RiscPC 600 display problem

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
Sanxion
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:16 pm

RiscPC 600 display problem

Postby Sanxion » Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:43 pm

Hi all

This is my first post in the forum and hope you can help me...I recently bought a RiscPC 600 having never owned an Archimedes before, however I desperately wanted to experience ArcElite and Zarch...after waiting almost 30 years :D

So...I acquired a Viewsonic P220f CRT monitor for that authentic experience. However, upon connection and boot, I just see a few lines of very fuzzy text and what appears to be a command prompt.

These are the specs of the monitor:

https://www.cnet.com/products/viewsonic ... ies/specs/

Therefore, my question is: will this monitor work with my RiscPC?

Do I need to alter a setting?

Thank-you in advance.

dp11
Posts: 670
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:47 pm

Re: RiscPC 600 display problem

Postby dp11 » Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:47 pm

Try turning on the computer 1 or 2 or 3 on the numeric kaypad held down.

I suspect the CMOS needs resetting. Try turning on the computer with R held down.

Sanxion
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:16 pm

Re: RiscPC 600 display problem

Postby Sanxion » Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:53 pm

Thanks, I will try that.

Does it matter that I am using a standard USB PC keyboard connected via a PS/2 adaptor?

dp11
Posts: 670
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:47 pm

Re: RiscPC 600 display problem

Postby dp11 » Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:54 pm

I don't think so.

Sanxion
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 12:16 pm

Re: RiscPC 600 display problem

Postby Sanxion » Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:38 pm

Thank-you! It worked by holding down the R key on startup!


Return to “hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests