A310 - late production or relabelled A4x0/1?

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
ajw99uk
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:00 pm
Location: W Yorks, UK

A310 - late production or relabelled A4x0/1?

Postby ajw99uk » Thu Nov 02, 2017 10:07 am

There's an A310 currently on ebay, which has a fascia like an A4x0/1. Were late-production A310s made with cut-out for the floppy drive? I suspect it is more likely a post-production alteration (didn't dealers get spare labels to put on machines they upgraded, eg 410/1 to 420/1 spec, so label and serial number don't match?), but I would be curious to see the motherboard and serial number.

Seem to be a lot of Arcs for auction at the moment - shame many don't have pics of the inside.
Running RISCOS: A5000, A540, R140, RiscPC, RPi B
Running *nix: SGI Fuel & Indigo2, RPi2, x86, amd64, RiscPC, A540, R140

Boydie
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:25 am
Location: Sunny Wigan

Re: A310 - late production or relabelled A4x0/1?

Postby Boydie » Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:04 am

Never heard of that before.
Suppose it could have been a no-HD 410/1 that later got upgraded and that was the only label available. Or it could be a 310 which had the front facia replaced due to floppy failure (no dust flap) or loss of the eject button (they broke a lot).
Shame there isn't a photo of the back - the socketry would confirm.

Either way, 300 quid for base unit only???

ajw99uk
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:00 pm
Location: W Yorks, UK

Re: A310 - late production or relabelled A4x0/1?

Postby ajw99uk » Thu Nov 02, 2017 11:17 am

Boydie wrote:Or it could be a 310 which had the front facia replaced due to floppy failure (no dust flap) or loss of the eject button (they broke a lot).

That strikes me as most likely.
Shame there isn't a photo of the back - the socketry would confirm.

Either way, 300 quid for base unit only???

Indeed - though what gets accepted as best offer might be considerably lower!
Last edited by ajw99uk on Sat Nov 04, 2017 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Running RISCOS: A5000, A540, R140, RiscPC, RPi B
Running *nix: SGI Fuel & Indigo2, RPi2, x86, amd64, RiscPC, A540, R140

User avatar
geraldholdsworth
Posts: 303
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Contact:

Re: A310 - late production or relabelled A4x0/1?

Postby geraldholdsworth » Fri Nov 03, 2017 10:31 am

I had a 310, which I fitted a hard drive to, and ARM3 and 4MB RAM. I then cut a hole out of the label for the hard drive light (the hole for the LED was already in the facia). I then got hold of, somewhere, a A440/1 and swapped over the labels. The 440/1, IIRC, was not as highly specced as the 310 became (but, eventually, was upgraded to ARM3, HDD and 8MB RAM). A similar sort of thing could have happened here (considering that the seller also has a 310 without a label on).

The facias are also easily interchangeable, along with the floppy drive.
Gerald Holdsworth
Repton Resource Page
www.reptonresourcepage.co.uk

steve3000
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Re: A310 - late production or relabelled A4x0/1?

Postby steve3000 » Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:52 pm

geraldholdsworth wrote:A similar sort of thing could have happened here (considering that the seller also has a 310 without a label on).

Good spot. Or maybe he just swapped the labels of a A4x0 with his A310...for fun?


Return to “hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests