Fitting an external keyboard to A3010/A3020

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
steve3000
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Fitting an external keyboard to A3010/A3020

Postby steve3000 » Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:59 pm

While repairing my A3010 here, I needed to connect an external keyboard since the internal keyboard circuitry was damaged.

It's quite easy to build a suitable adaptor using a PS/2 socket since Archimedes keyboards use PS/2 connectors *but note: the Archimedes keyboards are not PS/2 compatible*, so the plug wiring is different, and you can't swap for a PS/2 keyboard - you need a real Archi keyboard.

Hopefully this'll be useful to others, so here's how I did it:

1) get a PS/2 keyboard extension cable
2) cut it, leaving a reasonable length of wire to the socket (you can always use the plug end, to replace/extend the cable on an Archi keyboard)
3) next identify which wires go to each pin of the socket.
4) now you need to solder push sockets to the wires which connect to pins 1, 3, 4, 5 and 6, as shown below:

tn_kb2.png


5) I used some IDC cable which already had push sockets fitted on one end, so my finished adaptor looked like this:

DSC_3856.JPG


6) you can now connect this to the A3010/A3020 LK3. The wiring on LK3 and socket use the same numbering which makes life easy :). So LK3 pin1 goes to socket pin1, pin2 is disconnected on both and pins3-6 on LK3 connect to pins 3-6 on the socket cable. Once connected, it should look something like this:

DSC_3854.JPG


7) now you need to move the jumper on LK14 from pin1-2 to pin2-3, this disables the internal keyboard and routes keyboard I/O through LK3
8 ) finally, connect up an Archimedes keyboard to your adaptor, and give it a try:

DSC_3868.JPG


9) ...and remember to plug your mouse into the external keyboard :)

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Fitting an external keyboard to A3010/A3020

Postby Zarchos » Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:08 pm

=D>

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 6798
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: Fitting an external keyboard to A3010/A3020

Postby 1024MAK » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:10 pm

Nice 8) =D>

Mark
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...

CJE-4D
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:38 pm

Re: Fitting an external keyboard to A3010/A3020

Postby CJE-4D » Wed Jul 12, 2017 2:56 pm

Great work.

Trying to keep things all inside the box for A3010/A3020's with duff keyboard controllers. I wonder if there is a way to connect a standard A3x00 keyboard up to the Archimedes type input.

I know of an as yet unpublished laptop keyboard (FFC connection) to USB interface...

User avatar
flaxcottage
Posts: 2799
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 8:46 pm
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Fitting an external keyboard to A3010/A3020

Postby flaxcottage » Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:59 pm

Great work, Steve. :D
- John

Currently running Level 4 Econet with BBC B, BBC B+ 128K, Master 128K, 4Mb A3000, 4Mb A3020, 4Mb A4000, 4Mb A5000 dual FDD; UK101; HP41CX setup; Psion 3a, 3mx and 5mx; Z88; TI-58c, TI-59 and printer, HP-16C programmer's calculator


Return to “hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 6 guests