Grasshopper by Newman software

discussion of beeb/electron applications, languages, utils and educational s/w
User avatar
marcusjambler
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 11:20 am
Location: Bradford
Contact:

Grasshopper by Newman software

Postby marcusjambler » Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:44 pm

Hi All

I found this spreadsheet called grasshopper.
I can't find any mention of it.
Is it of any interest?
I've imaged it using my DC so there's an SSD.

Marcus

User avatar
lurkio
Posts: 1516
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:30 pm
Location: Doomawangara
Contact:

Re: Grasshopper by Newman software

Postby lurkio » Fri Mar 09, 2018 1:50 am

marcusjambler wrote:I found this spreadsheet called grasshopper. I can't find any mention of it. Is it of any interest?

Yes! Please upload it to Archive Submissions.

Have you got the documentation too?

:?:

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3026
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Grasshopper by Newman software

Postby flaxcottage » Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:51 am

Grasshopper was also released with a simpler version called Pigeonhole. This latter was for early years students.

Unfortunately the documentation is MIA at the moment.
Attachments
Grasshopper.zip
(58.52 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
- John

Why do I keep collecting Acorn gear? I'm going to need a considerably bigger man-cave. :?

User avatar
billcarr2005
Posts: 1189
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Grasshopper by Newman software

Postby billcarr2005 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 10:14 am

I imaged this disk in July 2015, within a box of many others on loan from Arcadian... I think it would've been one that I returned.
It contains sample spreadsheets for Grasshopper (presumably!)
Attachments
USING SPREADSHEETS IN THE PRIMARY CLASSROOM - A GRASSHOPPER INSET PACK.zip
Sample spreadsheets
(8.22 KiB) Downloaded 12 times

User avatar
marcusjambler
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 11:20 am
Location: Bradford
Contact:

Re: Grasshopper by Newman software

Postby marcusjambler » Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:21 pm

Yes theres a typed up photocopy :roll:

This is the floppy image :
GHOPPER.zip
(41.74 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

User avatar
lurkio
Posts: 1516
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:30 pm
Location: Doomawangara
Contact:

Re: Grasshopper by Newman software

Postby lurkio » Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:57 pm

marcusjambler wrote:Yes theres a typed up photocopy

Any chance you could upload a scan or a photo of the photocopy?

:?:

User avatar
marcusjambler
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 11:20 am
Location: Bradford
Contact:

Re: Grasshopper by Newman software

Postby marcusjambler » Fri Mar 09, 2018 7:20 pm

I can scan them on monday at work 8)

Also there's an 'education' programs disk.
Folio wordprocessor disk with manual and Folio extra manual
Fleet Street DTP disks (3) with manual
A physics/Chemistry Disk.
And a tonne of compilation game disks.

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 3026
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire
Contact:

Re: Grasshopper by Newman software

Postby flaxcottage » Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:28 pm

Folio is already archived, thanks, but the manuals are MIA and I believe Fleet Street Editor is available on the www.

What is on the Chemistry/Physics disk? [-o<
- John

Why do I keep collecting Acorn gear? I'm going to need a considerably bigger man-cave. :?

User avatar
marcusjambler
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 11:20 am
Location: Bradford
Contact:

Re: Grasshopper by Newman software

Postby marcusjambler » Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:34 pm

Here it is
The physics app auto boots.
Chemistry is CH."START"

PHYSICS.zip
(9.64 KiB) Downloaded 13 times


I'll sort the Manuals out on monday.
Is there a preferred scan format?

User avatar
lurkio
Posts: 1516
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:30 pm
Location: Doomawangara
Contact:

Re: Grasshopper by Newman software

Postby lurkio » Fri Mar 09, 2018 10:27 pm

marcusjambler wrote:I'll sort the Manuals out on monday. Is there a preferred scan format?

If you're scanning monochrome (black and white) text, and if you DON'T want high-resolution archive-quality scans (which I don't think we do in this case), then use your scanner's "Text" setting (image bit-depth = 1). And 300 dpi. If there's too much "noise" in the scanned image, adjust the scanner's "Threshold" setting.

But if you're scanning in colour... you're on your own!

And PDF format to bundle the scanned pages together, I guess.

:idea: