Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 6782
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby 1024MAK » Sat Sep 23, 2017 9:09 am

Greater amounts of RAM require more address lines, or more control lines (depending on the actual configuration used).

This is also partly the reason that RAM sizes go up in steps, 1, 2, 4, 8 etc...

Mark
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...

User avatar
tnt23
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:24 am
Location: Saint Petersburg, Russia

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby tnt23 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:37 am

Hi daveejhitchins, sorry I haven't got a right to start PM conversations on this forum yet. Do you still have spare boards? I am interested in expanding my A3010 to a full 4M of RAM. Thank you :)
Regards, Tim

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5333
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby danielj » Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:29 pm

Hey there - this won't work on an A3010, just an A3000... :( You need something like this for an A3010:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/182610551428

User avatar
tnt23
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:24 am
Location: Saint Petersburg, Russia

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby tnt23 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:34 pm

Thanks danielj, my bad :)
Regards, Tim

User avatar
tnt23
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:24 am
Location: Saint Petersburg, Russia

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby tnt23 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:41 pm

...yet for 80 quid I'd better try and build it myself :)
Attachments
oakram.png
Regards, Tim

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5333
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby danielj » Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:45 pm

Good work, Sir - now.... If you can source some high speed RAM, you can crank the speed of your A3010 up to ludicrous!

Have a look in this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=16&t=11214&start=150

d.

CJE-4D
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:38 pm

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby CJE-4D » Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:50 pm

paulv wrote:ISTR there are some 4MB RAM expansions for the A3000 that require a small flying lead...

Paul


Flying leads are used by 3MB upgrades they probably have 24 chips. 4MB upgrades never had a flying lead.
No motherboard jumpers to change for any RAM expansion (1, 3 or 4MB) that I know of.

User avatar
tnt23
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 8:24 am
Location: Saint Petersburg, Russia

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby tnt23 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:53 pm

Thanks! I was reading this thread back and forth already, wishing I've got an IFEL board to begin with. Overclocking is not currently the priority, but 4M is the goal. Desperately want to run ADFFS on top of Universal Boot!
Regards, Tim

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 3688
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby daveejhitchins » Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:04 am

OK, re the problems I'm having with 4Mb Memory upgrades not working :oops: I have a solution which should solve this problem. I'm away for a week from this Friday (29-09-17), so will sort everyone out when I get back.

I 'may' also have a solution for other machines in the Archimedes range [-o<

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

pictor
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 7:43 am

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby pictor » Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:13 am

daveejhitchins wrote:OK, re the problems I'm having with 4Mb Memory upgrades not working :oops: I have a solution which should solve this problem. I'm away for a week from this Friday (29-09-17), so will sort everyone out when I get back.

I 'may' also have a solution for other machines in the Archimedes range [-o<

Dave H :D


Hi Dave,

Do you have any of the 4Mb upgrades left please?

I've just got myself an A3000 to add to the collection and would like to max out the ram.

Thanks.

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 3688
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby daveejhitchins » Fri Oct 06, 2017 8:15 pm

pictor wrote:Do you have any of the 4Mb upgrades left please?
Yes I have . . . I should have the testing problem sorted out within the fortnight - Please be patient folk . . .

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

philb
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Aug 05, 2017 6:05 pm

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby philb » Sun Oct 08, 2017 2:12 pm

I finally got my A3000 working well enough to try out the two 4MB boards that I received from Dave.

Am I safe to assume that if the machine POSTs correctly with the expansion in place and reports 4096MB then the RAM is good? I don't remember exactly how thorough a RAM test it does at POST time.

If not, is there a recommended piece of software that I should use to confirm all is well?

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 3688
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby daveejhitchins » Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:26 pm

philb wrote:Am I safe to assume that if the machine POSTs correctly with the expansion in place and reports 4096MB then the RAM is good?
Thanks for the feedback, Phil . . . That's good news.

Dave H :D
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 3688
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby daveejhitchins » Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:37 pm

A quick update . . . All ZIP DRAM has now been tested. I need to get my A3000 up and running now to ensure what I send out is good.

Bad news . . . My 93 year old Dad is a bit poorly at the moment and is going through some severe hospital treatment. So, for at least the next week I'll be in Portsmouth (Bosham, actually) in the caravan. The one week may (?) turn into two weeks, so I won't be able to continue this until I get back. Sorry guys . . .

Dave H :D

Edit: I won't be back until the 12th November . . .
Last edited by daveejhitchins on Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com

ajw99uk
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:00 pm
Location: W Yorks, UK

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby ajw99uk » Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:41 am

philb wrote:If not, is there a recommended piece of software that I should use to confirm all is well?

The Archiology site had some test routines for Arcs, from discs that Acorn provided to dealers/engineers.
https://www.4corn.co.uk/aview.php?sPath=/archiology
But AIUI POST testing does check RAM (and took noticeable longer on A3000 with 4MB/ARM2 vs 1MB/ARM2 or 4MB/ARM3, and the A540 lags on startup with 16 vs 4MB).
Running RISCOS: A5000, A540, R140, RiscPC, RPi B
Running *nix: SGI Fuel & Indigo2, RPi2, x86, amd64, RiscPC, A540, R140

User avatar
bagpuss22
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:18 pm
Location: East Sussex

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby bagpuss22 » Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:15 pm

Hi Dave,

If there are any more 4Mb A3000 expansions available then
I would be interested in one.

Many thanks

Russ

User avatar
daveejhitchins
Posts: 3688
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:23 pm
Location: Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Re: Acorn 3000 4mb Ram Expansion

Postby daveejhitchins » Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:19 pm

Yes, still lots available, I'll put you down on the list . . . So sorry everyone that the testing is taking so long.

Dave H :(
Parts: UM6502CE, GAL22V10D, GAL16V8D, AS6C62256A, TC514400AZ, WD1772, R6522, TMS27C512, AT28C256
Products: ARA II, ABR, ATI, AP6, MGC, AP5 . . .
For a price list, contact me at: Retro Hardware AT dave ej hitchins DOT plus DOT com


Return to “hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests