Another A5000

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
Sanxion
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:16 pm

Another A5000

Postby Sanxion » Wed Aug 30, 2017 6:43 pm

Hi guys

I bought an A5000 on the weekend that was advertised as working. When I arrived to collect it, the seller told me the following:

1. He has just turned it on after a long time and it booted to a command prompt with the word "supervisor".
2. In an attempt to get it to a desktop like state, he restarted the machine.

Upon restart, the monitor just displayed a thick magenta horizontal bar.

In my desire to own an A5000, I decided to take the machine as it was...

So...where do I begin with diagnosing what is wrong with it?

Any suggestions much appreciated.

I must add that the power light is on and I can hear the fan whirring. Also, there is hardly any corrosion around the battery...in fact the motherboard looks at first glance in good condition.

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5135
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Another A5000

Postby danielj » Wed Aug 30, 2017 7:10 pm

Same deal as with the RiscPC - get the battery off, buzz out the connections to the cmos IC, look for the floppy flashing anything at all...

Our very own PaulV has a good guide on his website: http://www.retro-kit.co.uk/page.cfm/con ... -an-A5000/

Also:
http://www.retro-kit.co.uk/page.cfm/con ... e-repairs/

I really really hope you didn't pay too much for it :( They can be a bugger simply as the position of the battery is such that it can take out a number of different lines :(

d.

Sanxion
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:16 pm

Re: Another A5000

Postby Sanxion » Wed Aug 30, 2017 7:20 pm

Thanks.

The floppy drive light doesn't come on at all.

I assume that is bad?

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2735
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Another A5000

Postby flaxcottage » Wed Aug 30, 2017 7:48 pm

One thing you may try as this happened to me with an old A5000.

Power on for about half an hour. Don't worry if it does not boot. Then switch off and switch on holding the delete key down for about 10 seconds. With luck it will boot. It seems that when the battery is really discharged it needs a while to re-do itself.
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer

User avatar
DutchAcorn
Posts: 1584
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 9:56 am
Location: Maarn, Netherlands

Re: Another A5000

Postby DutchAcorn » Wed Aug 30, 2017 7:54 pm

The first priority is to get the battery out and clean the pcb if it has leaked (which, regrettably, is usually the case).
Paul

Sanxion
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:16 pm

Re: Another A5000

Postby Sanxion » Thu Aug 31, 2017 4:15 pm

I left the A5000 on, returned 45 minutes later...and now I have the prompt:

Supervisor
*

:D

I then restarted holding down the delete key and...I have the desktop!

Next, I will replace the battery and clean the board.

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2735
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Another A5000

Postby flaxcottage » Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:45 pm

Great! Looks like you might have a working A5000. :D
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5135
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Another A5000

Postby danielj » Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:03 pm

=D>

Sanxion
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:16 pm

Re: Another A5000

Postby Sanxion » Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:18 pm

Thank-you all...

The motherboard is currently soaking in vinegar... 8)

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5135
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Another A5000

Postby danielj » Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:22 pm

Don't soak it! Just wash it over and agitate it with a toothbrush! Then rinse it!

d.

Sanxion
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:16 pm

Re: Another A5000

Postby Sanxion » Thu Aug 31, 2017 9:11 pm

Understood... :wink:

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5135
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Another A5000

Postby danielj » Thu Aug 31, 2017 10:02 pm

Sorry, recollection of someone who did soak it and it possibly caused more damage... :D

d.

JonC
Posts: 609
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:19 pm
Location: Wakefield

Re: Another A5000

Postby JonC » Fri Sep 01, 2017 6:42 pm

danielj wrote:Sorry, recollection of someone who did soak it and it possibly caused more damage... :D

d.


That would be me! :lol:
Jon
Image

User avatar
danielj
Posts: 5135
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Another A5000

Postby danielj » Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:18 pm

JonC wrote:That would be me! :lol:


Ah, there we go.. Remind me - did it work in the end? :D

JonC
Posts: 609
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:19 pm
Location: Wakefield

Re: Another A5000

Postby JonC » Fri Sep 01, 2017 8:15 pm

danielj wrote:
JonC wrote:That would be me! :lol:


Ah, there we go.. Remind me - did it work in the end? :D


No, still not working unfortunatly, and haven't found the time to have another look. :roll: :lol:
Jon
Image

Sanxion
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:16 pm

Re: Another A5000

Postby Sanxion » Sat Sep 02, 2017 11:44 am

Fortunately mine does "work"...I have removed the battery, cleaned the board and re-assembled the machine. I have not attached the new battery as I am waiting for the battery holder to arrive.

However, when I turned the machine on, I was greeted with the same purple horizontal bar as I had at the begining (of this thread).

I would of expected the machine to work with the delete key held down after the removal of the battery just as my RISC PC did. I was under the impression that the purpose of the battery is to retain the CMOS settings, so once removed it ahould not affect the actual wotking of the machine. Is that corrrect?

steve3000
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Re: Another A5000

Postby steve3000 » Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:10 pm

Sanxion wrote:Is that corrrect?

Yes, in theory. I ran my A5000 with no battery for several months, just holding Delete each time at switch-on. You need to reconfigure the HDD each time and set the clock, but that's it.

However others have retorted that a missing battery can cause problems, possibly explained if the track providing +5v to the cmos RAM IC has been corroded, and it was only being powered by the battery... So fails if the battery is removed.

User avatar
jgharston
Posts: 2658
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Whitby/Sheffield

Re: Another A5000

Postby jgharston » Sun Sep 03, 2017 12:28 am

steve3000 wrote:
Sanxion wrote:Is that corrrect?
Yes, in theory. I ran my A5000 with no battery for several months, just holding Delete each time at switch-on. You need to reconfigure the HDD each time and set the clock, but that's it.
A useful thing to do is, once you've got it configured the way you want, is save the configuration settings (eg *SaveCMOS adfs::4.!boot.Configure) so in future when you need to wipe the settings you just needs to *Configure IDEDrives 1 and reload the settings *LoadCMOS adfs::4.!boot.Configure. I've been doing this with my A5000 for a few months until this week when the battery et through the HDD connector.

Code: Select all

$ bbcbasic
PDP11 BBC BASIC IV Version 0.25
(C) Copyright J.G.Harston 1989,2005-2015
>_


Return to “hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: flaxcottage and 3 guests