Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Arc/RPCs, peripherals, RISCOS operating system & ARM kit eg GP2x, BeagleBoard
Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Postby Zarchos » Sun Jun 18, 2017 12:49 pm

In my garden, with the birds singing, step one : remove the keyboard connectors (was easy : pins were very corroded and at the factory they were soldered with a gap of a few millimeters between the bottom of the plastic bit and the motherboard : franticaly moving the connectors back and forth ended up breaking them).
With flux and solder and the tool you see whose English name is unknown to me, remove what is left of the pins.
Then use a tooth pick and empty the vias :
1497789821877-816274791.jpg


Now stop everything because the board itself must be over 40 degrees and it would be a pity to create shortcircuits in this 4 layer motherboard.
Time to pick up some cherries directly from the tree and have a nap ...

1497789999644-1862401670.jpg


of course with compassion for people in big towns with radiating roads, pavements, glassy buildings . . . :twisted:
It's good to be a 'plouc' (redneck) at this time of the year.
Oohh I'm being naughty at the moment, I know, I know ... excessive sunlight and serotonin, you know ...

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 6678
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Postby 1024MAK » Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:03 pm

For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Postby Zarchos » Sun Jun 18, 2017 3:25 pm



That's it. And I knew it. I am much better at reading or listening than writing or speaking.
Thanks.

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Postby Zarchos » Sun Jun 18, 2017 7:48 pm

I failed...
I have mesured the voltages at the 5 an 12 volts and I get 5.10 and 10.85 ... any idea what could be wrong ?
And here is what I get on screen :
14978174424881574279050.jpg

steve3000
Posts: 1692
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Postby steve3000 » Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:46 pm

Zarchos wrote:I failed...
I have mesured the voltages at the 5 an 12 volts and I get 5.10 and 10.85 ... any idea what could be wrong ?
And here is what I get on screen :
14978174424881574279050.jpg

Voltages are ok, at least it should boot with those voltages. (Where are you measuring the 12v, and is that the regulated or unregulated 12v line? as these will make a big difference.)

Anyway the purple screen looks like POST failure. Any disc drive light flashes?

Try moving link lk14 from 1-2 to 2-3. This disables the internal keyboard, and it's very useful for testing if you might have keyboard problems.

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Postby Zarchos » Sun Jun 18, 2017 11:02 pm

Same result unfortunately.
No floppy drive on thiq machine.
I will install one in a few hours.

I mesure South West of the motherboard, where it is written -12VU 0V +5V +12VU

Thanks for your help.

steve3000
Posts: 1692
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:43 am

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Postby steve3000 » Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:55 am

Zarchos wrote:Same result unfortunately.
No floppy drive on thiq machine.
I will install one in a few hours.

Ok, make sure to switch lk14 back to 1-2, or that'll confuse things further if you forget.
Zarchos wrote:I mesure South West of the motherboard, where it is written -12VU 0V +5V +12VU

Ok, that's the unregulated 12v, which isn't used by standard A3010, just for expansion cards I think. It would need a load on it (eg 12v light bulb) to get a correct reading... But certainly not needed for now :)

Zarchos
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 8:19 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Replacing an A3010 set of keyboard connectors

Postby Zarchos » Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:16 am

Done.

I have now 2 A3010s with the same symptoms.
One is a normal A3010, one is equiped with an Adelaide daughterboard.
Videos of the failure uploaded on YT ...


Return to “hardware”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests