working
i will write a manual for all DUTCH programmers :) of every source file !!!
Attachments
SMARTEST1203.zip
(77.4 KiB) Downloaded 49 times

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom EEPROM TEST

Postby duikkie » Sun Mar 15, 2015 7:05 am

1 download :) , someone is looking ?
i found the eror in the save / load file
is was allso the multiple isseu
because martin is poking things to load
sectors in beeb ( he every time muliple or add +2 )
i write allmost every time a routine to /2 :)
it s not good programming
but maybe ( because i really can read the files now)
i will make version 2 of smart spi totally different
from start.

but for now changing all bytes access things to
byte and block access thing true every file

it is good to have a eeprom, i programmed it
already 100 times to see the mistakes :)

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom EEPROM TEST

Postby duikkie » Mon Mar 16, 2015 6:18 pm

update 16032015

n.smart

it can load and (save?) files

get a strange error if i use SDHC card
mmc read fault 40/120060 if *dmmc ??
but init is good
by SD/mmc cards no problem.

can't do *dump file ??
can't do *exec file ??
can't do *type file ??

all files change every time
because of the byte/block access problem

did not check if a can save save a file on a card sd or SDHC.
maybe tomorrow.

calvars in 5-code is changed first /2 :) bit skipsec% , where it was ror sec%, ror skipsec%
Attachments
SMARTEST1603.zip
(75.53 KiB) Downloaded 43 times

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom testers wanted

Postby duikkie » Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:40 pm

allmost there.

N.smart is the rom to TEST in EEPROM or sideway ram :)

the command BEEB is not there yet

but i really want people who can test this rom

and report what is going wrong :)

because BEEB is not there you can load anything else
then BEEB.MMB

but it is almost finish you can use any SD / SDHC card maybe SDHX ??
in fat 16 or fat 32

USE A BACKUP from your BEEB.MMB
because if error then i don't know what it is writing !!!!!
Attachments
SMARTEST1903.zip
(74.32 KiB) Downloaded 44 times

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom testers wanted

Postby duikkie » Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:16 pm

next update :

you can use multi beeb.mmb files on 1 sd card

the limit is 510 files of 200mb :)

*beeb is the standaard file beeb.mmb
*beebxxxx is the file of the next => xxxx is from 0 to 510
a little bug is beeb01 is not the same as beeb1 :(

you may use beeb.mmb first , because the spi is completble with mmc
after *dmmc and if there is no beeb.mmb you get no image found
*beeb1 (if thats what you have on your card ) switch it to that file

*beeb is for beeb.mmb
*beeb25 is for beeb25.mmb ( get it ?)

i think there are still errors on the new SMART rom

finding them needs help :)

i will make a routine last one that loads a pc file direct in beeb memory

*dfile will load a pcfile max &4000 (romsize) in &2000 till &6000
so no transfer with cables :)
but *dfile is not there yet !!!!
Attachments
SMARTEST2403.zip
(66.08 KiB) Downloaded 45 times

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1587
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: working on new MMC rom YOUR missing it ?

Postby DutchAcorn » Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:09 pm

Have not found any errors yet, happily using my 8GB FAT32 microSD card with two BEEB.MMC files.

This is great! =D> =D>

Will try to use it as much as I can the coming week to find errors.
Paul

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1587
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: working on new MMC rom YOUR missing it ?

Postby DutchAcorn » Tue Mar 24, 2015 9:48 pm

Found something; dcat gives the wrong titles for one of my BEEB.MMCs.

dcat1.jpg


dcat2.jpg
Paul

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom YOUR missing it ?

Postby duikkie » Tue Mar 24, 2015 9:55 pm

tell more :)

did you format your sdcard (not fast) , and put back the beeb.mmb's ?
i think it is about finding the files on other sectors of fat ??

any idea where the error is coming from ?

mailing the mmb ? 200mb to big for email :(


DutchAcorn wrote:Found something; dcat gives the wrong titles for one of my BEEB.MMCs.

dcat1.jpg


dcat2.jpg

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1587
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: working on new MMC rom YOUR missing it ?

Postby DutchAcorn » Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:20 am

The SD card was fast formatted, I'll try that first. It may have occured after I switched the names of the MMBs on the card (BEEB.MMB <> BEEB1.MMB to see what that would do.

If I can repeat the error with a properly formatted SD card I'll send you the MMB using dropbox.

Sorry about the long response times - full time job, two young children and a house renovation project currently leave little time for retro fun. :(

duikkie wrote:tell more :)

did you format your sdcard (not fast) , and put back the beeb.mmb's ?
i think it is about finding the files on other sectors of fat ??

any idea where the error is coming from ?

mailing the mmb ? 200mb to big for email
Paul

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom YOUR missing it ?

Postby duikkie » Wed Mar 25, 2015 3:52 pm

on this side it is almost spring , and then i have to jump in the green garden :)
winter time is for programming.


DutchAcorn wrote:The SD card was fast formatted, I'll try that first. It may have occured after I switched the names of the MMBs on the card (BEEB.MMB <> BEEB1.MMB to see what that would do.

If I can repeat the error with a properly formatted SD card I'll send you the MMB using dropbox.

Sorry about the long response times - full time job, two young children and a house renovation project currently leave little time for retro fun. :(

duikkie wrote:tell more :)

did you format your sdcard (not fast) , and put back the beeb.mmb's ?
i think it is about finding the files on other sectors of fat ??

any idea where the error is coming from ?

mailing the mmb ? 200mb to big for email

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom YOUR missing it ?

Postby duikkie » Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:30 am

found a hidden LFN for fat32 :(
to calculate cluster word &14
in fat12 and fat16 byte 14 and 15 is for EA-index(used by 0s/2 and nt) ??
by FAT32 HIGH 2 BYTES of first cluster number !!!!

so back to j.4-fat :( after calc to found root. not only calc custer size at &1a and &1b but also look at &14 and &15)

i hope that they are not lying about fat16 ?? some say alway 00 at &14/&15 ??




DutchAcorn wrote:Found something; dcat gives the wrong titles for one of my BEEB.MMCs.

dcat1.jpg


dcat2.jpg

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1587
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: working on new MMC rom YOUR missing it ?

Postby DutchAcorn » Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:47 pm

DutchAcorn wrote:The SD card was fast formatted, I'll try that first.

I could not reproduce this error after I properly formatted the SD card so that may have been the cause.
Paul

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1587
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: working on new MMC rom YOUR missing it ?

Postby DutchAcorn » Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:14 pm

Some more testing...

Tried copying a file from drive 0 to drive 1.
Fails with error message: Block too big.

Code: Select all

*EN.
*BACKUP 0 1

ends up with a corrupted image.

Code: Select all

*BUILD !BOOT
1 CH."Index"
2 (Esc)

Produces a corrupted !boot file

Same errors with both FAT16 and FAT32 and SD and SDHC.
Paul

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom YOUR missing it ?

Postby duikkie » Thu Mar 26, 2015 6:59 pm

your solve 1 error then there are more :(

fixed the fat error one BNE was wrong must be BEQ
allso the &14 and &15 byte in file info from fat

bug is 2503 it is today 2603 :)


maybe tommorrw i will look at the error report above

for now new smart rom
Attachments
SMARTEST2503.zip
(64.38 KiB) Downloaded 47 times

duikkie
Posts: 2660
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: working on new MMC rom YOUR missing it ?

Postby duikkie » Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:45 pm

:the error with backup i don't understand.

backup mmb file ?? from 0 to 1 ??
or is it the discdrive unit ?

the !build and other write errors fixed
there was a little problem with odd sectors from the beeb
because sd card use only even sectors
LDX seccount%:BIT skipsector:pha:jsr xxxxx : pla: bpl wr is
different from
JSR xxxxx :ldx seccount%:bit skipsector: bpl wr ???

update in smartest2703


DutchAcorn wrote:Some more testing...

Tried copying a file from drive 0 to drive 1.
Fails with error message: Block too big.

Code: Select all

*EN.
*BACKUP 0 1

ends up with a corrupted image.

Code: Select all

*BUILD !BOOT
1 CH."Index"
2 (Esc)

Produces a corrupted !boot file

Same errors with both FAT16 and FAT32 and SD and SDHC.
Attachments
SMARTEST2703.zip
(72.56 KiB) Downloaded 48 times

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1587
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: working on new MMC rom YOUR missing it ?

Postby DutchAcorn » Fri Mar 27, 2015 3:55 pm

duikkie wrote::the error with backup i don't understand.

backup mmb file ?? from 0 to 1 ??
or is it the discdrive unit ?


What I mean is:

Code: Select all

*card
*dform 450
*drive 0
*din 411
*drive 1
*din 450
*enable
*backup 0 1


I'll have another go with the latest build.
Paul


Return to “software: other”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests