10base-2 crossover?

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
Trapper
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am

Re: 10base-2 crossover?

Postby Trapper » Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:10 pm

EtherH

crj
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 4:58 pm

Re: 10base-2 crossover?

Postby crj » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:22 pm

ajw99uk wrote:So I'd expect a direct 2-to-2 connection should just workTM

This bears repeating: if you want 10BASE2 to work, you must terminate each end of the cable. Simply connecting a cable between two computers cannot work.

You should earth one of the terminators. It's not a disaster if you earth neither; you should avoid earthing both.

While not as important as getting the termination right, you should also be sure to use 50-ohm-impedance cable. Video uses 75ohm-impedance, also often on BNCs, so incorrect cables abound!

Boydie
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:25 am
Location: Sunny Wigan

Re: 10base-2 crossover?

Postby Boydie » Sat Oct 21, 2017 7:59 am

crj wrote:This bears repeating: if you want 10BASE2 to work, you must terminate each end of the cable. Simply connecting a cable between two computers cannot work.


I'm pretty sure I've used it in the past without termination if I was doing something quick and was feeling lazy/couldn't find the terminators. Either direct BNC to card or with T-piece with one limb unconnected. And it worked.

Just shows that the laws of technology/physics don't stand a chance when faced with sheer ignorance!

As for whether it's possible, my first wide area networked machine was a heavily expanded A310 with Ether2 card, via an AUI to RJ45 transceiver. It wasn't too hard to configure (even I managed it). Can't remember how I did it though - it was 1995!
I later ran it on a home 10 base2 network without much problem. The only niggle with the Acorn cards which can catch the unwary is that you need to change a set of jumpers on the card according to which connector you want to use.

ajw99uk
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:00 pm
Location: W Yorks, UK

Re: 10base-2 crossover?

Postby ajw99uk » Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:52 am

Trapper wrote:EtherH

Mine had 4.18 in ROM and universal boot has 4.33, same in ROL's !Boot for Adjust 4.39. These versions default to 10base2. DesignIT got up to 4.52 (with T/2 config). The 32bit module also has the config option, and is what now resides in the flashROM here.
Running RISCOS: A5000, A540, R140, RiscPC, RPi B
Running *nix: SGI Fuel & Indigo2, RPi2, x86, amd64, RiscPC, A540, R140

Trapper
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 11:59 am

Re: 10base-2 crossover?

Postby Trapper » Sat Oct 21, 2017 9:10 pm

Does the 32bit module/drivers from ROOL still work on 26-bit RISC OS (3.70/4.02)?

I've been softloading 5.20 over 3.70 just for the hell of it, and the NIC obviously doesn't work.

ajw99uk
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:00 pm
Location: W Yorks, UK

Re: 10base-2 crossover?

Postby ajw99uk » Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:45 pm

Trapper wrote:Does the 32bit module/drivers from ROOL still work on 26-bit RISC OS (3.70/4.02)?

I can vouch for 26bit Adjust; ROM modules in the NIC are:

MbufManager 0.17 unplugged (ROL version 0.28 active)
CallASWI 0.11
SharedCLibrary 5.59
EtherH 4.59

Trapper wrote:I've been softloading 5.20 over 3.70 just for the hell of it, and the NIC obviously doesn't work.

Have you installed the softloadable EtherH 4.59 into !Boot? The notes from ROOL state compatibility for 3.60 onwards, provided you have SharedCLib 5.34 or later and CallASWI 0.02, i.e. install https://www.riscosopen.org/zipfiles/pla ... System.zip

There are Disc_install and ROM_install folders in the same zip, https://www.riscosopen.org/zipfiles/pla ... rivers.zip
Running RISCOS: A5000, A540, R140, RiscPC, RPi B
Running *nix: SGI Fuel & Indigo2, RPi2, x86, amd64, RiscPC, A540, R140


Return to “hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests