Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

discussion of beeb/electron applications, languages, utils and educational s/w
rune
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:55 pm

Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby rune » Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:57 am

Hi, I have Abersoft Forth on ROM and a Turbo MMC card installed in my BBC B.

I would like to save Forth programs to the card but nothing is working. When I try to open or load a file I get an error message saying that the files cannot be created or extended. I've made sure that the drive is selected and its unlocked.

Can anyone advise if its actually possible to save to MMC using Abersoft Forth, or any of the other language ROMS (Pascal, Fortran, Multi-Forth etc)?

Also, I use a version 0f Multi-Forth on the ZX81. I'd love to try it on the Beeb, but cant load the ROM. Is there any docs available for it?

Dave

duikkie
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby duikkie » Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:36 pm

Can you use a real disc drive ?

Can be that the rom ask for a real disc drive.

rune
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby rune » Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:40 pm

I dont have a real disk drive. You are probably right about the software wanting a real one. There is a Forth word DISK which returns a OS error.

I'll keep trying, it may be possible to patch the ROM.

Thanks for replying.

duikkie
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby duikkie » Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:02 pm

Q: which roms do you use ( turbo board but which rom ?) i don't think turbo-rom is the error but it is old :)

rune
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby rune » Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:09 pm

Q: which roms do you use ( turbo board but which rom ?) i don't think turbo-rom is the error but it is old :)


The ROM says mmc and has a red dot on the label. It will be a few years old.

The Abersoft Forth was one I picked up on the web. Version 1.03.

User avatar
lurkio
Posts: 1292
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 11:30 pm
Location: Doomawangara
Contact:

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby lurkio » Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:21 pm

rune wrote:The ROM says mmc and has a red dot on the label. It will be a few years old.

Are you able to try the appropriate TurboMMC-hardware-compatible version of the MMFS ROM (instead of the TurboMMC ROM you've currently got installed)?:


No guarantees, but I've found that MMFS seems to be quite good at "intercepting" disc accesses.

:?:

duikkie
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby duikkie » Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:24 pm

do you know where abersoft forth for bbc is on the web ? link ?
and maybe SMART-SPI allso works if the MMMMMMMMMMMMMM rom works :wink:

rune wrote:
Q: which roms do you use ( turbo board but which rom ?) i don't think turbo-rom is the error but it is old :)


The ROM says mmc and has a red dot on the label. It will be a few years old.

The Abersoft Forth was one I picked up on the web. Version 1.03.

rune
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby rune » Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:41 pm

I got ROMS from a number of places,

http://mdfs.net/System/ROMs/Language/ has a lot of language ROMS

The other site was Dutch, but I dont seem to have bookmarked it. If you dont find what you need at the link above, I can Zip up what I have a send if it helps.

duikkie
Posts: 2723
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 3:28 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby duikkie » Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:49 pm

no abersoft forth there for bbc
i like dutch sites so much better then the future bexit one's :) [-X

rune wrote:I got ROMS from a number of places,

http://mdfs.net/System/ROMs/Language/ has a lot of language ROMS

The other site was Dutch, but I dont seem to have bookmarked it. If you dont find what you need at the link above, I can Zip up what I have a send if it helps.

User avatar
dv8
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:07 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby dv8 » Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:57 pm

I suspect the ROM is really Acornsoft FORTH, which is version 1.03 and has the same words and error messages you mentioned above.

If the ROM asks 'COLD or WARM start (C/W)?' when you start it and the first couple of words in VLIST are '$MSG' and 'PLOT' it's the Acornsoft ROM.

I've just tried it in BeebEm and am getting the same error message when trying to read a screen so I don't think this is anything to do with the MMC.

rune
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby rune » Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:02 pm

Yes, you are absolutely correct. Its Acornsoft Forth. So now I'm dyslexic as well :(

I guess the APASCAL will be Acornsoft too.

Thanks for pointing that out.

Dave

User avatar
dv8
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:07 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby dv8 » Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:19 pm

It turns out that FORTH is expecting files to already exist on the disc called 0SCREEN, 1SCREEN, 2SCREEN etc.

I guess there must have been a separate disc with a utility to create a FORTH work disc with these screen files on.

Here is an empty FORTH screen disc that I made, it seems to work okay.

forth_screens.zip
(497 Bytes) Downloaded 11 times

rune
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby rune » Sun Nov 19, 2017 5:29 pm

Heh, you are a genius! That works once I realised that copying the SD image to the MMC Card needs unlocked. I can save and load screens now.

The loaded screen definitely loads the word I defined as a test, just cant get the source to show so I can edit it. But I'll have a go after dinner.

Thanks for your help with this.

User avatar
dv8
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:07 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby dv8 » Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:18 pm

rune wrote:The loaded screen definitely loads the word I defined as a test, just cant get the source to show so I can edit it.

To edit screens you need to be in the EDITOR vocabulary:

EDITOR
1 LIST
... editing commands ...

rune
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: Abersoft Forth and Turbo MMC

Postby rune » Sun Nov 19, 2017 6:28 pm

Are you able to try the appropriate TurboMMC-hardware-compatible version of the MMFS ROM (instead of the TurboMMC ROM you've currently got installed)?:


Not yet, Im new to the Beeb and relying on you guys answering my dumb questions. I'll have a look thanks.

I've got the Forth loading and saving thanks to DV8. So the current crisis is over for now.

Dave


Return to “software: other”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests