Problem with BBC Master

where both new and existing forum members can say 'hi' to each other!
User avatar
finnfoyle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 9:54 pm
Location: Derry Northern Ireland

Problem with BBC Master

Postby finnfoyle » Sun Feb 05, 2012 12:37 am

Hello all
I'm from Derry in Ireland.
I bought, on eBay, a BBC micro 128+. Delighted with it. So much so that when a BBC Master 128, in good condition and fully working, became available I bought it, at a reasonable price. One key was defective but it was easily fixed.
However, when I was getting to grips with it (playing around with it!) I attempted to set the Time on it with *TIME. I must have altered the default set up because I got error message"This is not a language" This was remedied by *CONFIGURE LANG 12"
But it is still not configured properly as it responds to commands with "NO DIRECTORY". I cannot format floppy disks on the BBC Master as I can on the 128+ Is it possible to get a backup from another Master and load it on my machine?
How can I restore the original settings? I have many books on the BBC micro but no reference to my problem.
I would be grateful for any help. I have screen pictures but not sure how to send them.

User avatar
retroclinic
Posts: 3016
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:22 pm
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby retroclinic » Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:46 am

Hi. Welcome to the forums.

Are you in DFS or ADFS? Try

*CONFIGURE FILE 9

reset, and try again.

Mark.
Image

User avatar
AndyF
Posts: 967
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:16 pm
Location: Derby
Contact:

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby AndyF » Sun Feb 05, 2012 8:56 am

Welcome :)

User avatar
finnfoyle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 9:54 pm
Location: Derry Northern Ireland

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby finnfoyle » Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:34 am

Mark
thanks for your v. prompt reply.
Opening screen shows Acorn MOS, Acorn ADFS, BASIC. Tried *CONFIGURE FILE 9 No change.
Still getting "No directory" when I enter commands such as *FORM80 or *INFO 0
My other machine (BBC micro 128+) responds correctly to the above commands.
I already had your contact details in my address book. I think that I might have been an unsucessful bidder on your site. Took your contact details, as I thought that you would be a handy person to know re BBC micros. How right I was.
This is a well maintained Master new CMOS battery installed. My fault that it is not well!
When would be a convenient time to phone you?
Thanks in anticipation of your help.
Liam

User avatar
Advance
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 5:22 pm

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby Advance » Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:17 am

Hi Liam
Welcome from an East Antrim member of the forums. Norn Iron folk are few and far between here but you will find there is an abundance of very clever, knowledgeable and helpful enthusiasts who form a very helpful community.
Hope you get your Master sorted. I've got three in various configurations so if I can help let me know - although my expertise is in the lower divisions.
Hugh

User avatar
paulv
Posts: 3597
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Leicestershire
Contact:

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby paulv » Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:30 am

Hello :D

Paul

User avatar
retroclinic
Posts: 3016
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:22 pm
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby retroclinic » Sun Feb 05, 2012 11:54 am

Hi.

Try

*DISC

then doing something, does that work? Try that configure file 9 command then do

*STATUS

See if file comes up as 9 afterwards, if not, then you've got a problem with the CMOS RAM, either the chip itself, the System VIA or one of the support ICs causing it not to store & retrieve data correctly.

Mark.
Image

User avatar
finnfoyle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 9:54 pm
Location: Derry Northern Ireland

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby finnfoyle » Sun Feb 05, 2012 1:27 pm

Mark
Thanks. When I do *DISK I get "No directory"
When *STATUS I get as follows:
Configuration status:
Baud 8
No Boot
Caps
Data 3
Delay 247
No Directory
External Tube
FDrive 3
File 9
Hard
No Ignore
Lang 12
Mode 135
No Tube
Loud
Print 5
Repeat 252
Scroll
TV 255,1

User avatar
retroclinic
Posts: 3016
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:22 pm
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby retroclinic » Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:08 pm

Could you do *ROMS see what that gives? It should be DFS in 09.

Mark.
Image

User avatar
finnfoyle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 9:54 pm
Location: Derry Northern Ireland

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby finnfoyle » Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:34 pm

Mark
*Roms gives:
ROM F TERMINAL 01 unplugged
ROM E VIEW 04
ROM D Acorn ADFS 50
ROM C BASIC 04
ROM B Edit 01
ROM A ViewSheet 02
ROM 9 DFS 79 unplugged
ROM 8 ?
ROM 7 ? unplugged
ROM 6 ?
ROM 5 ?
ROM 4 ?
ROM 3 ?
ROM 2 ?
ROM 1 ?
ROM 0 ? unplugged

User avatar
retroclinic
Posts: 3016
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:22 pm
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby retroclinic » Sun Feb 05, 2012 2:35 pm

Ahh....

*INSERT 9

You may benefit from a complete CMOS reset then reconfigure it from there, and have you changed the battery pack, or did the seller do it?

Mark.
Image

User avatar
finnfoyle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 9:54 pm
Location: Derry Northern Ireland

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby finnfoyle » Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:01 pm

Mark
* INSERT 9 no change. Still getting "No directory" with *Disk
The seller made a point of saying that the battery had been renewed.
How do I do a CMOS reset?
We/You are getting there!
Liam

User avatar
finnfoyle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 9:54 pm
Location: Derry Northern Ireland

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby finnfoyle » Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:30 pm

Mark
found the instructions re CMOS reset and replace the internal battery battery.
Will tell you how I get on.
I am going to get a former BBC micro owner to help me to do this.
However I would welcome any additional advice re CMOS reset.
Many thanks again for your help.

User avatar
retroclinic
Posts: 3016
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 1:22 pm
Location: East Riding of Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby retroclinic » Sun Feb 05, 2012 3:36 pm

finnfoyle wrote:Mark
* INSERT 9 no change. Still getting "No directory" with *Disk
The seller made a point of saying that the battery had been renewed.
How do I do a CMOS reset?
We/You are getting there!
Liam


Hold down the "R" key while turning the machine on, should say CMOS RAM reset, then do a ctrl-break to reset it.

After that reset, it should come up in mode 0, saying Acorn ADFS, and either hang, or say this is not a language. If it hangs, press "F" and break to get a * prompt, then type

CONF.FILE 9
CONF.MODE 7
CONF.LANG 12

Then do a CTRL-BREAK, should come up in mode 7, in BASIC, with Acorn 1770 DFS - if it doesn't work after that, then I would assume there is a fault on the board.

Mark.
Image

User avatar
finnfoyle
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 9:54 pm
Location: Derry Northern Ireland

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby finnfoyle » Sun Feb 05, 2012 5:44 pm

Mark
many,many thanks for your help and especially your patience.
Did as I was told and now everything now back as it should be.
All commands responded to correctly. (touch wood)
Liam

videofx
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 3:02 am
Location: Waukegan, IL USA

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby videofx » Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:59 am

Welcome to the forums!

User avatar
CMcDougall
Posts: 5608
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Shadow in a Valley of Scotland

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby CMcDougall » Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:55 pm

welcome Liam :)

ya wee fecker :wink:
ImageImageImage

User avatar
jgharston
Posts: 2753
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:22 am
Location: Whitby/Sheffield

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby jgharston » Mon Feb 27, 2012 12:01 am

http://mdfs.net/Docs/Comp/BBC/ReConfig

JGH PD Disk 18 at
http://mdfs.net/Mirror/Archive/JGH/ and
http://mdfs.net/Mirror/Image/JGH/
also have *SaveCMOS and *LoadCMOS command, giving the same functionality as the RISC OS commands.

Code: Select all

$ bbcbasic
PDP11 BBC BASIC IV Version 0.25
(C) Copyright J.G.Harston 1989,2005-2015
>_

unixbob
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:48 pm

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby unixbob » Sun Jun 25, 2017 9:55 pm

A 5 year old thread but really helped me out this afternoon.

Thanks if you guys are still around

User avatar
1024MAK
Posts: 6782
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 4:46 pm
Location: Looking forward to summer in Somerset, UK...

Re: Problem with BBC Master

Postby 1024MAK » Sun Jun 25, 2017 11:43 pm

At least three of them are still around :D

Mark
For a "Complete BBC Games Archive" visit www.bbcmicro.co.uk NOW!
BeebWiki‬ - for answers to many questions...


Return to “introduce yourself”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests